Google Glass-like Clip-On For Regular Glasses Developed by Sony

For the price of $2,000, a pair of glasses that can run apps, take pictures, … more

Micromax Takes OnePlus to Court! Android Wear Receives Lollipop – XDA TV

Android 5.0 Lollipop is available officially for the Moto 360! … more

Google Invites Selected Devs to Buy Project Tango Development Kit

Just about a month ago, the curious Project Tango development kit was … more

YU Yureka: Indian Handset with CyanogenMod

Thesoap opera involving Cyanogen Inc., OnePlus, and Micromax is one of the most talked about … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

How the heck do I change my windows live ID country?!

OP jubbing

5th April 2011, 05:30 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Flag Melbourne, Australia
Thanks Meter: 1
 
17 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2008
More
Ive had this hotmal account for over 9 years now, and I did not realise it has been set to USA (it was on that by default I think). Everything is linked to this account - my xbox account, my msn, my windows phone account, my zune hd account, my emails, my contacts etc... and its never been a problem.

My problem is when I was trying to buy an item in the Zune marketplace, it wouldn't let me put my credit card in because it can only be from USA, not Australia, which is where I live. Making a new account would absolutely be the worst thing I can think of and is an unacceptable solution from my point of view, this account has too much.

So how do I go about changing the account country from USA to Australia? Any help on this matter will be highly appreciated! Or am I screwed, or is there some workaround I can go with for the time being apart from hard resetting my phone. Would buying xbox live credit points from someone in the usa allow me to do the work around? I presume since I'm with an American account if I can fix that up, I can actually purchase music as well in Australia as well as games?

Thanks!
5th April 2011, 06:43 PM   |  #2  
mendel129's Avatar
Member
Flag Antwerpen
Thanks Meter: 7
 
89 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2008
More
try http://account.live.com, changing your country
5th April 2011, 07:05 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Flag Melbourne, Australia
Thanks Meter: 1
 
17 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2008
More
Yes, that's already set to Australia, but the billing account is set to usa. And stuck on.
5th April 2011, 09:32 PM   |  #4  
Junior Member
Flag Halifax
Thanks Meter: 2
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
More
Have you had your Nodo update? I thought I saw something in the changelist that applied to this?

Sent from my OMNIA7 using XDA Windows Phone 7 App
5th April 2011, 10:07 PM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
27 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
You can't change it. This has always been a point of contention with passport services. Once your billing region is set on account creation it can never be changed again. Ever.

I have the exact same problem, Have had for years now with my xbox. You're only option is to create a new account.

I've contacted Microsoft before about this and you get spun some nonsense about it being "impossible" to change.
6th April 2011, 12:27 PM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Flag Melbourne, Australia
Thanks Meter: 1
 
17 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2008
More
No no-do update for my omnia 7 yet.

And if I do have to create a new account, how the heck do I even sign out. If only there was a way to *fake* an American card via paypal or something. You know.. anything.
6th April 2011, 08:34 PM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
27 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
Unfortunately to remove the "Primary" account you have to factory reset the phone. As far as I know. It's because everything (xbox, zune, market place) is tied to it.

I don't think the country information is encoded in the card number http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Credit_card_numbers as credit cards like Visa and MasterCard are not a national card. My guess is they query a central database which has the country of issue. As such I think it's hard if not impossible to fake.
28th September 2011, 04:40 PM   |  #8  
Junior Member
Prague
Thanks Meter: 3
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
More
Hello,

Let me suggest you a little trick...

1. Go to support.xbox.com
2. Log in
3. Click on My Account (top right)
4. Right down, the very last option - Manage Account Region
5. There you can change your country to your desired one

I did work for me and I hope it will help you...

Best regards,

Arnie
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to WMGreenhorn For This Useful Post: [ View ]
1st October 2011, 05:47 PM   |  #9  
DJBlaster-303's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bologna
Thanks Meter: 16
 
207 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
More
Did you sort out the problem in some way??? I am interested because I didn't put CC information yet for the marketplace and my main hotmail account is a .com registered in 1998 and i'm in Italy I have another one (.it) but I did it just for paypal
2nd October 2011, 01:14 AM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
103 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2005
I'm lucky - my Dutch credit card (Master) just worked

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes