Post Reply

[Q] Unable to ADB Remount XOOM...!!

26th March 2011, 05:27 AM   |  #1  
lokko21's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Chihuahua
Thanks Meter: 80
 
745 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
Hi..!! Everyone I tried everything, I was going to unlock and root my xoom but I got stuck at this step:

7. fastboot flash boot rootboot.img

I get this error: "can't load rootboot.img"

I run fastboot reboot command and works, after reboots I try adb devices and my xoom shows but if I run adb remount I get this error:

"remount failed: Operation no permitted"

I tried everything search everywhere, update everything and NADA, I'm on a Windows 7 64bit.

Thanks and I hope somebody can direct me to the right path..
26th March 2011, 07:46 AM   |  #2  
StrifeSoldierVII's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Orlando, FL
Thanks Meter: 325
 
456 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Donate to Me
More
You will want to grant root access again using the adb commands. This happened to me once. You don't have permission to do this because it needs to have root access to carry on this operation. Try the root commands again to grant root access and then see what it does when trying to flash the rootboot files.

If that's not it come let us know. XDA will have your answer for sure.

Sent from my Droid using XDA Premium App
Last edited by StrifeSoldierVII; 26th March 2011 at 07:51 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to StrifeSoldierVII For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th March 2011, 10:05 AM   |  #3  
lokko21's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Chihuahua
Thanks Meter: 80
 
745 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by diablo2224

You will want to grant root access again using the adb commands. This happened to me once. You don't have permission to do this because it needs to have root access to carry on this operation. Try the root commands again to grant root access and then see what it does when trying to flash the rootboot files.

If that's not it come let us know. XDA will have your answer for sure.

Sent from my Droid using XDA Premium App

I get stuck on step 7 of this guide below, so I think I never get to the point of getting root, but if I'm doing something wrong and I have to run some other commands please let me know.

1. Download the Motorola Xoom Root Zip file and unzip it. Download
2. Place the files in the SDK Tools folder.
3. adb reboot bootloader (You can skip the next 3 steps if you’ve unlocked with fastboot previously)
5. fastboot oem unlock (wait for reboot)
6. adb reboot bootloader
7. fastboot flash boot rootboot.img
7. fastboot reboot (wait for reboot)
8. adb remount
9. adb shell push su /system/bin
10. adb shell ln –s /system/bin/su /system/xbin/su
11. adb shell chmod 4755 /system/bin/su
12. adb push Superuser.apk /system/app

And thanks for making some time to reply, I try to get some help on other threads with no response.
Last edited by lokko21; 26th March 2011 at 10:07 AM.
26th March 2011, 10:56 AM   |  #4  
c0t0d0s2's Avatar
Member
Flag DFW
Thanks Meter: 3
 
73 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2009
More
dumb question: is rootboot.img in the same directory as everything else?

It sounds to me like your flashboot can't find it.
The Following User Says Thank You to c0t0d0s2 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th March 2011, 04:13 PM   |  #5  
StrifeSoldierVII's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Orlando, FL
Thanks Meter: 325
 
456 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Donate to Me
More
That's a good point from the poster above. I had trouble at the start with this and the SDK tools folder because I never messed with the adb shell too often because there never really has been a need for me to do so up until I got the Xoom.

OP... like this reply says above me, I am agreeing to as well. It looks like it might not be finding your rootboot. Make sure all root files are located in the very root of the SDK tools folder, and make sure all root files are not inside a folder. If they are please drag them into the tools folder and slap them all in there. It looks like a mess but it works. Do the same type of thing if you plan on flashing an overclock kernel. Always make sure that all files are NOT in folders when flashing something like this, and that they are always placed in the very root of the tools folder located within the SDK folder. Hope this helps.

About my above post... woops. I wasn't paying attention totally. It was late. I was thinking about when you are trying to install an overclock kernel and run into this problem that says that you cannot remount in adb. It does have to do with root access though.
Last edited by StrifeSoldierVII; 26th March 2011 at 04:31 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to StrifeSoldierVII For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th March 2011, 06:12 PM   |  #6  
lokko21's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Chihuahua
Thanks Meter: 80
 
745 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
Thank you very much guys I found what was my problem, I was running ADB straight from CMD window without navigating to my tool folder and always worked so I thought running step 7 will work, but NO I had to cd c:.....bla bla navigate to tool folder and do step 7.

Now I'm happily Rooted thanks again for your time guys, now to set up again my beautiful screens.
18th April 2011, 02:16 AM   |  #7  
jawonder's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Boynton, FL
Thanks Meter: 163
 
1,540 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
I'm having that problem where i'm trying to flash Tiamat Kernel on my Xoom and when i get to the remount i'm getting - remount failed: Operation not permitted . When you say grant root access again you talking about pointing it to the platform folder ?.
18th April 2011, 02:40 AM   |  #8  
jase33's Avatar
Recognized Themer
- /
Thanks Meter: 1,739
 
1,599 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
It sounds like those having problems are not very familiar with adb. Don't worry, we have all been there at one point. I would suggest that you use the one click method. No its not really a one click, more like a one click at a time method. But, it goes slow and you can see what it is doing as it goes along and has a nice tutorial from the op.

Sent from my HTC HD2 using XDA Premium App
18th April 2011, 02:52 AM   |  #9  
jawonder's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Boynton, FL
Thanks Meter: 163
 
1,540 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jase33

It sounds like those having problems are not very familiar with adb. Don't worry, we have all been there at one point. I would suggest that you use the one click method. No its not really a one click, more like a one click at a time method. But, it goes slow and you can see what it is doing as it goes along and has a nice tutorial from the op.

Sent from my HTC HD2 using XDA Premium App

No i'm not so good at it but i'm willing to or i want to learn . I used it for the first time when my Xoom was soft brick from installing a theme , i restored it with ADB and then use ADB to root ,so that's twice , the first time i rooted my Xoom i used the one click method because i was so afraid of ADB . Today the third time i was using it to flash a Kernel and at the remount i got into the problem above .
18th April 2011, 03:29 AM   |  #10  
lokko21's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Chihuahua
Thanks Meter: 80
 
745 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jawonder

No i'm not so good at it but i'm willing to or i want to learn . I used it for the first time when my Xoom was soft brick from installing a theme , i restored it with ADB and then use ADB to root ,so that's twice , the first time i rooted my Xoom i used the one click method because i was so afraid of ADB . Today the third time i was using it to flash a Kernel and at the remount i got into the problem above .

Are you trying to push something thru a ADB...???

Sent from my Xoom using XDA Premium App

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools
Display Modes