Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,780,077 Members 38,091 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Is anyone able to setup Hotmail with Exchange Activesync on the Arc?

Tip us?
 
ronniecross
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 281
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Milton Keynes
Default Is anyone able to setup Hotmail with Exchange Activesync on the Arc?

As much as I try I seem to be failing miserably. Tried by just opening Native email app and by going to home, settings, Accounts & Sync, Add Account, Exchange ActiveSync and am trying:

email & password, Next.

Domain left blank
username = email addy
password,
server = m.hotmail.com

both SSL boxes ticked,

but I keep getting:

Setup could not finish
Cannot connect to server.




Im going out of my mind now!
Sony Mobile Xperia T
SE: X S - SE: X Arc S - SE: X Arc
SE: X10i - SE: X1i - SE: P990i
SE-M600 - SE-P910 - SE-P800
 
MJ_QaT
Old
#2  
MJ_QaT's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 26
Posts: 430
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: London
Actually a friend of mine was trying that with his Arc but no success.. seems working fine with POP3 for some reason ... wish I could help
 
SE-Naz
Old
#3  
Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 79
Join Date: Jun 2008
I am having the same problem...
 
ronniecross
Old
#4  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 281
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Milton Keynes
That's interesting, has anybody actually had any success connecting to any exchange activesync server using the arc? I only have access to hotmail's exchange, but this works fine on touchdown, just not the native app...
Sony Mobile Xperia T
SE: X S - SE: X Arc S - SE: X Arc
SE: X10i - SE: X1i - SE: P990i
SE-M600 - SE-P910 - SE-P800
 
Rashkae
Old
#5  
Rashkae's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 88
Posts: 571
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Singapore
Quote:
Originally Posted by ronniecross View Post
That's interesting, has anybody actually had any success connecting to any exchange activesync server using the arc? I only have access to hotmail's exchange, but this works fine on touchdown, just not the native app...
I'm connected to my University's exchange server (hosted on the Hotmail cloud) and it works fine. Make sure to use your full email address for your username.
 
Gavilaaar
Old
#6  
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 67
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Cambridge
I am also having the same problem. Strange.

Sent from my LT15i using XDA Premium App
 
Cim_XII
Old
#7  
Member
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 67
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Tranås

 
DONATE TO ME
Was able to set up hotmail at the first try.
as for Exchange, I don't know - because I don't use it.
 
Gavilaaar
Old
#8  
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 67
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Cambridge
I have just tweeted se. Will have to see what they come back with.
 
Rashkae
Old
#9  
Rashkae's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 88
Posts: 571
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Singapore
Just set up a hotmail account too. Works without a hitch.
 
SE-Naz
Old
#10  
Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 79
Join Date: Jun 2008
I want to set hotmail up with PUSH email... not PULL(POP3) which way I can set it up...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


[OTA] Nvidia Shield Tablet Receives its First Update

The Nvidia Shield Tabletis the latest toy from one of the largest desktop graphics … more

Quick Control Panel Updated, Adds Notification Support

As some of you may remember, earlier this year we spoke about Quick Control Panel by … more

Narrate Makes Note Taking Efficient and Beautiful

Technology has put life on the fast track. Whether its travelling to multiple places or … more

Android App Review: How to Speed Up Your Android Phone – XDA Developer TV

Is your Android device running slow? Is your Android device … more