Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,739,856 Members 45,463 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Droid 2 Global unlock code

Tip us?
 
wondereye
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 7
Join Date: Feb 2011
Default Droid 2 Global unlock code

I know a lot of people are talking about the turbo sim, but I am really not into the sim patch. I really like this phone, but also need it SIM unlocked.

Since I am on Page Plus, there's no way for me to get an unlock code from Verizon.
I question is, is there anyone ever unlocked Droid 2 Global by 3rd party vendor's unlock code? I was searching web and ebay, and did found some people.
Do all 3rd party vendor's unlock codes fail, or some of them work and some don't?

Please let me know your experiences. Thank you!
 
War-Rasta
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 103
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Santo Domingo
I actually got in touch with 2 different 3rd party code vendors and they both gave me the same 2 codes. I had also managed to get Verizon to give me the codes themselves without having the phone activated with them (it involves a little social hacking and a lot of luck). The thing is that Verizon gave me 3 unlock codes, 2 of which were the same that the vendors had given me.

Long story short, I couldn't unlock the phone even with the codes I got from Verizon (one of them was different from what the vendors had given me). I am not currently in the USA and apparently the phone needs to connect with the Verizon network to complete the unlock. I don't know if you really need to have the phone activated with Verizon at the time that you enter the unlock code or if you just need the phone to be able to reach the Verizon network.

I will be going to the USA next month and will be trying this out but it'll be around mid April before I'm able to post my results.
The Following User Says Thank You to War-Rasta For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
XtriFe
Old
#3  
XtriFe's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 17
Posts: 227
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Santo Domingo

 
DONATE TO ME
Yeah, im guessing the code MAY or may NOT work IF you're in the US ( as it can reach verizons network). Otherwise it just seems like theres no way it would work. Mine would come up with a "network unlock unsuccessful" as soon as i entered the code, like seriously, right away.

Also, lol @ "social hacking"
xD
Phone History:

Sony Ericsson T290, W200, C510, P1i, C902, X1, X2, X10, X12, R800, MK16
Motorola Milestone, Droid 2 Global, Droid 3
HTC Touch Pro, Aria, Merge
LG eXpo GW280
The Following User Says Thank You to XtriFe For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
leobg
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 129
Posts: 1,296
Join Date: Mar 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by War-Rasta View Post
I actually got in touch with 2 different 3rd party code vendors and they both gave me the same 2 codes. I had also managed to get Verizon to give me the codes themselves without having the phone activated with them (it involves a little social hacking and a lot of luck). The thing is that Verizon gave me 3 unlock codes, 2 of which were the same that the vendors had given me.

Long story short, I couldn't unlock the phone even with the codes I got from Verizon (one of them was different from what the vendors had given me). I am not currently in the USA and apparently the phone needs to connect with the Verizon network to complete the unlock. I don't know if you really need to have the phone activated with Verizon at the time that you enter the unlock code or if you just need the phone to be able to reach the Verizon network.

I will be going to the USA next month and will be trying this out but it'll be around mid April before I'm able to post my results.
When I unlock mine, I was outside US, outside of VZW network reach. But I guess mine was one of the not specially locked ones. They say the first batch wasn't tampered with (I got mine in the week of release, as soon as it was available at retail VZW stores)
leobg
The Following User Says Thank You to leobg For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
War-Rasta
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 103
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Santo Domingo
Quote:
Originally Posted by leobg View Post
I guess mine was one of the not specially locked ones...
Don't make me hate you! lol
 
leobg
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 129
Posts: 1,296
Join Date: Mar 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by War-Rasta View Post
Don't make me hate you! lol
I'm sorry if you get it this way. No, absolutely not, I am not teasing anyone, believe me, despite mine being unlocked already, I am still researching a solution of this problem. The turbosim idea was actually mine if you guys have been following it since the unlocking troubles started. The turbosim is the noob-style solution. I am pretty sure we can address the "locks" with some gsm shop equipment, just as for many other phones, motorola and other brands. The problem comes this is US only phone available in US only. Only if it was made available to "the old continent" for example, it would have been torn apart million times by now, every bit of it exposed, figuratively speaking.
Too bad time flies, soon D2g will be forgotten. I can tell you I am ditching mine as soon as Droid 3 with appropriate for my carrier GSM/UMTS/LTE bands is released. I can't pass by 4 inch screen and 5 row qwerty portrait slideout kb, as well as, I guess, some dual core madness with lots of ram under the hood too. Sorry I went way too off topic....

Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL
leobg
 
XtriFe
Old
#7  
XtriFe's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 17
Posts: 227
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Santo Domingo

 
DONATE TO ME
Yeah, as much as i hate Motorola's decision favouring a locked bootloader, I think im gonna go with the Droid 3 after this one. In my opinion, theres no other phone model/series that

1. Has a qwerty keyborad
2. Looks good
3. Has good build quality
4. Doesnt have a Win7phone-like price tag :P

Seriously, i wish the Xperia Pro looked DECENT at least.
Phone History:

Sony Ericsson T290, W200, C510, P1i, C902, X1, X2, X10, X12, R800, MK16
Motorola Milestone, Droid 2 Global, Droid 3
HTC Touch Pro, Aria, Merge
LG eXpo GW280
 
the-light
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 126
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by leobg View Post
I'm sorry if you get it this way. No, absolutely not, I am not teasing anyone, believe me, despite mine being unlocked already, I am still researching a solution of this problem. The turbosim idea was actually mine if you guys have been following it since the unlocking troubles started. The turbosim is the noob-style solution. I am pretty sure we can address the "locks" with some gsm shop equipment, just as for many other phones, motorola and other brands. The problem comes this is US only phone available in US only. Only if it was made available to "the old continent" for example, it would have been torn apart million times by now, every bit of it exposed, figuratively speaking.
Too bad time flies, soon D2g will be forgotten. I can tell you I am ditching mine as soon as Droid 3 with appropriate for my carrier GSM/UMTS/LTE bands is released. I can't pass by 4 inch screen and 5 row qwerty portrait slideout kb, as well as, I guess, some dual core madness with lots of ram under the hood too. Sorry I went way too off topic....

Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL
it feels to me after reading this discussion , buying the d2g was somewhat of a mistake...?
btw' as far as i know the bootloader codes has been leaked , and some groups started stripping it.
 
War-Rasta
Old
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 103
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Santo Domingo
@leobg: I was only joking with my comment, I didn't mean for you to take it seriously. I've seen your posts around here and you know you're all about helping so props to you!

@the-light: I believe the codes turned out to be fake.
The Following User Says Thank You to War-Rasta For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
XtriFe
Old
#10  
XtriFe's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 17
Posts: 227
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Santo Domingo

 
DONATE TO ME
Yeah the codes were fake

Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL
Phone History:

Sony Ericsson T290, W200, C510, P1i, C902, X1, X2, X10, X12, R800, MK16
Motorola Milestone, Droid 2 Global, Droid 3
HTC Touch Pro, Aria, Merge
LG eXpo GW280

The Following User Says Thank You to XtriFe For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Tags
d2g, locked
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes