FORUMS

Android 5.1.1 Omni ROM For Motorola Xoom

Back in Feb 2011, the Motorola Xoom became the first device to be sold with Android 3.0 … more

CleanSlate Brings Fingerprint Scanner Mod to HTC One M9+

Work of XDA Recognized Developer tbalden, CleanSlate custom kernel for the HTC … more

Sunday Debate: Which Factors Caused HTC’s Woes?

Join us in a fun Sunday Debate on HTC’s situation. Come with your … more

HTC’s New Ad Campaign And What It Really Means

HTC has just released three new blind test adverts comparing app loading … more

[MOD][GPS] Better GPS from Ziggy471[MOD]

224 posts
Thanks Meter: 40
 
By dbu, Senior Member on 5th April 2011, 03:23 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
This is a MOD posted today in IRC(#thunderbolt) today by Ziggy471 that has improved GPS lock for myself and others that have tried it.

Instructions:
With Root Explorer (or similar app) go to /etc/gps.conf

In Root Explorer long press on the file and select open in text editor

Change the first line from: NTP_SERVER=north-america.pool.ntp.org to NTP_SERVER=us.pool.ntp.org

Save changes and reboot

Credit: Ziggy471
Last edited by dbu; 5th April 2011 at 03:27 AM.
The Following 11 Users Say Thank You to dbu For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
5th April 2011, 03:30 AM |#2  
chingy51o's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Cali
Thanks Meter: 1,461
 
Donate to Me
More
hmm gps seemed to be fixed with the maps update but ill try it out
5th April 2011, 03:49 AM |#3  
khanam's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Miami
Thanks Meter: 157
 
More
Will this screw up my clock widget etc if I travel to mexico or canada? I travel frequently.

Sent from my thunderbolt
5th April 2011, 04:12 AM |#4  
aedillor's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbu

This is a MOD posted today in IRC(#thunderbolt) today by Ziggy471 that has improved GPS lock for myself and others that have tried it.

Instructions:
With Root Explorer (or similar app) go to /etc/gps.conf

In Root Explorer long press on the file and select open in text editor

Change the first line from: NTP_SERVER=north-america.pool.ntp.org to NTP_SERVER=us.pool.ntp.org

Save changes and reboot

Credit: Ziggy471


Just did the mod. GPS signal picked up in less than a minute. Used to take 10-15mins. Thank you!

Sent through PNB Rapid Remit on my Thunderbolt
5th April 2011, 04:12 AM |#5  
mjones1052's Avatar
Senior Member
Philly, PA
Thanks Meter: 10
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by khanam

Will this screw up my clock widget etc if I travel to mexico or canada? I travel frequently.

Sent from my thunderbolt

No, pretty sure it just tells GPS where to look first, then if it doesn't find you there it looks elsewhere. It may just take an extra few seconds, but I think it basically gives it a starting point.
The Following User Says Thank You to mjones1052 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
5th April 2011, 04:16 AM |#6  
Member
Flag Atlanta
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
Doesn't really help me... Why does gps respond better with wifi simply turned on... Doesnt need to be connected just turned on

Sent from my ADR6400L using XDA App
5th April 2011, 04:22 AM |#7  
Senior Member
Holland
Thanks Meter: 25
 
More
Worked perfect! Made my day.

Sent from my Xoom using XDA Premium App
5th April 2011, 04:23 AM |#8  
WhotahnHTC's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 69
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by incredibler

Doesn't really help me... Why does gps respond better with wifi simply turned on... Doesnt need to be connected just turned on

Sent from my ADR6400L using XDA App

I have same issue. With about all custom ROM/kernel combos I get location errors or my sense clock widget tells me I'm in Philadelphia when I am in Kansas, unless I simply turn WiFi on. Not connected, just on. If I turn it on and my location works....
5th April 2011, 04:27 AM |#9  
corenojoe's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Cleveland, Ohio
Thanks Meter: 19
 
More
Worked great for me, GPS was always taking several minutes to find me, but after this it locked on in about 10 seconds.

Thanks!
5th April 2011, 04:28 AM |#10  
khanam's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Miami
Thanks Meter: 157
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mjones1052

No, pretty sure it just tells GPS where to look first, then if it doesn't find you there it looks elsewhere. It may just take an extra few seconds, but I think it basically gives it a starting point.

got it. thanks.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes