Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,809,924 Members 44,883 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Setup Exchange Email

Tip us?
 
hiwass
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Mar 2011
Default Setup Exchange Email

Hi,

I'm having trouble getting the G Tablet to connect to exchange. Went the manual mode, put in my username (with and without domain name) and email address (they're different) and the server. Chose ActiveSync, after "Checking incoming server settings..." i got error about authentication failed. I checked the credentials (owa & iphone are working fine using the same credentials), played with all the ssl options but still not connecting. Can anyone point me in the right direction?

Thanks
 
hungarianhc
Old
#2  
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 39
Join Date: Nov 2006
Well, the bad news is that I can't help you.... yet. The good news is that my gtablet arrives today, and one of the first things I'll be doing is setting up exchange! I'll report back.
 
LucasMN
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 29
Posts: 102
Join Date: Mar 2011
You say that you have tried all the SSL options, but for me to get it to work I had to not use any SSL (Even though we have SSL on the mail server).

Also, for username I had to put domain\username, otherwise it wouldn't work. Maybe search for another exchange clien and see if you can log in using that?
 
hiwass
Old
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by LucasMN View Post
You say that you have tried all the SSL options, but for me to get it to work I had to not use any SSL (Even though we have SSL on the mail server).

Also, for username I had to put domain\username, otherwise it wouldn't work. Maybe search for another exchange clien and see if you can log in using that?
I also tried it without any SSL and did use domain\username to no avail. I put in a ticket with my school but haven't received any reply, not sure if there's anything they can do since it works fine on iphone/ipad.
 
genei.09
Old
#5  
Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 50
Join Date: Feb 2011
I would try another client. Touchdown has the most features and flexibility of all the exchange clients for mobiles. It also has a free trial.
 
bnovak
Old
#6  
Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 60
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Houston,Tx
is it your own exchange server, or a corporate?

I know on our system, we have to use an external webserver for any device that isn't our corporate laptop. If you are trying to use the same one as your PC, it might not work as the MAC won't be accepted by the actual server.

Also, if you have a blackberry, you CAN'T use the exchange settings from that either as there is an intermediary server for BBS.

Check with your IT folks....my guess is that there is something like

ext.yourcompany.com for the server.

BN
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Lock Apps and Functions Easily with Droid Protector

Access and security are some of the key issues facingmobile technology. Whether … more

ARChon Lets You Run Android Apps in Google Chrome Browser

Not too long ago, Google added the ability torun select Android applications on … more

Flyme OS Finds Its Way to the Google Nexus 5

Flyme OS is a heavily modified Android variantdeveloped by the Meizu team for their MX … more

MultiROM Makes Its Way to the LG G2

Over the last few weeks, we’ve seen quite a fewflagship (and former flagship) devicesget to … more