Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,779,159 Members 46,659 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[HOWTO] Restore to stock for root users and non-root users UPDATED 5/17/2011

Tip us?
 
jcase
Old
(Last edited by jcase; 26th May 2011 at 11:01 PM.)
#1  
jcase's Avatar
Forum Moderator / Senior Recognized Developer - Taco Vendor - OP
Thanks Meter 7193
Posts: 3,625
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Sequim WA

 
DONATE TO ME
Default [HOWTO] Restore to stock for root users and non-root users UPDATED 5/17/2011

Stop, listen. Follow my directions, if you fail to follow directions I will no longer help you. Don't PM me and ask. If you screw up ask in the thread.

Rooted Users (Non - Root Users scroll down below):

MR1 RUU
http://www.multiupload.com/KU7GSF2EY0
PG05IMG_MR1_no_hboot.zip - c64b4367086fff4f51ec3d5d766a0456

Bootloader (FLASH THIS LAST) FLASHING THIS WITHOUT SUCESSFULLY FLASHING THE ABOVE FILE WILL CAUSE A SECURITY WARNING
http://www.multiupload.com/26WG1UZCXR
abda920f3e159fb05c00d8c54a5b8768 - PG05IMG_hboot_1.4.0000.zip

Flash the above PG05IMG_MR1_no_hboot.zip to restore everything to stock + OTA BUT still will have the s-off bootloader.
Rename PG05IMG_MR1_no_hboot.zip as PG05IMG.zip, and flash through hboot (like in the root guide).

To restore the bootloader, rename PG05IMG_hboot_1.4.0000.zip as PG05IMG.zip and flash through the bootloader. DO NOT FLASH THIS unless you are absolutely sure PG05IMG_MR1_no_hboot.zip flashed to your device, without issue.

Now you are done, enjoy. If you screwed up, and got a security warning contact me, don't stress. Then again, don't screw up.




Non root users wanting to return to 1.12.605.6 (Stock, pre OTA) can continue below:

NOT FOR ROOT USERS

Taken from AndroidPolice: [Tutorial] How To "Un-Root" The HTC ThunderBolt And Return It To Stock. Please check the site out.

One of the most popular questions about rooting the ThunderBolt is how to undo the process and return to stock, which renews your eligibility for customer support. Well, here you go:

Instructions:
Please read the whole tutorial first, and pay attention to every detail. Note that your battery needs to be charged to at least 40% at the beginning of the process, and remember to check the MD5 sums of all downloaded files before diving in. As always, neither Android Police nor Team AndIRC are responsible for any damage this may cause to your phone, and, needless to say, returning to stock means you will no longer be able to use root apps like ShootMe and Titanium Backup.

First, download the following files:

Stock firmware (MD5 sum: 7141f5620f6128af77d50587e341f4b0)
exploits.zip (MD5 sum: 3b359efd76aac456ba7fb0d6972de3af)

Next, push exploits.zip and misc.img.

Code:
    adb push misc.img /data/local/
    adb push busybox /data/local/
    adb shell chmod 777 /data/local/busybox
To gain root and flash misc.img:

Code:
    adb shell
    su
    /data/local/busybox md5sum /data/local/misc.img
If the output is anything other than "c88dd947eb3b36eec90503a3525ae0de," stop and start over again.

Now let’s write misc.img:

Code:
dd if=/data/local/misc.img of=/dev/block/mmcblk0p17
Rename "PG05IMG_Mecha_VERIZON_WWE_1.12.605.6_Radio_1.16.0 0.0223r_NV_8k_1.41_9k_1.64_
release_174685_signed.zip" to "PG05IMG.zip" before placing it on your SD card.
Finally, reboot into bootloader mode by entering the following command. Allow the stock firmware to flash.

Code:
adb reboot bootloader
You’re done – your phone should now be stock, S-ON.
I'm taking a break of an undetermined length. Please don't contact me about exploits

Something important? jcase@cunninglogic.com
Like Android security topics? Join our G+ community -> https://plus.google.com/communities/...07618051049043
My Bitcoin address : 1Newifz6yETTmbziCsZZstmHHPH6ejNr75
The Following 55 Users Say Thank You to jcase For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
pinhead875
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 43
Posts: 364
Join Date: Aug 2010
Bookmarking this, just in case. Thanks, Jcase!
 
kriskmk
Old
#3  
kriskmk's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 37
Posts: 813
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Utopia
Looks like I'll be going back to Froyo for now. I believe the Sense in GB leak is older than the stock on the device.. plus.. camera doesn't work, weather in clock widget doesn't work.. quadrant score is pretty low.. As for now.. I don't see any solid reason to upgrade to GB.. (though I wish I did).. sigh!
 
jcase
Old
#4  
jcase's Avatar
Forum Moderator / Senior Recognized Developer - Taco Vendor - OP
Thanks Meter 7193
Posts: 3,625
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Sequim WA

 
DONATE TO ME
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1082114

Follow that to return to stock from gingerbread
I'm taking a break of an undetermined length. Please don't contact me about exploits

Something important? jcase@cunninglogic.com
Like Android security topics? Join our G+ community -> https://plus.google.com/communities/...07618051049043
My Bitcoin address : 1Newifz6yETTmbziCsZZstmHHPH6ejNr75
The Following User Says Thank You to jcase For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
aspipatel
Old
#5  
aspipatel's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 80
Posts: 73
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: New York
I am getting No Image or Wrong Image Error In Final Step. I downloaded Stock Firmware Twice but same issue!
 
aspipatel
Old
#6  
aspipatel's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 80
Posts: 73
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: New York
Can anyone help me out? I am not able to return to stock. I have BAMF remix 1.6.3 installed and trying to get back to stock as i have to send this device back to Verizon for replacement. I tried everything..file name is correct....md5 sum is correct however in final step when i tried to load the stock FW the boot-loader says wrong image!!

i downloaded stock FW from every possible source but no different!

Please Help!
 
spjoneser
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 267
Join Date: Jun 2010
If I wanted to unroot and use pre ota software? Would I have to perform both procedures or is there a way to go straight to the pre ota with s-on?
 
jcase
Old
#8  
jcase's Avatar
Forum Moderator / Senior Recognized Developer - Taco Vendor - OP
Thanks Meter 7193
Posts: 3,625
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Sequim WA

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by spjoneser View Post
If I wanted to unroot and use pre ota software? Would I have to perform both procedures or is there a way to go straight to the pre ota with s-on?
Take the pre ota RUU, and make a custom ruu out of it without the hboot, and then proceed with the instructions in the first half.
I'm taking a break of an undetermined length. Please don't contact me about exploits

Something important? jcase@cunninglogic.com
Like Android security topics? Join our G+ community -> https://plus.google.com/communities/...07618051049043
My Bitcoin address : 1Newifz6yETTmbziCsZZstmHHPH6ejNr75
 
spjoneser
Old
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 267
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcase View Post
Take the pre ota RUU, and make a custom ruu out of it without the hboot, and then proceed with the instructions in the first half.
First of all Jcase, thanks for the time, I know it's valuable to the community.

So just so I'm clear.... All I need to do is remove "hboot_7630_1.04.0000_110223.nb0" from the pre ota ruu or is there more to be altered than just that?
And if that's all I have to do is flash those seperate, could you tell me briefly why you could not just flash all at once? Would it not flash the rest of it if the stock hboot was installed first?
 
jcase
Old
#10  
jcase's Avatar
Forum Moderator / Senior Recognized Developer - Taco Vendor - OP
Thanks Meter 7193
Posts: 3,625
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Sequim WA

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by spjoneser View Post
First of all Jcase, thanks for the time, I know it's valuable to the community.

So just so I'm clear.... All I need to do is remove "hboot_7630_1.04.0000_110223.nb0" from the pre ota ruu or is there more to be altered than just that?
And if that's all I have to do is flash those seperate, could you tell me briefly why you could not just flash all at once? Would it not flash the rest of it if the stock hboot was installed first?
Yes, because some radios seem to cause the files to flash in different orders, doing it like this keeps me from having to make multiple versions.

Sent from my LG Revolution
I'm taking a break of an undetermined length. Please don't contact me about exploits

Something important? jcase@cunninglogic.com
Like Android security topics? Join our G+ community -> https://plus.google.com/communities/...07618051049043
My Bitcoin address : 1Newifz6yETTmbziCsZZstmHHPH6ejNr75

The Following User Says Thank You to jcase For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes