Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,814,166 Members 45,751 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[GUIDE] How to mount USB external harddisk(support NTFS and multi disks)

Tip us?
 
hawk2k8
Old
(Last edited by hawk2k8; 12th June 2011 at 03:24 AM.)
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 18
Posts: 59
Join Date: Jan 2009
Default [GUIDE] How to mount USB external harddisk(support NTFS and multi disks)

Comment @ 1st June 2011: In Android 3.1 stock kernel or Tiamat kernel, it has usb-hosting function enabled.So just install hellcat82’s apk and ignore this guide, you could get your NTFS disk mounted.

All Thanks to Roebeet who has enabled usb hosting on xoom.
see the detail at here.

But it didn't support NTFS partition at this time, so i write this guide for ntfs supporting.

( hellcat82 has written a tool to simplify mounting NTFS drives, no need to push any file to android anymore. By just installing one apk, you will get everything. Let's give cheers to hellcat82! )

1.preparing

1.1 hardware
one microUSB male to USB-A female OTG cable.
one powered USB hub with USB-A male connector.
usb external harddisk.

1.2 software
Kernel: root your xoom and enable USB hosting mode by Roebeet‘s hack. or update kernel to Tiamat Xoom 1.1.6 which integrated Roebeet‘s hack.
NTFS supporting: NTFS-3g compiled by farazite , the newest version is on page 2 of that post.
Script Tool:gscript lite, downloadable from market.

2. push ntfs-3g supporting files to xoom
comment: ntfsvolume.apk is not compatible with xoom, so we can just use ntfs-3g and umount_force. at this moment, there is a bug in umount_force which can only dismount one partition, if we mount more than one ntfs partition, then we can not dismount all partitions totally.

Code:
adb remount
adb push ntfs-3g /system/xbin
adb push umount_force /system/xbin
adb shell chmod 755 /system/xbin/ntfs-3g /system/xbin/umount_force
3. Connecting Xoom,USB hub and USB disk

4. Mounting USB disks
use gscript lite to mount disk(s), or you can test this script via adbwireless, because we have no room to connect xoom and PC now.
Code:
mount -o remount,rw /
mkdir /mnt/ntfsdisk
ln -s /mnt/ntfsdisk /ntfsdisk
ntfs-3g /dev/block/sda1  /mnt/ntfsdisk
sda1 is the first partition of the first disk,
sdb1 is the first partition of the second disk.
and so on.
if you want to mount the second disk, the reference script is
Code:
mkdir /mnt/ntfsdisk2
ln -s /mnt/ntfsdisk2 /ntfsdisk2
ntfs-3g /dev/block/sdb1  /mnt/ntfsdisk2
PS:if the partition of your disk is FAT16/32, then you needn't doing anything , it will be auto mounted by Roebeet's hack.

5. Dismounting USB disks
Code:
umount_force /mnt/ntfsdisk
example:
I mounted one USB flash disk(512MB), one 2.5 inch hard disk(120GB), one 3.5 inch hard disk(2TB)


the ntfs partition can be read and written without problem.

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	捕获.PNG
Views:	44857
Size:	14.4 KB
ID:	559155   Click image for larger version

Name:	device.jpg
Views:	44618
Size:	22.5 KB
ID:	559156   Click image for larger version

Name:	device0.jpg
Views:	44463
Size:	20.9 KB
ID:	559162  
The Following 8 Users Say Thank You to hawk2k8 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
PaulG1488
Old
#2  
PaulG1488's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 294
Posts: 1,004
Join Date: Jun 2009
nice job ill be using this soon
 
n0-0ne
Old
#3  
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 91
Join Date: Nov 2006
this should work ya?
http://laptopupgrade.stores.yahoo.net/usbmi5matoty.html
 
lokko21
Old
#4  
lokko21's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 80
Posts: 745
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chihuahua
Quote:
Originally Posted by n0-0ne View Post
That's a mini not micro USB so you can't use it.

Sent from my Xoom using XDA Premium App
 
n0-0ne
Old
#5  
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 91
Join Date: Nov 2006
balls, I missed that. These cords are hard to find. Found one on amazon UK but $40 was a bit steep I think.
 
myv6mustang
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 14
Posts: 324
Join Date: Jun 2007
When u say hard disk are you talking spinning drive or flash drive with no moving parts? Can zoom USB port put out enough juice to power a drive.

Sent from my ADR6400L using Tapatalk
 
bwcorvus
Old
#7  
Retired Forum Moderator
Thanks Meter 352
Posts: 1,523
Join Date: Jun 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by myv6mustang View Post
When u say hard disk are you talking spinning drive or flash drive with no moving parts? Can zoom USB port put out enough juice to power a drive.

Sent from my ADR6400L using Tapatalk
Xoom puts out enuff power. Puts out about 600ma. I was charging my evo from it last nite. I will be trying this tonite.

Sent From My Evo
Done
 
cavemanb
Old
#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 29
Join Date: Jul 2007
Does this work on the wifi only version also....
Just checking before I test this out...
 
hawk2k8
Old
(Last edited by hawk2k8; 4th April 2011 at 04:25 AM.)
#9  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 18
Posts: 59
Join Date: Jan 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by myv6mustang View Post
When u say hard disk are you talking spinning drive or flash drive with no moving parts? Can zoom USB port put out enough juice to power a drive.

Sent from my ADR6400L using Tapatalk
No, the usb port can not provide sufficient current to spin hard disk. so I used a powered USB hub to connect hard disk.
(I have tested it just a moment ago, xoom couldn't identify the 2.5 inch hard disk without powered USB hub.)

Quote:
Originally Posted by cavemanb View Post
Does this work on the wifi only version also....
Just checking before I test this out...
I tested it on CDMA version, but think it should work on wifi versioon also, because it isn't network-related.

Quote:
Originally Posted by n0-0ne View Post
balls, I missed that. These cords are hard to find. Found one on amazon UK but $40 was a bit steep I think.
I spent less than 2 dollars to buy it at china.
I think it should be less than $5 in UK.
The Following User Says Thank You to hawk2k8 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
ericdabbs
Old
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 309
Posts: 1,068
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Is there a hard drive size limit that it can't support for this USB fix?

I have an 2TB external hard drive that I would like to use but I am not sure it will work. It is currently formatted in NTFS mode.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes