5,594,805 Members 37,410 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Huawei Ideos C8150 / U8150][General Development][Update 01-04-2011]

Tip us?
 
tj_style
Old
(Last edited by tj_style; 31st March 2011 at 11:11 PM.)
#1  
tj_style's Avatar
Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 1342
Posts: 812
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Gadog - Bogor

 
DONATE TO ME
Angry [Huawei Ideos C8150 / U8150][General Development][Update 01-04-2011]

On this thread I will explain all about general modification for Huawei Ideos U8150 / C8150 Devices.

What I will explain on this thread:
- Change path of bootanimation.zip from /cust partition to /system/media/
- Change oemlogo.mbn from /cust partition to /system/media/
- Make your own oemlogo.mbn (splashscreen)
- Multitouch support for U8150 / C8150
- Update link for Official Firmware from Huawei

Change path for bootanimation.zip

For default, U8150 / C8150 is mounting /cust partition at startup, and /system/bin/bootanimation will search the bootanimation.zip from /data/cust/media/ but, sometimes the Custom ROM is wiping the /cust partition and will load internal bootanimation from framework-res.apk.

so, we can change the path of bootanimation.zip to /system/media/ with hex editor.

this is the original path:
Click image for larger version

Name:	boot1.jpg
Views:	3479
Size:	47.2 KB
ID:	555655

and change to /system/media like this:
Click image for larger version

Name:	boot2.jpg
Views:	1996
Size:	47.2 KB
ID:	555656

Change path for oemlogo.mbn
For default splashscreen is located at splash partiton, but Huawei change the path to "hidden/unknown" partition.
so, when we try to flash the spashscreen to splash partition with fastboot, it will not work.
And also Huawei is using non standard rgb565 format.

after some trial, i successfully to make my oemlogo.mbn.
U8150/C8150 is using 240x320 rgb565 format.
we can make the custom oemlogo.mbn by converting the custom image to 240x320 rgb565 format with Paint.NET application and plugin.

the application can be download in here:
paint.net

and the rgb565 from here:
Rgb565

Place the Rgb565.dll in plugin folder of Paint.NET

make your own splashscreen with 240x320 pixel and open with Paint.NET.
and then save as Rgb565 format.
Click image for larger version

Name:	paint.jpg
Views:	1999
Size:	53.8 KB
ID:	555669

And now how to flash the splashscreen to our device?

Huawei using the /system/bin/load_oemlogo for flashing the oemlogo.mbn (splashscreen) to our device.
But again, we must to change the path of oemlogo.mbn from /cust partition to /system/media

open the load_oemlogo with hex editor, and change:
Click image for larger version

Name:	splash1.jpg
Views:	3816
Size:	48.1 KB
ID:	555673

to this:
Click image for larger version

Name:	splash2.jpg
Views:	3412
Size:	48.1 KB
ID:	555674

After all modification is complete here we go to replace the bootanimation and load_oemlogo in /system/bin

place bootanimation.zip and oemlogo.mbn to /system/media/

go to shell with adb or terminal emulator, get su permission and type:
# load_oemlogo

Last step reboot the device...

Finally You will have custom bootanimation and custom splashcreen..

I make simple patcher that can automatically patch the bootanimation and load_oemlogo. it can save lot of time for developer.
just place the bootanimation and load_oemlogo in same folder with x8150_patcher.exe run x8150_patcher.exe and press patch.
you will have the patched bootanimation and load_oemlogo automatically.

here is the patcher:
x8150_patcher.7z

G+: tjstyle Github: tjstyle Twitter: tj_style


https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=Q9UNPUJV87NXL
The Following 11 Users Say Thank You to tj_style For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
tj_style
Old
(Last edited by tj_style; 26th April 2011 at 09:47 PM.)
#2  
tj_style's Avatar
Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 1342
Posts: 812
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Gadog - Bogor

 
DONATE TO ME
Default Official Update Link

[VERSION NUMBER]|[System Build Date]

U8150V100R001ESTC205B835SP03(Estonia EMT).zip 16 Feb 2011

C8150V100R001C266B837SP02(Nigeria).zip 16 Mar 2011

U8150V100R001AGOC44B840SP01(Angola Unitel).zip 21 Mar 2011

U8150V100R001C18B842(Kenya Safaricom).zip 23 Mar 2011

U8150V100R001C99B830(philippines SUN).zip 16 Mar 2011

U8150V100R001C165B839(Morocco meditel).zip 23 Feb 2011

C8150-1V100R001C77B827(Cameroon Camtel).zip 26 Jan 2011

U8150V100R001C251B835SP01(Peru Nextel).zip 19 Mar 2011

U8150V100R001MEXC27B838SP02(Mexico moviestar).zip 23 Maret 2011

U8150V100R001GHAC02B841(Ghana Vodavone).zip 15 Mar 2011

U8150V100R001C126B843(Ghana MTN).zip 11 April 2011

G+: tjstyle Github: tjstyle Twitter: tj_style


https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=Q9UNPUJV87NXL
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to tj_style For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
tj_style
Old
(Last edited by tj_style; 31st March 2011 at 11:30 PM.)
#3  
tj_style's Avatar
Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 1342
Posts: 812
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Gadog - Bogor

 
DONATE TO ME
Default Multitouch Development, Finally Working!

The GOOD NEWS i have sucessfully to get multitouch capability on U8150 / C8150 device..
But the BAD NEWS, I must to modify the driver again because i lost the touch panel (back, menu, home & search) button.

For now, i can get multitouch and touch panel work together.
if multitouch is working, the touch panel not working. vice versa..


Update 30th March 2011:
Successfully get Multitouch and Touch panel working together.

I will release the ROM when I finishing the RC2 of Andro-ID v2.2 for C8150.
I must cleaning up the system now..

This is some preview of Multitouch Capability on C8150:


After re-check the code, and nothing problem that I see.
Now I share the patch file for kernel source:
multitouch-c8150.patch.zip

And also the compiled kernel:
zImage.zip

I'm so happy to get the the new feature on our device..

G+: tjstyle Github: tjstyle Twitter: tj_style


https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=Q9UNPUJV87NXL
The Following 10 Users Say Thank You to tj_style For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
tj_style
Old
#4  
tj_style's Avatar
Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 1342
Posts: 812
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Gadog - Bogor

 
DONATE TO ME
Default Update Info

Update Info

G+: tjstyle Github: tjstyle Twitter: tj_style


https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=Q9UNPUJV87NXL
The Following User Says Thank You to tj_style For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
tj_style
Old
#5  
tj_style's Avatar
Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 1342
Posts: 812
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Gadog - Bogor

 
DONATE TO ME
Default Update Info

Update Information

G+: tjstyle Github: tjstyle Twitter: tj_style


https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=Q9UNPUJV87NXL
The Following User Says Thank You to tj_style For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
tj_style
Old
#6  
tj_style's Avatar
Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 1342
Posts: 812
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Gadog - Bogor

 
DONATE TO ME
Default More Update info

More Update info

G+: tjstyle Github: tjstyle Twitter: tj_style


https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=Q9UNPUJV87NXL
 
veer1238
Old
(Last edited by veer1238; 30th March 2011 at 06:56 AM.)
#7  
veer1238's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 359
Posts: 550
Join Date: Jan 2011
Awsm man! For real for real...how is multi touch posible...if that can happen you will take this tiny device to a whole new level!

Sent from my IDEOS using Tapatalk
 
tj_style
Old
#8  
tj_style's Avatar
Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 1342
Posts: 812
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Gadog - Bogor

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by veer1238 View Post
Awsm man! For real for real...how is multi touch posible...if that can happen you will take this tiny device to a whole new level!

Sent from my IDEOS using Tapatalk
Yes, it's working.. the multitouch (dualtouch) is working fine, but until now, i'm not yet solving the touch panel issue.

I will upload the video later to proof about multitouch capability on U8150 / C8150 devices..

Sent from my Ideos

G+: tjstyle Github: tjstyle Twitter: tj_style


https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=Q9UNPUJV87NXL
 
veer1238
Old
#9  
veer1238's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 359
Posts: 550
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by tj_style View Post
Yes, it's working.. the multitouch (dualtouch) is working fine, but until now, i'm not yet solving the touch panel issue.

I will upload the video later to proof about multitouch capability on U8150 / C8150 devices..

Sent from my Ideos
Dont need prove ..do blieve you...when do you think it could be available for the users! Eagerly waiting...this would be thdm awsomest thng ever!

Sent from my IDEOS using Tapatalk
 
tj_style
Old
#10  
tj_style's Avatar
Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 1342
Posts: 812
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Gadog - Bogor

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by veer1238 View Post
Dont need prove ..do blieve you...when do you think it could be available for the users! Eagerly waiting...this would be thdm awsomest thng ever!

Sent from my IDEOS using Tapatalk
I will release when the touch panel issues is solved. :)

Sent from my Ideos

G+: tjstyle Github: tjstyle Twitter: tj_style


https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=Q9UNPUJV87NXL

Tags
huawei, ideos
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes