Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Swype on MIUI roms?

OP ianian28

25th March 2011, 05:12 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
19 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Quick question for all the rooting gurus out there. I put an updated MIUI rom on my phone and went to re-load Swype from their website, completely legit.

I get an error message when I go to run it saying that my device isn't supported and will run with limited function.

Has anybody found a way around this error messages? Are people finding it with other roms?

Thanks!
The Following User Says Thank You to ianian28 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th March 2011, 02:03 PM   |  #2  
1107963's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag N/A
Thanks Meter: 87
 
584 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
More
That would be happening because you are using ur wrong version...

Sent from my Incredible using XDA Premium App
The Following User Says Thank You to 1107963 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th March 2011, 03:02 PM   |  #3  
Newt's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag New Castle
Thanks Meter: 18,787
 
5,135 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ianian28

Quick question for all the rooting gurus out there. I put an updated MIUI rom on my phone and went to re-load Swype from their website, completely legit.

I get an error message when I go to run it saying that my device isn't supported and will run with limited function.

Has anybody found a way around this error messages? Are people finding it with other roms?

Thanks!

It says that because it thanks your phone is an iPhone because of the Rom your using.... atleast that's my guess.... you might ask on the miui thread they may have a version that works


Sent from my Incredible using XDA App
Last edited by Newt; 26th March 2011 at 03:26 PM.
26th March 2011, 05:01 PM   |  #4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
It's a bit bootleg but the only way I've been able to do it so far:

1. Download and install root explorer. You'll have to pay but it's a useful app and worth it

1. Download swype installer and install swype

2. After installation, there will be a screen with 4 options:
a. watch video
b. start tutorial
c. generate license
d. finish

Click "Generate license"

3. Click "select android keyboard" and change the radio button from "swype" to "android keyboard"

4. Press the home button to exit swype installer and open root installer

5. Go to /data/app

6. Click on "com.swype.android.inputmethod-1.apk" and long hold to bring up the options menu

7. Click move, scroll to /sdcard/download and click "paste"

8. Press the home button to exit root explorer

9. Open swype installer. You should get a force close error. If you do not and instead see the screen with "disable swype", click the back button which will bring you back to the home screen then click swype installer again. Do not continue until swype installer force closes.

10. Go back to root explorer and move "com.swype.android.inputmethod-1.apk" back to /data/app

11. Go back to the home screen and open swype installer

12. Click "select swype" and then select swype

13. Click "finish"

14. Enjoy

Hope that helps. If you have any questions, let me know.
The Following 12 Users Say Thank You to dan0100 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
22nd May 2011, 07:44 PM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by dan0100

It's a bit bootleg but the only way I've been able to do it so far:

1. Download and install root explorer. You'll have to pay but it's a useful app and worth it

1. Download swype installer and install swype

2. After installation, there will be a screen with 4 options:
a. watch video
b. start tutorial
c. generate license
d. finish

Click "Generate license"

3. Click "select android keyboard" and change the radio button from "swype" to "android keyboard"

4. Press the home button to exit swype installer and open root installer

5. Go to /data/app

6. Click on "com.swype.android.inputmethod-1.apk" and long hold to bring up the options menu

7. Click move, scroll to /sdcard/download and click "paste"

8. Press the home button to exit root explorer

9. Open swype installer. You should get a force close error. If you do not and instead see the screen with "disable swype", click the back button which will bring you back to the home screen then click swype installer again. Do not continue until swype installer force closes.

10. Go back to root explorer and move "com.swype.android.inputmethod-1.apk" back to /data/app

11. Go back to the home screen and open swype installer

12. Click "select swype" and then select swype

13. Click "finish"

14. Enjoy

Hope that helps. If you have any questions, let me know.

You sir, are a gentleman and a scholar... I tried so many different things and wasted hours until I found this post. Follow his instructions step by step and you'll be up on swype in no time
The Following User Says Thank You to mobileuser123 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th June 2011, 06:37 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 20
 
194 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
This worked for me too. Just to add on, the root permissions for the com.swype.android.inputmethod-1.apk should be rw-r--r--. Set this permission in root explorer after long pressing it from data/app after you have completed everything. This is for people who are not able to see swype after rebooting their phone
15th June 2011, 04:07 AM   |  #7  
Caligirl2828's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
76 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2009
More
I usually use TB to backup my swype from a sense rom (or any other rom where swype works correctly) then when I use MIUI i go to Tb and restore. Always worked for me!
15th June 2011, 05:01 AM   |  #8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Has anybody got this to work with the new Swype 3 beta? I have tried this twice to no avail.
15th June 2011, 05:04 AM   |  #9  
Ƒłƴнαł205's Avatar
Recognized Contributor / Recognized Developer
Flag Birmingham, AL
Thanks Meter: 6,323
 
4,231 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by JLO73

Has anybody got this to work with the new Swype 3 beta? I have tried this twice to no avail.

I got swype 3 and it is working perfectly on my MIUI
15th June 2011, 05:29 AM   |  #10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
I've got it downloaded and installed but it will not let me license it. Tried the above trick twice and cannot get it to work.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes