Thread Closed

Lets save some bricks...

2nd May 2011, 05:40 AM   |  #251  
OH WOW.. I do believe there is something to this.

I have a brick here which will only give me PBL and this mode.

I'm not really sure what I'm looking at here, but it's definately something
because of the frequency of "0" I decided to linebreak after each occurance. I hit a few keys like home, page up, and delete, I did my ABCs and 123s in lower case and then upper. It seems really really random... but I'm sure it's responding to something it sees me typing.
Code:
0|
9|0|
12|4|0|
0|
52|44|20|0|
52|22|20|0|
52|45|20|0|
50|28|0|
52|44|20|0|
52|44|20|42|52|44|20|0|
52|44|20|42|52|44|20|42|52|44|20|0|
52|44|20|0|
52|44|20|0|
52|44|20|0|
52|44|20|0|
22|0|
11|45|22|0|
22|0|
4|4|22|49|0|
22|44|0|
11|0|
0|
48|0|
8|22|24|21|21|21|21|21|0|
0|
0|
24|0|
12|0|
24|0|
9|0|
25|0|
12|0|
24|0|
4|22|0|
22|0|
11|0|
22|0|
8|0|
21|2|0|
0|
0|
11|0|
22|0|
8|0|
4|0|
0|
28|0|
14|0|
28|0|
A|0|
29|0|
14|0|
28|0|
5|0|
0|
2A|0|
15|0|
2A|0|
A|0|
29|
It could be at the wrong baud rate because sometimes enter is a 0, and sometimes it's a 41. Any logical answer here? The phone never responds to anything except this mode and primary bootloader. So, this is in the primary bootloader, or the irom.
2nd May 2011, 10:57 AM   |  #252  
androcheck's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 86
 
124 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by manosv

I
Also look at this thread there is a guy that owns anyway jig maybe he can help debug the process
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=917229

Thanks for the note!
I wrote him a PM and asked if there are some "Boot" related fuinctions on the Anyway jig and if he would be so kind to measure the according resistor values for us.
The Following User Says Thank You to androcheck For This Useful Post: [ View ]
4th May 2011, 01:20 AM   |  #253  
I got something here.

Code:
loke_init: j4fs_open success..
load_lfs_parameters valid magic code and version.
reading nps status file is successfully!.
nps status=0x504d4f43
load_debug_level reading debug level from file successfully(0x574f4c44).
init_fuel_gauge: vcell = 4188mV, soc = 94
check_quick_start_condition_with_charger- Voltage: 4188.75000, Linearized[72/87/100], Capacity: 98
init_fuel_gauge: vcell = 4188mV, soc = 94, rcomp = d01f
EXT_I2C(0) -> No ACK
EXT_I2C(0) -> No ACK
EXT_I2C(0) -> No ACK
reading nps status file is successfully!.
nps status=0x504d4f43
PMIC_IRQ1    = 0x0 
PMIC_IRQ2    = 0x0 
PMIC_IRQ3    = 0x0 
PMIC_IRQ4    = 0x0 
PMIC_STATUS1 = 0x40 
PMIC_STATUS2 = 0x2c 
get_debug_level current debug level is 0x574f4c44.
aries_process_platform: Debug Level Low
keypad_scan: key value ----------------->= 0x0
CONFIG_ARIES_REV:48 , CONFIG_ARIES_REV03:48 
EXT_I2C(0) -> No ACK
EXT_I2C(0) -> No ACK
EXT_I2C(0) -> No ACK
check_download: micorusb_status1 = 4ff, key_value = 0
DISPLAY_PATH_SEL[MDNIE 0x1]is on
MDNIE setting Init start!!
vsync interrupt is off
video interrupt is off
[fb0] turn on
MDNIE setting Init end!!
set_boot_mode: boot mode = 1
aries_process_platform: final s1 booting mode = 1
aries_check_vf_status() ----- aver_vf_adc : 3680
main: booting stop and power off..
loke_exit: bye~ bye!
aries_power_off: TA or USB connected
aries_power_off: WDT reset
EXT_I2C(0)..... See that? That's the I2C bus.. looking for an external connection.

I disconnected the middle pin on the battery and tried different resistance values to ground.... That's the secret. The middle pin is called the BSI. http://www.cpkb.org/wiki/Samsung_AB4...battery_pinout Normally, it's a resistor that tells the phone what kind of battery is being used.

I'm using aproximately 3.1kohms and that message is hit and miss. So, now we have to figure out where the i2c bus is, how to access it, and what resistance values do what on the battery strength indicator (middle battery pin).
The Following User Says Thank You to AdamOutler For This Useful Post: [ View ]
4th May 2011, 07:16 AM   |  #254  
androcheck's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 86
 
124 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
Interesting finding!

But in case of a bricked SBL bin this still won't help as the output you are seeing comes from the SBL.


But another idea: as we didn't see any OM value change with a lot of different resistor values until now, I was wondering if the information if the power source comes from micro-usb connector (VBUS_IN) or from the battery (V_BAT) is taken into decision for setting the boot pin.

Unfortunately I have no 5V output on my FTDI board so until now I did all my tests with battery inserted.

@AdamOutler:
Do you see some new serial output before the PBL and SBL output begins. Maybe something different than the usual 0x10 0x31?
4th May 2011, 02:09 PM   |  #255  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 30
 
303 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Hi,

My Arduino Mega 2560 arrived today. So I will be able to do my own tests soon.
4th May 2011, 07:45 PM   |  #256  
Quote:
Originally Posted by androcheck

Interesting finding!

But in case of a bricked SBL bin this still won't help as the output you are seeing comes from the SBL.


But another idea: as we didn't see any OM value change with a lot of different resistor values until now, I was wondering if the information if the power source comes from micro-usb connector (VBUS_IN) or from the battery (V_BAT) is taken into decision for setting the boot pin.

Unfortunately I have no 5V output on my FTDI board so until now I did all my tests with battery inserted.

@AdamOutler:
Do you see some new serial output before the PBL and SBL output begins. Maybe something different than the usual 0x10 0x31?


I did this test with battery inserted as well. I can only supply 50ma 3.3v or 500ma 5V regulated power to the unit, and it can draw up to 1A. I slipped a piece of cardboard from a razor blade and a resistor over the middle pin to test this.

Using this method, everyone can do it...

Actually, now that I got to thinking about it.. I do have a 3.3V regulated battery backpack for the arduino, so I should be able to get something, however it is expecting 3.7-4.1 from the battery... hrm.. I'll have to test it out a bit. I'm willing to bet it will handle 5V.
Last edited by AdamOutler; 4th May 2011 at 07:49 PM.
4th May 2011, 07:58 PM   |  #257  
Quote:
Originally Posted by midas5

Hi,

My Arduino Mega 2560 arrived today. So I will be able to do my own tests soon.

Setting it up under ubuntu is a breeze.
1. Type:
Code:
sudo apt-get install arduino
arduino
2. copy and paste this to the arduino http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...&postcount=223
3. click the upload button
4. Close out the arduino program and type
Code:
sudo minicom -d /dev/ttyUSB0
5. hit ctrl+a, then "o" to access options and set it as 115200 8N1 flow controls off
6. save as /dev/ttyUSB0

From now on you can access the UART port by using minicom /dev/ttyUSB0 with no sudo.
4th May 2011, 09:36 PM   |  #258  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 30
 
303 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by AdamOutler

Setting it up under ubuntu is a breeze.
1. Type:

Code:
sudo apt-get install arduino
arduino
2. copy and paste this to the arduino http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...&postcount=223
3. click the upload button
4. Close out the arduino program and type
Code:
sudo minicom -d /dev/ttyUSB0
5. hit ctrl+a, then "o" to access options and set it as 115200 8N1 flow controls off
6. save as /dev/ttyUSB0

From now on you can access the UART port by using minicom /dev/ttyUSB0 with no sudo.

Thank you.
I have boot output from the i9000 via my Arduino using a 619K resistor.
I have 50x300K and 50x620K, so I am waiting for other ones that I have ordered.
5th May 2011, 04:29 AM   |  #259  
Here is the procedure for booting from MMC

http://hi.baidu.com/j2h3344/blog/ite...1d7887dd5.html


If we get it right, then we should observe this message:
Code:
OND check sum error
This is what we are trying to do. OND check sum error.

It's now a matter of figuring out the proper resistor values.

Judging by those OMpin settings and the fact that we only have OM pins... It may be possible that this represents what we need?
Code:
RID_AUD_REMOTE_S11_BTN,	/* 0 1 1 0 0 	20.5K		Audio Remote S11 Button */
5th May 2011, 09:56 PM   |  #260  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 30
 
303 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Is there any way to run an ssh server on the i9000?
I would like to ssh into the i9000 via the wifi interface while I change resistors on the usb port and monitor the kernel log.

Thread Closed Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes