T-Mobile HTC One M8 Gets Selfie-Friendly Android 4.4.4 OTA

The T-Mobie variant of HTC One (M8) just now received an over-the-air update … more

Android L is for Lockdown

Root is, without a doubt, the (un)holy grail of the Android world. Those wonderful permissions that allow you as … more

XDA Xposed Tuesday: XHangouts Will Improve Your Hangouts

Ever since Google started supporting text messaging in Hangouts many people have … more

Shattered Screen? Turn Your Broken Device into a Complete Media Center!

A cracked screen usually means you’ll have to spend a hefty … more
Post Reply

Is anyone able to setup Hotmail with Exchange Activesync on the Arc?

OP ronniecross

2nd April 2011, 08:42 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Flag Milton Keynes
Thanks Meter: 5
 
281 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2009
More
As much as I try I seem to be failing miserably. Tried by just opening Native email app and by going to home, settings, Accounts & Sync, Add Account, Exchange ActiveSync and am trying:

email & password, Next.

Domain left blank
username = email addy
password,
server = m.hotmail.com

both SSL boxes ticked,

but I keep getting:

Setup could not finish
Cannot connect to server.




Im going out of my mind now!
4th April 2011, 03:34 AM   |  #2  
MJ_QaT's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 26
 
430 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2009
More
Actually a friend of mine was trying that with his Arc but no success.. seems working fine with POP3 for some reason ... wish I could help
4th April 2011, 01:17 PM   |  #3  
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
79 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2008
I am having the same problem...
4th April 2011, 01:43 PM   |  #4  
OP Senior Member
Flag Milton Keynes
Thanks Meter: 5
 
281 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2009
More
That's interesting, has anybody actually had any success connecting to any exchange activesync server using the arc? I only have access to hotmail's exchange, but this works fine on touchdown, just not the native app...
4th April 2011, 02:15 PM   |  #5  
Rashkae's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Singapore
Thanks Meter: 88
 
572 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ronniecross

That's interesting, has anybody actually had any success connecting to any exchange activesync server using the arc? I only have access to hotmail's exchange, but this works fine on touchdown, just not the native app...

I'm connected to my University's exchange server (hosted on the Hotmail cloud) and it works fine. Make sure to use your full email address for your username.
4th April 2011, 04:05 PM   |  #6  
Member
Flag Cambridge
Thanks Meter: 0
 
67 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
I am also having the same problem. Strange.

Sent from my LT15i using XDA Premium App
4th April 2011, 04:42 PM   |  #7  
Member
Flag Tranås
Thanks Meter: 9
 
67 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Donate to Me
More
Was able to set up hotmail at the first try.
as for Exchange, I don't know - because I don't use it.
4th April 2011, 05:54 PM   |  #8  
Member
Flag Cambridge
Thanks Meter: 0
 
67 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
I have just tweeted se. Will have to see what they come back with.
4th April 2011, 07:20 PM   |  #9  
Rashkae's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Singapore
Thanks Meter: 88
 
572 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
More
Just set up a hotmail account too. Works without a hitch.
4th April 2011, 10:01 PM   |  #10  
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
79 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2008
I want to set hotmail up with PUSH email... not PULL(POP3) which way I can set it up...

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Xperia Arc Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank