Prepare Your Nokia X2 for Battle with Nokia X2 Tools

Unveiled in June this year, the Nokia X2 is the Finnish companys second crack at an … more

Increase the Speaker Volume of Your Samsung Gear 2 with Tool and Tutorial

I think its pretty safe to say that any sound coming out of a … more

Unlock Hidden Camera Settings on Your Moto G

At one point in time or another, weve all gotten very fiddly with the camera settings on our … more

XDA Partners with LG for Developer Challenge

Many Android enthusiasts know the name LG. LG is the maker of some Google Nexus devices and some … more
Post Reply

[Heads Up] ADB from the Xoom

27th March 2011, 02:18 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 61
 
233 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2007
More
Hey guys.

Just a heads up, the Xoom can run ADB natively. Full ADB. Haven't tested it over USB Host, but it works with ADBwireless.

Doesn't seem to be documented anywhere, but it does work. Try ADB devices from a terminal on your xoom.

Meaning that the Xoom can run ADB, just like your computer. Pull APKs, ringtones, media, whatever over wifi.

EDIT: These commands should make it work without the apk.

To trigger adb wifi on your phone/non-Xoom:
Code:
setprop service.adb.tcp.port 5555
stop adbd
start adbd
To stop adb wifi and return to USB listening:
Code:
setprop service.adb.tcp.port -1
stop adbd
start adbd
To connect:
Code:
adb connect [IPAddress]:[port]
For example, adb connect 192.168.1.4:5555

Or from USB on your comp:
Code:
adb tcpip 5555
adb connect 192.168.0.101:5555
To get back to USB mode:
Code:
adb usb
Last edited by Jewremy; 27th March 2011 at 02:44 AM.
The Following 11 Users Say Thank You to Jewremy For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th March 2011, 05:09 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 47
 
242 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
thats awesome thanks!
30th March 2011, 06:04 AM   |  #3  
PaulG1488's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 294
 
1,005 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
good to know thanks
30th March 2011, 07:59 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Flag San Francisco
Thanks Meter: 45
 
463 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
More
you could also use adbwireless from the market to do the same thing
it's a lot easier, I think.
3rd April 2011, 04:28 PM   |  #5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 61
 
233 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2007
More
Yes, but some of us don't feel like paying...or just prefer command line. :]

Quote:
Originally Posted by smaskell

you could also use adbwireless from the market to do the same thing
it's a lot easier, I think.

The Following User Says Thank You to Jewremy For This Useful Post: [ View ]
3rd April 2011, 04:58 PM   |  #6  
Asadullah's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag casselberry
Thanks Meter: 288
 
893 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
What is included in the sdk on the xoom? I know that you can build apps from the command line on windows and linux. I think that this function would really be what I need to buy a tablet (again). Or you might be able to borrow things from the linux sdk.
3rd April 2011, 06:24 PM   |  #7  
StrifeSoldierVII's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Orlando, FL
Thanks Meter: 325
 
456 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Donate to Me
More
Someone should take these commands and put them together into one easy to use app and launch it on the market. Many would benefit from one click type methods to natively run adb commands from the Xoom. If someone would be willing to do that of course. I'm just sayin'.
4th April 2011, 10:02 AM   |  #8  
Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter: 2,046
 
1010
7,047 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
yep, weve been using the functionality for a while now!

you should also look into moto utils, which come preinstalled on the xoom and can do all sorts of funky stuff!
4th April 2011, 03:21 PM   |  #9  
Member
Thanks Meter: 18
 
59 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by diablo2224

Someone should take these commands and put them together into one easy to use app and launch it on the market. Many would benefit from one click type methods to natively run adb commands from the Xoom. If someone would be willing to do that of course. I'm just sayin'.

search "adb wireless",you can get this awesome free app, it has a widget built-in.
and born at a bit long ago.
6th April 2011, 06:59 AM   |  #10  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 61
 
233 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ftgg99

yep, weve been using the functionality for a while now!

you should also look into moto utils, which come preinstalled on the xoom and can do all sorts of funky stuff!

So I checked out the field utils...

Apparently the Xoom has a WCDMA component? That's HSPA+ if I'm right...further supported in the iFixIt teardown.

Turned off the GSM functionality (on by default), hoping it'll save battery...not that I can complain. Battery life on this thing kicks ass.

Here's my question: Does it have an IMEI? As in can I put an AT&T SIM in there and it'll work? I'll try testing it out later. Might be time to pull out the ole' faraday cage...

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes