Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[SCRIPT] Windows One Click Root Method [3/26/11]

OP Captainkrtek

27th March 2011, 04:15 AM   |  #1  
Captainkrtek's Avatar
OP Retired Recognized Developer / Retired Forum Moderator
Flag Seattle
Thanks Meter: 555
 
1010
2,514 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
HTC Thunderbolt Windows One Click Root
This is a simple batch file that will guide you in rooting your device.
It is pretty easy to follow along but please take your time and read everything. It has only been tested a few times so please report any errors or issues you find.
Huge thanks to NetForce-TX on IRC for testing along with helping, I owe you!
Also thanks to Jcase for guidance
TeamAndIRC and Captainkrtek (Me) are NOT responsible for any bricks, fires, or damaged/broken hardware due to this process

If you wish to read the batch files contents either open it with notepad or check the pastebin

Instructions are included in the file when running it along with where to get the necessary files.

Prerequisites:
  • Drivers Installed & Working
  • SDK Installed with ADB
  • Exploits.zip with contents extracted to your ADB dir
  • PG05IMG.zip
  • Downgrade RUU
  • A Thunderbolt running 605.6 or 605.9 Firmware
You can download the OneClickRoot here

I will update this from time to time if needed, If you have issues with the batch file please PM me on XDA or find me on irc.andirc.net #Thunderbolt.
I will not reply to your PM if you want me to help you root your phone!
UPDATE: If SU acts up (IE: Force closes) flash this via CWM
Last edited by Captainkrtek; 13th August 2011 at 05:39 PM.
The Following 31 Users Say Thank You to Captainkrtek For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th March 2011, 04:20 AM   |  #2  
Captainkrtek's Avatar
OP Retired Recognized Developer / Retired Forum Moderator
Flag Seattle
Thanks Meter: 555
 
1010
2,514 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
Reserved for Linux version
27th March 2011, 04:27 AM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 47
 
376 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Wow, looks easy! But I'm glad I did it through ADB. Nice job!
27th March 2011, 04:34 AM   |  #4  
Captainkrtek's Avatar
OP Retired Recognized Developer / Retired Forum Moderator
Flag Seattle
Thanks Meter: 555
 
1010
2,514 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by pinhead875

Wow, looks easy! But I'm glad I did it through ADB. Nice job!

Thanks! It is pretty simple, only a few things you have to do manually (no possible workaround) such as flashing from the bootloader.
27th March 2011, 04:47 AM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
359 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Anyone try this yet?

sent using Tapatalk on the TB.
27th March 2011, 04:52 AM   |  #6  
Captainkrtek's Avatar
OP Retired Recognized Developer / Retired Forum Moderator
Flag Seattle
Thanks Meter: 555
 
1010
2,514 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by egeorgia

Anyone try this yet?

sent using Tapatalk on the TB.

Already a few people have tested it, all successes
27th March 2011, 05:16 AM   |  #7  
Cg006's Avatar
Member
Flag Bronx, NY
Thanks Meter: 3
 
99 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2007
More
so we set the phone to debug mode and the usb mode to just charging?

i was going to to the other root ;set up my ADB earlier but chickened out... i already have the files downloaded
Last edited by Cg006; 27th March 2011 at 05:26 AM.
27th March 2011, 05:17 AM   |  #8  
Captainkrtek's Avatar
OP Retired Recognized Developer / Retired Forum Moderator
Flag Seattle
Thanks Meter: 555
 
1010
2,514 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cg006

so we set the phone to debug mode and the usb mode to just charging?

i was going to to the ot her root and set up my abd earlier but chickened out... i already have the files downloaded

Yeah exactly, just debug and charging, until you have to copy over the roms then you will set the USB mode to mount SD
27th March 2011, 05:20 AM   |  #9  
alphatectz's Avatar
Member
Flag NYC
Thanks Meter: 0
 
67 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
More
I did the long method but I missed the step to get s-off. Can I still use the one click root method sk I can obtain s-off?
27th March 2011, 05:25 AM   |  #10  
Captainkrtek's Avatar
OP Retired Recognized Developer / Retired Forum Moderator
Flag Seattle
Thanks Meter: 555
 
1010
2,514 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by alphatectz

I did the long method but I missed the step to get s-off. Can I still use the one click root method sk I can obtain s-off?

Yes you can, but I reccomend unrooting whatever you have done so far using this http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1009423

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
oneclick, root, thunderbolt
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes