Lollipop Leak for Sprint Galaxy S5, TWRP for Micromax Canvas Magnus – XDA TV

Android 5.0 Lollipop has been leaked for the Sprint … more

Velocity is Like OpenTable on Steroids

We all enjoy a night out with friends or our significant other from time to time. However, there is … more

Android Lollipop Lands for the Sony Xperia Z Ultra

The undisputed king of the beasts–at least in Sony’s current stable,is the … more

Android 5.0 Lollipop in 3D–EVO 3D, That Is!

It is that time of the year once again. Flowers bloom (or snow falls, depending on which … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Is there a way to make the HDMI work with all videos?

OP chefdrew

25th March 2011, 03:38 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
116 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Wondering if this was possible with anything besides your videos or youtube.

I thought this feature would come in handy with the HULU app.
25th March 2011, 03:55 AM   |  #2  
dkdude36's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag los angeles
Thanks Meter: 717
 
3,901 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Donate to Me
More
YES there is. if you aren't rooted already do it (because an accelerated kernel makes it faster and root is just plane sexy) and download HDMwIn from the market.
The Following User Says Thank You to dkdude36 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
25th March 2011, 04:00 AM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
116 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
I am rooted, thanks for the info. I am downloading it now.
26th March 2011, 05:28 AM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 20
 
202 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by dkdude36

YES there is. if you aren't rooted already do it (because an accelerated kernel makes it faster and root is just plane sexy) and download HDMwIn from the market.

I really liked HDMwIn. Took some getting fiddling to figure it all out with the settings and the screen rotation and all - but once you do, it does a good job. Kick up the resolution in it - and go nuts playing Angry Birds on your big screen.
26th March 2011, 09:14 AM   |  #5  
AbsolutZeroGI's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag C-Bus
Thanks Meter: 257
 
794 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wifflepig

I really liked HDMwIn. Took some getting fiddling to figure it all out with the settings and the screen rotation and all - but once you do, it does a good job. Kick up the resolution in it - and go nuts playing Angry Birds on your big screen.

I use Sega and SNES emulators to play my old favorite games on my big screen t.v.

Never thought I'd see a Final Fantasy game on the big screen, too bad the sound still sucks (on the emulator, not the app).
26th March 2011, 11:12 AM   |  #6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
23 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
I used my iphone to play movies in my truck through the DVD aux in using a iphone to RCA cord. Any simple way to do the same thing with the EVO? I know HDMI is digital. That's about the only thing I'll miss about the stinking Iphone. Any ideas would be helpful..
26th March 2011, 03:13 PM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 20
 
202 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
You just need the HDMwIn app and a cable. The MicroHDMI port of the EVO will also push sound. You'd probably have to look around and see what kind of converters are available for taking your HDMI into something else. Something like this, I suppose?

http://www.amazon.com/HDMI-RCA-VGA-C...ef=pd_sxp_f_pt
26th March 2011, 07:02 PM   |  #8  
drmacinyasha's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Sacramento
Thanks Meter: 278
 
1,698 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wifflepig

You just need the HDMwIn app and a cable. The MicroHDMI port of the EVO will also push sound. You'd probably have to look around and see what kind of converters are available for taking your HDMI into something else. Something like this, I suppose?

http://www.amazon.com/HDMI-RCA-VGA-C...ef=pd_sxp_f_pt

Read the reviews. That will not work. Think about it. HDMI is digital, and RCA is analog. It's like trying to plug a pair of headphones into a TOSLINK fiber port.

Sadly, digital to analog converters can range in price depending on how and what's done. I know that high-end HDMI to analog converts can cost hundreds if not thousands of dollars. For example, this one here is $300. And it doesn't even have any reviews, meaning nobody's really bought it yet.

Honestly, downscaling HDMI to composite is like trying to play Crysis 2 multiplayer on an Apple II over a 19kbps dialup line.
26th March 2011, 08:55 PM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 20
 
202 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
That cable must just take the hd to the vga.

Sent from your EVO 4G. Thanks for sharing your data plan!
26th March 2011, 10:17 PM   |  #10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
23 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by drmacinyasha

Read the reviews. That will not work. Think about it. HDMI is digital, and RCA is analog. It's like trying to plug a pair of headphones into a TOSLINK fiber port.

Sadly, digital to analog converters can range in price depending on how and what's done. I know that high-end HDMI to analog converts can cost hundreds if not thousands of dollars. For example, this one here is $300. And it doesn't even have any reviews, meaning nobody's really bought it yet.

Honestly, downscaling HDMI to composite is like trying to play Crysis 2 multiplayer on an Apple II over a 19kbps dialup line.

Yea, I kind of figured so. Just hoping there was some option out there. I guess the simplest way would be get a mobile dvd player with a front hdmi in. haven't seen
one though.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes