Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Thread Closed

[SCRIPT] Root for 4.1.57 (Depreciated, use newer version)

OP shawnbuck

29th March 2011, 10:53 PM   |  #1  
shawnbuck's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
NY
Thanks Meter: 88
 
190 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
The new update blocks the current ways of attaining root for the device. However, if you have root before you update, it is possible to retain this during the upgrade.

Script is online!

A newer version is available here:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...8#post12540398
Last edited by shawnbuck; 31st March 2011 at 05:51 AM.
The Following 61 Users Say Thank You to shawnbuck For This Useful Post: [ View ]
29th March 2011, 10:55 PM   |  #2  
LayzeeEyez's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Miami
Thanks Meter: 34
 
207 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Donate to Me
More
Yeah... I'll just wait for you
Thanks for this! been holding out on the update ever since I found out you lose root during the beta testings
29th March 2011, 11:00 PM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 36
 
305 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
More
if this works i guess it's time to get my desktop back up and running so i can flash back and use this. damn power supplies dying on me.
29th March 2011, 11:02 PM   |  #4  
SS2006's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag London, Ontario
Thanks Meter: 94
 
1,525 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
More
ill wait for ur auto script
will this b possible btw neone?

Flash the 1.5.7 sbf -> run gblur custom rom -> run the root scrip
29th March 2011, 11:07 PM   |  #5  
LancerV's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 263
 
1,338 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2007
No Gingerblur needs root to push its files, also if you need a host I can host
29th March 2011, 11:09 PM   |  #6  
shawnbuck's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
NY
Thanks Meter: 88
 
190 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Scripts are online!

Run beforeupdate.bat, update, then run afterupdate.bat.
29th March 2011, 11:10 PM   |  #7  
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
45 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Haven't tried it yet but wanted to say thanks and great work!
29th March 2011, 11:14 PM   |  #8  
darkamikaze's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Candyland
Thanks Meter: 167
 
1,464 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
--EDIT -- BELIEVE THIS IS FIXED--

[STRIKE]you didn't package the bin folder with psneuter.. :X
Last edited by darkamikaze; 29th March 2011 at 11:26 PM.
29th March 2011, 11:17 PM   |  #9  
NFHimself's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Mount Pearl
Thanks Meter: 468
 
810 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2008
Donate to Me
More
In reference to "adb.exe push movesu.sh /data/local/tmp > NUL 2>&1"

movesu.sh is now backup.sh, yes?

Also busybox "mv /system/xbin/su /system/bin/frozenfish" clobbers the copy from system/bin, if there is a difference, i thought it was generally a symlink to /system/bin.

Other than that, good idea in renaming the binary file, I probably won't use frozenfish in case Motorola targets that now..
Last edited by NFHimself; 29th March 2011 at 11:20 PM.
29th March 2011, 11:18 PM   |  #10  
aver2one's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag miami
Thanks Meter: 21
 
173 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
Sounds sweet! If I already updated can I flash back to old then re root? Then run script then update?

Sent from my MB860 using XDA App

Update: Yes You Can ! just finished..
Last edited by aver2one; 30th March 2011 at 05:12 AM.

Thread Closed Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes