Post Reply

[Q] WTF Titanium Backup

22nd March 2011, 10:21 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Flag Boston, MA
Thanks Meter: 1
 
19 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2008
More
So I rooted my Atrix some time ago, and installed TB. Made a backup 2/23.

Motoblur ****ed up (no surprise) and I was directed by customer support to do a factory wipe yesterday. I didn't have a more recent backup than 2/23, so I reinstalled to that and then re did everything I'd done since then (dl apps, changes settings, etc).

So today I ran TB again ... I chose "Batch -> Backup all user apps + system data". I didn't think this would do anything other than create backups.

However, now my Motoblur is ****ed up again!

My home screens are all screwed up, my widgets are all mis-sized (1x4's are 1x1??), my contacts are screwed up, etc etc.

Has anyone else had this problem with TB? I'm running the free version ... I didn't think that creating (not restoring) a backup would screw up my phone ...


I know the immediate response would be to blame motorolla but I think that this is a TB issue.

Thanks.

~Viper
22nd March 2011, 10:55 PM   |  #2  
Mustang302LX's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Petaluma, CA
Thanks Meter: 162
 
1,618 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Did you do a backup of the system and user apps? If so this is probably your issue. I've read to just do user apps and not system included with that. If you had an issue in the system files and you back that up and restore that it will replace the fixed files with the older "broken" files.

I'd suggest do a batch backup of apps and reflash again and then restore the app data.
23rd March 2011, 11:46 PM   |  #3  
ndn715's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Seattle
Thanks Meter: 5
 
336 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2006
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mustang302LX

I'd suggest do a batch backup of apps and reflash again and then restore the app data.

+1, ive never had good results with restoring the system stuff... it will overwrite weird stuff in the system and you're always much better off just restoring the apps. PIA to have to reconfigure the home screen, accounts, etc... but it doesnt take too much work and things will run _much_ smoother...
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools
Display Modes