5,600,182 Members 40,323 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[SCRIPT] Root for 4.1.57 (Depreciated, use newer version)

Tip us?
 
shawnbuck
Old
(Last edited by shawnbuck; 31st March 2011 at 04:51 AM.)
#1  
shawnbuck's Avatar
Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 88
Posts: 190
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: NY
Default [SCRIPT] Root for 4.1.57 (Depreciated, use newer version)

The new update blocks the current ways of attaining root for the device. However, if you have root before you update, it is possible to retain this during the upgrade.

Script is online!

A newer version is available here:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...8#post12540398
The Following 61 Users Say Thank You to shawnbuck For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
LayzeeEyez
Old
#2  
LayzeeEyez's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 34
Posts: 206
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Miami

 
DONATE TO ME
Yeah... I'll just wait for you
Thanks for this! been holding out on the update ever since I found out you lose root during the beta testings
 
cegna09
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 33
Posts: 297
Join Date: Jun 2009
if this works i guess it's time to get my desktop back up and running so i can flash back and use this. damn power supplies dying on me.
Samsung Galaxy S4
Motorola Droid4 - Work Phone, stock

Past
Samsung Galaxy S3 - retired
Motorola Atrix - Neutrino Rom Mostly Broken
HTC Aria - CM7
HTC Fuze - Energy Rom
 
SS2006
Old
#4  
SS2006's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 84
Posts: 1,463
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: London, Ontario
ill wait for ur auto script
will this b possible btw neone?

Flash the 1.5.7 sbf -> run gblur custom rom -> run the root scrip
 
LancerV
Old
#5  
LancerV's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 219
Posts: 1,130
Join Date: Nov 2007
No Gingerblur needs root to push its files, also if you need a host I can host
Free Host for XDA-Devs PM me for username/password
 
shawnbuck
Old
#6  
shawnbuck's Avatar
Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 88
Posts: 190
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: NY
Scripts are online!

Run beforeupdate.bat, update, then run afterupdate.bat.
 
calvin398
Old
#7  
Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 45
Join Date: Mar 2011
Haven't tried it yet but wanted to say thanks and great work!
 
darkamikaze
Old
(Last edited by darkamikaze; 29th March 2011 at 10:26 PM.)
#8  
darkamikaze's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 163
Posts: 1,455
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Candyland
--EDIT -- BELIEVE THIS IS FIXED--

[STRIKE]you didn't package the bin folder with psneuter.. :X
"I once stuck my hand down my pants and I made lemonade out of it."
I think that's how that quote goes.
 
NFHimself
Old
(Last edited by NFHimself; 29th March 2011 at 10:20 PM.)
#9  
NFHimself's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 462
Posts: 799
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Mount Pearl

 
DONATE TO ME
In reference to "adb.exe push movesu.sh /data/local/tmp > NUL 2>&1"

movesu.sh is now backup.sh, yes?

Also busybox "mv /system/xbin/su /system/bin/frozenfish" clobbers the copy from system/bin, if there is a difference, i thought it was generally a symlink to /system/bin.

Other than that, good idea in renaming the binary file, I probably won't use frozenfish in case Motorola targets that now..
 
aver2one
Old
(Last edited by aver2one; 30th March 2011 at 04:12 AM.)
#10  
aver2one's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 21
Posts: 173
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: miami
Sounds sweet! If I already updated can I flash back to old then re root? Then run script then update?

Sent from my MB860 using XDA App

Update: Yes You Can ! just finished..
-Anthony

Email: anthony@anythinggeekonline.com
http://www.anythinggeekonline.com

---------------------------------------------------------------
Devices:
Samsung Galaxy S2
(UnNamed ROM v2.2.1 GB 2.3.6), Motorola Atrix 4G (2.3.4), ipad2 (ios5.0.1)
, Samsung Captivate (Stock 2.3.5)

THREAD CLOSED
Subscribe
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes