Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,741,535 Members 39,994 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Disable hardware buttons?

Tip us?
 
quake101
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 93
Join Date: Oct 2010
Default Disable hardware buttons?

Is there a way to disable the hardware buttons (home, search, back, menu) on the gtab? I find myself hitting them when I don't want to.

Sent from my DROIDX using XDA App
 
goodintentions
Old
(Last edited by goodintentions; 3rd April 2011 at 08:16 PM.)
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 732
Posts: 2,545
Join Date: Aug 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Button remapper app.

In fact, here it is.
Attached Files
File Type: apk ButtonRemapper.apk - [Click for QR Code] (51.6 KB, 2699 views)
The Following User Says Thank You to goodintentions For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Gregsterman
Old
#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Apr 2011
Thanks for the link, goodintentions. It installed and opens up great.

Unfortunately, I can't seem to figure out how to use this app to actually disable the hardware buttons on the Gtab. I'm running Vegan b5.1 (with supplement) and Clymsyn's kernel v6.

I've tried setting their state to 'none' and that didn't work... also tried searching the 'action' dropdown for a 'disable' or 'none' entry, but couldn't find one.

Any guidance would be appreciated, thanks.
 
TyIsOwned
Old
#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 17
Join Date: Feb 2009
You dont need to change the states, only the actions. Set it to Focus for all the home/search/back/menu you see. If you mess something up, it should allow you to restore the keys after you reboot
 
Gregsterman
Old
#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by TyIsOwned View Post
You dont need to change the states, only the actions. Set it to Focus for all the home/search/back/menu you see. If you mess something up, it should allow you to restore the keys after you reboot
This worked! Thank you very much.
 
Mantara
Old
#6  
Mantara's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 128
Posts: 609
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gregsterman View Post
This worked! Thank you very much.
Button remapper works great when pared with button Savior. It gives you a placable tab that when touched brings up back, home, menu and search buttons. Really handy.

Oh and I remapped my gtabs buttons to be a dpad. It really helps when selecting links online.
Mash the thanks button if I help you, it makes it easier to explain to my wife why I spend so much time on here

Or use this link to sign up for dropbox and we both get an extra 250 megs of free space http://db.tt/y9lZBmV

Current: HTC Amaze running

Well Loved Legacy Devices
GTablet: VegAn Ginger ROM
Droid: CM8/Chromatic
HTC Magic: Chromatic ROM
HTC G1: CM7
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Mantara For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
riaaneloff
Old
#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 2
Join Date: Apr 2011
Default Disable hardware buttons

Hi all, I downloaded the app, installed and set buttons to focus.

No joy, none at all.

Using Honeycomb, could this be the issue?

Or, does anyone know any other solution?
The Following User Says Thank You to riaaneloff For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
chubb16
Old
#8  
chubb16's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 18
Posts: 260
Join Date: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by TyIsOwned View Post
You dont need to change the states, only the actions. Set it to Focus for all the home/search/back/menu you see. If you mess something up, it should allow you to restore the keys after you reboot
That worked pretty good. Them buttons were driving me nuts would always hit them when i didnt want to.
 
dony71
Old
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 227
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by chubb16 View Post
That worked pretty good. Them buttons were driving me nuts would always hit them when i didnt want to.
can you tell me which file should I edit to do this?
 
galets
Old
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 115
Join Date: Apr 2006
How do I set a button mapping to "None"? My "back" button is faulty, i want to turn it off completely. Is there a way?

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes