FORUMS

The OnePlus 2 & The Year of Smartphone Compromises

We are very close to entering the last third of 2015, and we have now seen many of … more

OnePlus 2 Teardown, Major Android Vulnerability – XDA TV

The OnePlus 2 has been officially released. That and much more news is … more

What Do You Think About Fingerprint Scanners?

More and more phones are featuring fingerprint scanners, and with many promising … more

What’s Next for Samsung and Its Flagships?

If we were to say that the Galaxy S6 was a leap of faith made by Samsung, we … more

[SCRIPT] Root for 4.1.57 (Depreciated, use newer version)

190 posts
Thanks Meter: 88
 
By shawnbuck, Retired Recognized Developer on 29th March 2011, 09:53 PM
Thread Closed Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
The new update blocks the current ways of attaining root for the device. However, if you have root before you update, it is possible to retain this during the upgrade.

Script is online!

A newer version is available here:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...8#post12540398
Last edited by shawnbuck; 31st March 2011 at 04:51 AM.
The Following 61 Users Say Thank You to shawnbuck For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
29th March 2011, 09:55 PM |#2  
LayzeeEyez's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Miami
Thanks Meter: 34
 
Donate to Me
More
Yeah... I'll just wait for you
Thanks for this! been holding out on the update ever since I found out you lose root during the beta testings
29th March 2011, 10:00 PM |#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 36
 
More
if this works i guess it's time to get my desktop back up and running so i can flash back and use this. damn power supplies dying on me.
29th March 2011, 10:02 PM |#4  
SS2006's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag London, Ontario
Thanks Meter: 95
 
More
ill wait for ur auto script
will this b possible btw neone?

Flash the 1.5.7 sbf -> run gblur custom rom -> run the root scrip
29th March 2011, 10:07 PM |#5  
LancerV's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 406
 
More
No Gingerblur needs root to push its files, also if you need a host I can host
29th March 2011, 10:09 PM |#6  
shawnbuck's Avatar
OP Retired Recognized Developer
NY
Thanks Meter: 88
 
More
Scripts are online!

Run beforeupdate.bat, update, then run afterupdate.bat.
29th March 2011, 10:10 PM |#7  
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Haven't tried it yet but wanted to say thanks and great work!
29th March 2011, 10:14 PM |#8  
darkamikaze's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Candyland
Thanks Meter: 167
 
More
--EDIT -- BELIEVE THIS IS FIXED--

[STRIKE]you didn't package the bin folder with psneuter.. :X
Last edited by darkamikaze; 29th March 2011 at 10:26 PM.
29th March 2011, 10:17 PM |#9  
NFHimself's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Mount Pearl
Thanks Meter: 469
 
Donate to Me
More
In reference to "adb.exe push movesu.sh /data/local/tmp > NUL 2>&1"

movesu.sh is now backup.sh, yes?

Also busybox "mv /system/xbin/su /system/bin/frozenfish" clobbers the copy from system/bin, if there is a difference, i thought it was generally a symlink to /system/bin.

Other than that, good idea in renaming the binary file, I probably won't use frozenfish in case Motorola targets that now..
Last edited by NFHimself; 29th March 2011 at 10:20 PM.
29th March 2011, 10:18 PM |#10  
aver2one's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag miami
Thanks Meter: 21
 
More
Sounds sweet! If I already updated can I flash back to old then re root? Then run script then update?

Sent from my MB860 using XDA App

Update: Yes You Can ! just finished..
Last edited by aver2one; 30th March 2011 at 04:12 AM.
29th March 2011, 10:18 PM |#11  
shawnbuck's Avatar
OP Retired Recognized Developer
NY
Thanks Meter: 88
 
More
Whoops - I based it from adeo without making the proper changes. Corrected one should be live in a few minutes.

Read More
Thread Closed Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes