FORUMS

Analysis & Opinion

Top Forum Discussions

[TOOL] 11/Nov r2: BackToEXT3 - for converting your device, er, back to EXT3

4,639 posts
Thanks Meter: 6,401
 
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
If you have been using a EXT4 ROM and you want to restore a stock ROM that only has EXT3 support, it's a bit of a faff. Introducing BackToEXT3.

This ClockworkMod update zip simply converts your /system, /data and cache partitions back to EXT3. It wipes them both in the process, so you need to have an existing backup / ROM to restore to.
  • r2 - DOWNLOAD - MD5: 90a891b9199913655dd622127bba3f70
HTH!

P
Last edited by paulobrien; 11th November 2011 at 01:49 PM.
The Following 19 Users Say Thank You to paulobrien For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
4th April 2011, 10:42 AM |#2  
FormelLMS's Avatar
Retired Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 303
 
Donate to Me
More
You never stand still^^
Thanks!
4th April 2011, 10:44 AM |#3  
paulobrien's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Norwich
Thanks Meter: 6,401
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Formel-LMS

You never stand still^^
Thanks!

Call me Mr. Productivity.

P
The Following User Says Thank You to paulobrien For This Useful Post: [ View ]
4th April 2011, 10:55 AM |#4  
FormelLMS's Avatar
Retired Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 303
 
Donate to Me
More
OK, Mr. Productivity
But I think, you love this phone very much, isn't it?
4th April 2011, 11:00 AM |#5  
paulobrien's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Norwich
Thanks Meter: 6,401
 
More
It's not bad!

P
The Following User Says Thank You to paulobrien For This Useful Post: [ View ]
4th April 2011, 01:53 PM |#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
You are amazing....Paul
16th April 2011, 03:08 PM |#7  
2dorr's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bucharest
Thanks Meter: 95
 
More
After installing FR12 custom ROM Vanilla Edition on my phone, I wanted to get back to stock so I installed - back to ext3 zip. Then when I tried to restore the stoc ROM, I got the error MD5 mismatch!

I want to specify that I tried a custom ROM before but with ext3, and I had no problem to return to the stock ROM.
16th April 2011, 03:30 PM |#8  
DarthD's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
More
Tool worked fine for me. fr10 back to stock.

Md5 error probably means ur nandroidbackup is damaged

Sent from my LG-P990 using XDA Premium App
16th April 2011, 03:34 PM |#9  
MaBlo's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 103
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by adair

After installing FR12 custom ROM Vanilla Edition on my phone, I wanted to get back to stock so I installed - back to ext3 zip. Then when I tried to restore the stoc ROM, I got the error MD5 mismatch!

I want to specify that I tried a custom ROM before but with ext3, and I had no problem to return to the stock ROM.


Here you go: http://tinyurl.com/5v3zqcj

Edit: To late, and I've always wanted to do that. Bah

Sent from my HTC Legend using XDA Premium App
Last edited by MaBlo; 16th April 2011 at 03:36 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to MaBlo For This Useful Post: [ View ]
16th April 2011, 04:10 PM |#10  
2dorr's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bucharest
Thanks Meter: 95
 
More
Thanks MaBlo, I usually search everything on Google, but this time I forgot, lol.
12th June 2011, 05:03 PM |#11  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Sorry guys, please correct me if I'm wrong as I'm trying to get it back to stock.
1. Copy img to ext SD card
2. Reboot into recovery e.g. CWM
3. update BackTOEXT3 image with CWM
4. run nandroid to restore stock image

Am I right? I keep getting stuck at the LG screen

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools
Display Modes