5,593,293 Members 33,110 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Heads Up] ADB from the Xoom

Tip us?
 
Jewremy
Old
(Last edited by Jewremy; 27th March 2011 at 02:44 AM.)
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 59
Posts: 232
Join Date: Jul 2007
Exclamation [Heads Up] ADB from the Xoom

Hey guys.

Just a heads up, the Xoom can run ADB natively. Full ADB. Haven't tested it over USB Host, but it works with ADBwireless.

Doesn't seem to be documented anywhere, but it does work. Try ADB devices from a terminal on your xoom.

Meaning that the Xoom can run ADB, just like your computer. Pull APKs, ringtones, media, whatever over wifi.

EDIT: These commands should make it work without the apk.

To trigger adb wifi on your phone/non-Xoom:
Code:
setprop service.adb.tcp.port 5555
stop adbd
start adbd
To stop adb wifi and return to USB listening:
Code:
setprop service.adb.tcp.port -1
stop adbd
start adbd
To connect:
Code:
adb connect [IPAddress]:[port]
For example, adb connect 192.168.1.4:5555

Or from USB on your comp:
Code:
adb tcpip 5555
adb connect 192.168.0.101:5555
To get back to USB mode:
Code:
adb usb
Current: GalaxyNexus/Toro
Current: Nexus 7 / Grouper (C80)
Current: Nexus S (Wife's)
Current: Xoom/Stingray (Wife's)


Retired: Droid2
Retired: OG Droid/Sholes
Retired: HTC Eris
Sole: Droid3/CDMA_Solana
Stepdad's: Thunderbolt
--
Hardstyler, Mobile IT Support and VZW Indirect in Boston.

Twitter
G+
The Following 11 Users Say Thank You to Jewremy For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
onicrom
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 47
Posts: 242
Join Date: Aug 2010
thats awesome thanks!
 
PaulG1488
Old
#3  
PaulG1488's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 283
Posts: 971
Join Date: Jun 2009
good to know thanks
 
smaskell
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 45
Posts: 459
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Victoria, BC, Canada
you could also use adbwireless from the market to do the same thing
it's a lot easier, I think.
 
Jewremy
Old
#5  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 59
Posts: 232
Join Date: Jul 2007
Yes, but some of us don't feel like paying...or just prefer command line. :]

Quote:
Originally Posted by smaskell View Post
you could also use adbwireless from the market to do the same thing
it's a lot easier, I think.
Current: GalaxyNexus/Toro
Current: Nexus 7 / Grouper (C80)
Current: Nexus S (Wife's)
Current: Xoom/Stingray (Wife's)


Retired: Droid2
Retired: OG Droid/Sholes
Retired: HTC Eris
Sole: Droid3/CDMA_Solana
Stepdad's: Thunderbolt
--
Hardstyler, Mobile IT Support and VZW Indirect in Boston.

Twitter
G+
The Following User Says Thank You to Jewremy For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Asadullah
Old
#6  
Asadullah's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 266
Posts: 848
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: casselberry

 
DONATE TO ME
What is included in the sdk on the xoom? I know that you can build apps from the command line on windows and linux. I think that this function would really be what I need to buy a tablet (again). Or you might be able to borrow things from the linux sdk.
 
StrifeSoldierVII
Old
#7  
StrifeSoldierVII's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 242
Posts: 438
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Orlando, FL

 
DONATE TO ME
Someone should take these commands and put them together into one easy to use app and launch it on the market. Many would benefit from one click type methods to natively run adb commands from the Xoom. If someone would be willing to do that of course. I'm just sayin'.

StrifeSoldier is always on the job. You can count on me to go above and beyond!


Phone: Nexus 5
Tablet: Nexus 7
Network: T-Mobile
 
ftgg99
Old
#8  
Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter 2044
Posts: 7,047
Join Date: Mar 2010
yep, weve been using the functionality for a while now!

you should also look into moto utils, which come preinstalled on the xoom and can do all sorts of funky stuff!
 
hawk2k8
Old
#9  
Member
Thanks Meter 18
Posts: 59
Join Date: Jan 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by diablo2224 View Post
Someone should take these commands and put them together into one easy to use app and launch it on the market. Many would benefit from one click type methods to natively run adb commands from the Xoom. If someone would be willing to do that of course. I'm just sayin'.
search "adb wireless",you can get this awesome free app, it has a widget built-in.
and born at a bit long ago.
 
Jewremy
Old
#10  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 59
Posts: 232
Join Date: Jul 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by ftgg99 View Post
yep, weve been using the functionality for a while now!

you should also look into moto utils, which come preinstalled on the xoom and can do all sorts of funky stuff!
So I checked out the field utils...

Apparently the Xoom has a WCDMA component? That's HSPA+ if I'm right...further supported in the iFixIt teardown.

Turned off the GSM functionality (on by default), hoping it'll save battery...not that I can complain. Battery life on this thing kicks ass.

Here's my question: Does it have an IMEI? As in can I put an AT&T SIM in there and it'll work? I'll try testing it out later. Might be time to pull out the ole' faraday cage...
Current: GalaxyNexus/Toro
Current: Nexus 7 / Grouper (C80)
Current: Nexus S (Wife's)
Current: Xoom/Stingray (Wife's)


Retired: Droid2
Retired: OG Droid/Sholes
Retired: HTC Eris
Sole: Droid3/CDMA_Solana
Stepdad's: Thunderbolt
--
Hardstyler, Mobile IT Support and VZW Indirect in Boston.

Twitter
G+

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Prevent Unwanted Butt Dialing with Smart Pocket Guard

You may recall that back in August of last year, we took a look atAir SwiperbyXDA … more

Google ATAP Details Project Ara in Developers’ Conference

Earlier today, the Google ATAP teamkicked offits first ever Project Ara … more

HTC Sense 6 Ported to the Nexus 5

The Google Nexus 5 is regarded as having everything an Android user needs or wants: timely updates, … more