APKTool Updated with Android Lollipop Support

One of the beauties of Android is the level of flexibility we have over our devices. Whether … more

Lollipop Leak for Sprint Galaxy S5, TWRP for Micromax Canvas Magnus – XDA TV

Android 5.0 Lollipop has been leaked for the Sprint … more

Velocity is Like OpenTable on Steroids

We all enjoy a night out with friends or our significant other from time to time. However, there is … more

Android Lollipop Lands for the Sony Xperia Z Ultra

The undisputed king of the beasts–at least in Sony’s current stable,is the … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] unroot Hero without usb

OP mae`

2nd April 2011, 08:34 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Hello Everyone

I know, there are many How-To's and ways to achieve what I want. unfortunately non of those I tried have worked.
My goal. I want to unroot my Hero, to send it back to RMA, because the usb controller is not working. And this is the second biggest Problem atm.

All the How-To's to unroot the device an install the original RUU or at least most of them include the use of the USB function. (creating a gold card 4 example or flashing a different bootloader)

To the USB Controller. It is hopeless. I tried everything. I even set up a Linux VM but where ever I plug it in, the system won't recognise my hero. They don't even recognise something.
Lucky me, the Hero is still able to charge the battery.

*****

Ok lets give some details on the actual situation.
I'm able to boot to HBOOT/Fastboot (volume down)
I'm able to boot to Clockwork Mod Recovery 2.5.0.7 (home)
Right now, it's restoring the system to FroydVillain 1.7.1, because i formated the boot partition (After 5 hours, I was tired and did one big mistake)
> The restore worked. I have my old System again.


What I tried to do

1. I downloaded the actual RUU, ran it, got the rom.zip out of it.
2. Booted into Clockwork Mod and tried to install from zip, where i got [Error Message 1]
3. Renamed the rom to update.zip and tried to install toe "normal" way. Also got the same [Error Message 1]
4. Renamed the rom into HEROIMG.zip, ran HBOOT which checks the zip and led me to [Error Message 2]

Error Message 1
Code:
-- Installing: SDCARD:rom.zip
Finding update package ...
Opeing update package...
E:Can't open /sdcard/rom.zip (bad)
Installation aborted
Error Message 2
Code:
SD Checking...
Loading...[HERODIAG.zip]
No image!
Loading...[HERODIA3.nbh]
No image or wrong image!
Loading...[HERODIA2.nbh]
No image or wrong image!
Loading...[HERODIAG.nbh]
No image or wrong image!
Loading...[HEROIMG.zip]     // takes about 3 minutes...
Checking HEROIMG.zip        // takes about 1 minute...
Main Verion is older!
Update Fail!
I downloaded the actual Hero RUU three times from the website, in case something went wrong while dl.
I got an older RUU from a xda thread and tried it with tis one.

I am not able to create a goldcard, because you have to connect the phone via usb to a computer.

Well Any help is much appreciated.

Regards
mae`
3rd April 2011, 11:23 PM   |  #2  
mattnmd's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Roeselare
Thanks Meter: 14
 
114 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
Hey,

really sh*tty that usb ain't working..

having trouble from time to time myself, got a suggestion for ya though

1) find yourself a rom that is very close to a stock rom (suggesting stock WWE,
as can be found on this forum, mr bang, stock wwe rooted)

http://www.romraid.com/paul/hero/upd...5.5-signed.zip (maybe an option)

2) make sure it doesn't have a customized kernel (or flash the stock one )
3) make sure it doesn't have apps2sd
4) use universal androot => UNROOT
5) delete busybox from your phone

guess this should get as close as it can be to a stock sense rom
(meaning unrooted and minor customizations

grtz, m@ttn
Last edited by mattnmd; 4th April 2011 at 12:00 AM.
5th April 2011, 10:27 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Hey mattnmd

Thank you for the hints!
Actually I could not download the ROM because the link seems "wrong" but it pointed me in the right direction.

I found e repacked Stock ROM (1.5) which I was able to flash.
So... My base system is ok for the moment. BUT my recovery is not
There is still clockworkmod recovery installed and it won't let me install updates.

Now in the next step I need a way to flash a different recovery (the original) without the use of USB.

androot does work. btw =)

Thanks a lot
7th April 2011, 11:48 PM   |  #4  
mattnmd's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Roeselare
Thanks Meter: 14
 
114 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mae`

Now in the next step I need a way to flash a different recovery (the original) without the use of USB.

Thanks a lot

np man, but here i can't help
never got the problem

grtz
10th April 2011, 10:39 PM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
16 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
Question Put the Hero like stock without USB
Is there a solution for this already?!! I've exactly the same problem - USB doesn't works, not even for charge! And I need to make it stock-alike in order to send it to warranty. I managed to install the stock ROM but still, there's the AmonRa Bootloader installed... I created a goldcard without USB using this: w ww.mikesouthby.co.uk/2010/08/htc-desire-creating-goldcard-using-mac-or-linux/

but, when I try to apply the HEROIMG.zip trough Hboot, it says "Main version is older" :(

What am I missing?! Is the installed radio too recent for the stock image I'm trying to install?!
11th April 2011, 12:42 PM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
I have no solution jet. But I'll write as soon as I see a way.

_________________________
HTC Desire S - xda app
11th April 2011, 08:45 PM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
16 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
Wink Worked for me!!!
Well, I found a way to solve my problem! I needed to put my GSM Hero as stock as possible (without root/custom ROMS/AmonRa/etc) without USB... The only solution, as far as I've read is to flash using a GoldCard the zip file from the RUU *.exe from HTC. I manage to create the GoldenCard without USB but when I tried to flash, it would say "Main Version is Older" after checking the HEROIMG.zip . It finally worked when I used this particular RUU version: RUU_Hero_HTC_WWE_2.73.405.38_WWE_release_signed_No Driver.exe from XDA thread #559622. Give it a try
The Following User Says Thank You to dusturn For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th April 2011, 11:43 PM   |  #8  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Talking Finally done
Hey dusturn

You are my (HTC) Hero :)
I just made the goldcard, and installed the new/old image (2.73.405.38) The Device got the old cupcake 1.5 on it and I was not able to get into recovery anymore!

It finally seems to be ok! Thank you very much!
31st October 2012, 11:25 AM   |  #9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by dusturn

Well, I found a way to solve my problem! I needed to put my GSM Hero as stock as possible (without root/custom ROMS/AmonRa/etc) without USB... The only solution, as far as I've read is to flash using a GoldCard the zip file from the RUU *.exe from HTC. I manage to create the GoldenCard without USB but when I tried to flash, it would say "Main Version is Older" after checking the HEROIMG.zip . It finally worked when I used this particular RUU version: RUU_Hero_HTC_WWE_2.73.405.38_WWE_release_signed_No Driver.exe from XDA thread #559622. Give it a try

How did you make goldcard without USB? I have the same problem but cannot find a solution.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes