5,597,815 Members 37,319 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Have you lost all data? Try this it worked for me!

Tip us?
 
denonlake
Old
(Last edited by denonlake; 8th April 2011 at 03:47 AM.)
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 24
Posts: 199
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Baltimore

 
DONATE TO ME
Default Have you lost all data? Try this it worked for me!

I lost all data on my phone today but was able to find a fix incase I am not the only one
I have been running Liquid Rom and I have not changed anything for the past few days but suddenly lost all data 3G and 4G.
Verizon support was no help however I was able to fix it by doing the folowing.
Dial ##778#
hit Call
Hit Edit Mode
Type PW of 000000
Hit OK
Hit Modem Settings
Look for REV A and hit it
Select Enable instead of eHRPD
select ok
Hit Menu
Hit Commit Changes
Restart
Got Data Back and am still able to do Voice and Data at same time.
I was told there are some problems with verizons new eHRPD network which is supposed to be what handles Voice and Data Simulcast but as I said I can still surf and talk at the same time.
Just posting incase anyone else runs into this problem.
Update... Verizon sending new phone as I am tired of not having 4g I will post more when I get it
The Following User Says Thank You to denonlake For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
hammer4203
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 26
Posts: 509
Join Date: Mar 2010
Already done.

Sent from my ADR6400L using XDA Premium App
Device: MyTouch Slide *ROOTED*
 
detox246
Old
(Last edited by detox246; 8th April 2011 at 12:23 AM.)
#3  
detox246's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 26
Posts: 386
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Pittsburgh, Pa
i just wanted to visit forums and post my findings. Yesterday i lost all data on my device and i tried everything to get it back. I am rooted and after a flashed a kernel everything just dropped. i could only make phone calls and that was it. i tried switching roms, kernels, data/factory resets(including wiping cache and davlik) and with no avail i was stuck. i tried the ##778# method and eventually got 3g back but this should only be a temporary fix because you can lose 4g alltogether and may not be able to simultaneously use voice and data(on other threads i've seen one person say he has been able to i think that may be this thread). this method is known to verizon but is not condoned by them. Anyway what i had to do was take my device back to stock, no root, with s-on, and factory reset my device in bootloader in order to get my signal back. I since have re-rooted and restored a nandroid and everything is still working, so if you run into this issue and it is not on verizons end, this may be your only option. yes it is pita, but so far it is the only option other than the ##778# method and that should not be a permanent fix. here is the back to stock method by jcase

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1009423


op says ##778# but it doesnt work on my device. i have to use ##778 so i guess phones may vary

i also wanted to state that there was no network issue in my area at the time this happened
 
nosympathy
Old
#4  
nosympathy's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1132
Posts: 2,378
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cincinnati

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by detox246 View Post
i just wanted to visit forums and post my findings. Yesterday i lost all data on my device and i tried everything to get it back. I am rooted and after a flashed a kernel everything just dropped. i could only make phone calls and that was it. i tried switching roms, kernels, data/factory resets(including wiping cache and davlik) and with no avail i was stuck. i tried the ##778 method and eventually got 3g back but this should only be a temporary fix because you can lose 4g alltogether and may not be able to simultaneously use voice and data(on other threads i've seen one person say he has been able to i think that may be this thread). this method is known to verizon but is not condoned by them. Anyway what i had to do was take my device back to stock, no root, with s-on, and factory reset my device in bootloader in order to get my signal back. I since have re-rooted and restored a nandroid and everything is still working, so if you run into this issue and it is not on verizons end, this may be your only option. yes it is pita, but so far it is the only option other than the ##778 method and that should not be a permanent fix. here is the back to stock method by jcase

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1009423



OP you need to remove the last # on the ##778# it should be ##778
no it is ##778# then dial...not ##778. if you try ##778 with out the last pound, it fails...
[Phone] Samsung Galaxy Note II
[Root] Jailbroken
[Recovery] TWRP 2.4.1.0
[Rom] Beans #7
[Kernal] Saber Kernel
The Following User Says Thank You to nosympathy For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
detox246
Old
#5  
detox246's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 26
Posts: 386
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Pittsburgh, Pa
Quote:
Originally Posted by nosympathy View Post
no it is ##778# then dial...not ##778. if you try ##778 with out the last pound, it fails...

thats odd cause mine wont work with the last # I could only do it with ##778

edit: just tried again and mine wont work with the last #
 
thetwiztidfreak
Old
#6  
thetwiztidfreak's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 130
Join Date: Dec 2008
I have tried this on several roms and definetly seemed to help me. but i have noticed certin roms this no longer works (such as the latest virus rom)
 
denonlake
Old
(Last edited by denonlake; 9th April 2011 at 12:53 AM.)
#7  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 24
Posts: 199
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Baltimore

 
DONATE TO ME
Verizon sent me a new phone. I set the rev a back to ehprd on my original phone then removed the battery and sim and placed into new phone and instantly had 4g back. So just to see I put battery and sim back on rooted original phone and to my surprise 4g was back. Will post more after I run it for a while. Perhaps the sim needed reprovisioned?

Sent from my ADR6400L using Tapatalk
 
mitchell4500
Old
#8  
mitchell4500's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 116
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Maryland
Quote:
Originally Posted by denonlake View Post
Verizon sent me a new phone. I set the rev a back to ehprd on my original phone then removed the battery and sim and placed into new phone and instantly had 4g back. So just to see I put battery and sim back on rooted original phone and to my surprise 4g was back. Will post more after I run it for a while. Perhaps the sim needed reprovisioned?

Sent from my ADR6400L using Tapatalk
This is true. The people at verizon did this to my phone once when I had the same problem.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Polish Your Custom Themes with Theme Debugger

Creating a custom Android theme from scratch can be quite the laborious task. In addition to … more

Clean Up Your Logcat Code with Lib Cleaner

Some of you may think that writing code is the hardest part of development. It’s not, as the … more

Tweak Your Xperia Device’s Camera App Yourself

We’ve come to expect nearly perfect cameraperformancein our modern day … more