Nandroid and Ubuntu 10.10 working off SD

Search This thread

imperiallight

Senior Member
Aug 5, 2008
262
28
Original thread (Thanks Martin Rhodes):
http://xdaforums.com/showthread.php?t=962023 (Join up original file parts with 7zip)

Instructions

Here are direct links to complete .img file and .sh file to be placed into ubuntu folder on root of SD card (Thanks Infinimint)

http://infinimod.com/projects/fire314/ubuntu-for-android/ubuntu.img
http://infinimod.com/projects/fire314/ubuntu-for-android/ubuntu.sh

Ingredients
ubuntu.img + ubuntu.sh (to be placed in a new folder named ubuntu on the root of your SD card)
Better Terminal Emulator (or other terminal emulator) + AndroidVNC (or other VNC client) from the market

To automate one click startup process via Better Terminal Emulator:
Preferences>Initial command:

Code:
export PATH=/data/local/bin:$PATH:.
su
cd sdcard/ubuntu
sh ubuntu.sh

Or type this for each new session in any terminal emulator:

Code:
su
cd sdcard/ubuntu
sh ubuntu.sh

It says .img loading for a bit. Seems like its not doing anything...it wont confirm when its loaded (about a minute in reality)...

Then I left Terminal running in background while it said it was still loading the img (but don't let it close via task killer or otherwise), held down the hardware menu or home button to switch programs for a bit and connected in via VNC (AndroidVNC)...
address: localhost, port: 5900, and password: ubuntu ... then hit connect (login details will be saved for next time)...
its working fine software keyboard etc and at good speed. In menu options select 24bit colour, local mouse, 1:1 scaling and Touchpad only to make navigating menus much easier.

Normal phone and Android functions should be fine.

Included applications include Firefox, Thunderbird, Openoffice.org suite, GIMP Image Editor, Emacs Text Editor (geared towards programming), C and C++ build-essential, Java JDK, Python, TeXlive and TeXmaker LaTeX editor, Transmission BitTorrent Client, eVince PDF Viewer, File Manager, Terminal, Image Viewer, Leafpad Text Editor, Synaptic Package Manager and Ubuntu Software Center with all repositories enabled, SSH server, Gnash (GNU flash player for Firefox) among others.

Short press hardware menu key to get mouse options etc and longpress to bring up software keyboard (using Android VNC).

Type exit in android terminal emulator to shut down the ubuntu image.

I am using the Hyperdroid Rom off NAND, overclocked at 1.2ghz and a 16GB class 6 microsd (although it should be independent to all this... worth mentioning)

9vi784.jpg

GIMP

34xjhig.jpg


Here is Open Office 3.2 on the HD2 using Smart Keyboard Pro from the market.

Edit 1. I Can use my bluetooth keyboard using this nandroid rom to edit open office etc

Edit 2. I can make full screen editing on my PC monitor/TV through connecting it via USB.

2u9kdhg.jpg

HD2 USB connected to a r3610 hanging behind a 42" HDTV connected through HDMI. Using my desktop keyboard and mouse. The Mouse scroll button and right click work just as they would on desktop!

Connect via usb to PC and enable usb debugging on your phone, needs android sdk installed on PC, then you run from pc command line

Code:
adb forward tcp:5900 tcp:5900

and you should be able to create a vnc conection from your pc (recommend TightVNC) to:

Code:
127.0.0.1:5900   [U]or type[/U]   localhost:5900

and use password ubuntu displayed on your monitor or TV. Wireless solution.

In fact, you can use the same method to mirror the Android system using 'Droid VNC' server from the market.

Edit 3. Can also just connect straight to the device via VNC over WIFI but its slightly slower.
Type ifconfig into lxde terminal to find WIFI address, use your desktop VNC viewer (recommend TightVNC) and password ubuntu to log in.

Edit 4. Bluetooth mouse control with cursor now works as well (but its a bit jerky), works much better with 'Remote VNC Pro' from the market selecting use external mouse.

Edit 5. Can only seem to pair bluetooth mouse and keyboard input simultaneously using BlueInput.

4hyrgo.jpg


Edit 6. To fit whole ubuntu display area onto HD2 screen (as above) or to otherwise change screen res via LXDE terminal:
Code:
export USER=root
vncserver -geometry 800x480
Restart AndroidVNC but connect to port 5901. You can automate this process by adding it to the end of the Better Terminal Emulator Initial Command script i.e
Code:
export PATH=/data/local/bin:$PATH:.
su
cd sdcard/ubuntu
sh ubuntu.sh
export USER=root
vncserver -geometry 800x480

Just remember to connect on port 5901 instead of 5900 using VNC subsequently.
 
Last edited:

imperiallight

Senior Member
Aug 5, 2008
262
28
I haven't got USB host cables etc. I am just using localhost VNC or a Java based screen mirroring app over USB.

Was alot of fun today adding effects to my photos using GIMP and creating a presentation and exporting it to PDF, all on the train! Its like a UMPC now.
 
Last edited:

motoi_bogdan

Senior Member
Sep 8, 2007
319
337
do you have sound? have you tried playing some video, or youtube? how's the performance in comparison with ubuntu v0.3 running from haret?

I made an usb hub for using since i've downloaded v0.3, will try this evening to see if it works with this build.
 

imperiallight

Senior Member
Aug 5, 2008
262
28
Sound is not possible in VNC chroots as of yet. The android YouTube or music player app is only a hardware click away though. Media is well served by android anyway IMO.

WIFI is shared with the android system but theres no cellular 3G connection (I wonder if a 3G unrestrictor application could work at some point though). Could use your 3G sim in a separate phone for MIFI/WIFI routering too.

Its never going to be preferable to a native port but its almost instant in responsiveness once apps have opened. It is very quick (on my device at least).
 
Last edited:

nomercy9691

Member
Feb 1, 2011
39
2
how long to boot img?
i use android 2.2
cpu overclock 1.2
.....why doesn't it boot to VNC??
sry for my bad english
 

Danation

Senior Member
Dec 9, 2009
182
212
Well, I gave this a try. I guess I'm doing something wrong. It ran through all of the commands without any pause... (which seemed odd) ... and I couldn't connect through VNC. Any way to troubleshoot this?

Edit: Changed to TyphooN CyanogenMod 7 rom and it worked fine. Thanks for the link :)
 
Last edited:

nomercy9691

Member
Feb 1, 2011
39
2
Well, I gave this a try. I guess I'm doing something wrong. It ran through all of the commands without any pause... (which seemed odd) ... and I couldn't connect through VNC. Any way to troubleshoot this?

Edit: Changed to TyphooN CyanogenMod 7 rom and it worked fine. Thanks for the link :)

i did id but when use moliza
can you use keyboard
 
Last edited:

xmaskx

Senior Member
May 3, 2010
114
2
had anybody success downsizing the img with uec-resize-image, i dont need 3.5GB...
edit: 2G is to small, choosed 2500M, worked fine
 
Last edited:

xmaskx

Senior Member
May 3, 2010
114
2
i used the ubuntu.img from this thread
made:
e2fsck -f ubuntu.img
uec-resize-img ubuntu.img 2500M (2G is too small)

put it in the root folder of the sd card

used the deboot from http://xdaforums.com/showthread.php?t=1029390
and put in the root of the sdcard

and changed the section

losetup /dev/block/loop5 /sdcard/debian.img

to

losetup /dev/block/loop5 /sdcard/ubuntu.img

works really fine.
creates a debian folder but that could be also changed in the deboot file
and you can call the deboot file however you want, even bootubuntu.

really great thanks.
other links, that helped me:
http://nexusonehacks.net/nexus-one-hacks/how-to-install-ubuntu-on-your-nexus-oneandroid/
http://xdaforums.com/showthread.php?t=962023&highlight=uec-resize-image
http://xdaforums.com/showthread.php?t=1029390
http://xdaforums.com/archive/index.php/t-744236.html

H'm worked once. But now I get invalid argument when it comes to mounting the loop
 
Last edited:

GuimbardePower

Senior Member
Dec 1, 2008
72
3
Somewhere in France
I've tried to boot ubuntu from better terminal emulator pro, but it wont...
I've only this message:
*WARNING: If you have more than 255 apps installed on the SDCard, then mounting apps on the SDCard associate with an encrypted loop device, and there are only.
You have to go to Setting -> Manage Applications -> On SDCard, and move some a.
Please wait while booting ubuntu.img.. This can take some time...*

Does anyone can explain me why ubuntu dont boot after waiting for 30 min?


EDIT: It work now, it just don't say if the loading is OK. So I was waiting for nothing...
 
Last edited:

andypetr73

New member
Jan 8, 2009
4
1
Roma
I've tried to boot ubuntu from better terminal emulator pro, but it wont...
I've only this message:
*WARNING: If you have more than 255 apps installed on the SDCard, then mounting apps on the SDCard associate with an encrypted loop device, and there are only.
You have to go to Setting -> Manage Applications -> On SDCard, and move some a.
Please wait while booting ubuntu.img.. This can take some time...*

Does anyone can explain me why ubuntu dont boot after waiting for 30 min?


EDIT: It work now, it just don't say if the loading is OK. So I was waiting for nothing...
For me the same first, but then I understood the way. I get the 800x480 res .. Great work, thanks. Now I'd like only know how to try ,if possible, the KDE desktop (I don't remember the way to launch it). A great BRAVO for your WORK.
 

Caveman Joe

Member
Mar 19, 2008
11
1
I'm having trouble downloading from the links in the top post - it's going very slow. Any chance of a torrent link?
 

Top Liked Posts

  • There are no posts matching your filters.
  • 14
    Original thread (Thanks Martin Rhodes):
    http://xdaforums.com/showthread.php?t=962023 (Join up original file parts with 7zip)

    Instructions

    Here are direct links to complete .img file and .sh file to be placed into ubuntu folder on root of SD card (Thanks Infinimint)

    http://infinimod.com/projects/fire314/ubuntu-for-android/ubuntu.img
    http://infinimod.com/projects/fire314/ubuntu-for-android/ubuntu.sh

    Ingredients
    ubuntu.img + ubuntu.sh (to be placed in a new folder named ubuntu on the root of your SD card)
    Better Terminal Emulator (or other terminal emulator) + AndroidVNC (or other VNC client) from the market

    To automate one click startup process via Better Terminal Emulator:
    Preferences>Initial command:

    Code:
    export PATH=/data/local/bin:$PATH:.
    su
    cd sdcard/ubuntu
    sh ubuntu.sh

    Or type this for each new session in any terminal emulator:

    Code:
    su
    cd sdcard/ubuntu
    sh ubuntu.sh

    It says .img loading for a bit. Seems like its not doing anything...it wont confirm when its loaded (about a minute in reality)...

    Then I left Terminal running in background while it said it was still loading the img (but don't let it close via task killer or otherwise), held down the hardware menu or home button to switch programs for a bit and connected in via VNC (AndroidVNC)...
    address: localhost, port: 5900, and password: ubuntu ... then hit connect (login details will be saved for next time)...
    its working fine software keyboard etc and at good speed. In menu options select 24bit colour, local mouse, 1:1 scaling and Touchpad only to make navigating menus much easier.

    Normal phone and Android functions should be fine.

    Included applications include Firefox, Thunderbird, Openoffice.org suite, GIMP Image Editor, Emacs Text Editor (geared towards programming), C and C++ build-essential, Java JDK, Python, TeXlive and TeXmaker LaTeX editor, Transmission BitTorrent Client, eVince PDF Viewer, File Manager, Terminal, Image Viewer, Leafpad Text Editor, Synaptic Package Manager and Ubuntu Software Center with all repositories enabled, SSH server, Gnash (GNU flash player for Firefox) among others.

    Short press hardware menu key to get mouse options etc and longpress to bring up software keyboard (using Android VNC).

    Type exit in android terminal emulator to shut down the ubuntu image.

    I am using the Hyperdroid Rom off NAND, overclocked at 1.2ghz and a 16GB class 6 microsd (although it should be independent to all this... worth mentioning)

    9vi784.jpg

    GIMP

    34xjhig.jpg


    Here is Open Office 3.2 on the HD2 using Smart Keyboard Pro from the market.

    Edit 1. I Can use my bluetooth keyboard using this nandroid rom to edit open office etc

    Edit 2. I can make full screen editing on my PC monitor/TV through connecting it via USB.

    2u9kdhg.jpg

    HD2 USB connected to a r3610 hanging behind a 42" HDTV connected through HDMI. Using my desktop keyboard and mouse. The Mouse scroll button and right click work just as they would on desktop!

    Connect via usb to PC and enable usb debugging on your phone, needs android sdk installed on PC, then you run from pc command line

    Code:
    adb forward tcp:5900 tcp:5900

    and you should be able to create a vnc conection from your pc (recommend TightVNC) to:

    Code:
    127.0.0.1:5900   [U]or type[/U]   localhost:5900

    and use password ubuntu displayed on your monitor or TV. Wireless solution.

    In fact, you can use the same method to mirror the Android system using 'Droid VNC' server from the market.

    Edit 3. Can also just connect straight to the device via VNC over WIFI but its slightly slower.
    Type ifconfig into lxde terminal to find WIFI address, use your desktop VNC viewer (recommend TightVNC) and password ubuntu to log in.

    Edit 4. Bluetooth mouse control with cursor now works as well (but its a bit jerky), works much better with 'Remote VNC Pro' from the market selecting use external mouse.

    Edit 5. Can only seem to pair bluetooth mouse and keyboard input simultaneously using BlueInput.

    4hyrgo.jpg


    Edit 6. To fit whole ubuntu display area onto HD2 screen (as above) or to otherwise change screen res via LXDE terminal:
    Code:
    export USER=root
    vncserver -geometry 800x480
    Restart AndroidVNC but connect to port 5901. You can automate this process by adding it to the end of the Better Terminal Emulator Initial Command script i.e
    Code:
    export PATH=/data/local/bin:$PATH:.
    su
    cd sdcard/ubuntu
    sh ubuntu.sh
    export USER=root
    vncserver -geometry 800x480

    Just remember to connect on port 5901 instead of 5900 using VNC subsequently.
    4
    Download Link

    http://d-h.st/Hff
    I would suggest you use a download manager, it is 1.5Gb.
    I will remove at OP's request.
    Enjoy
    3
    Can someone please zip the .img file, downloading 3.5Gb is really killing my connection...

    downloading from martin rhodes thread also have a problem, megaupload really slow... if someone have mediafire, i will be very thankfull...

    thank you very much if some one can help...

    Here you go: http://hotfile.com/dl/92426365/63801e6/hd2-ubuntu_0.3.zip.html
    3
    I redownload all zips and again got error
    archive is corrupt or damaged
    try with 7zip but with no luck
    Ok mate, will upload my ones.
    Edit; here you go. I will remove if OP requests
    http://d-h.st/3Uc
    http://d-h.st/IXs
    http://d-h.st/s82
    http://d-h.st/9XJ
    Don't know why my name is not on upload page, could not have signed in.
    1
    You're talking about the one for android right? I;m talking about adobe flash in ubuntu linux..... not android.... that is, this version of ubuntu linux on the hd2.....

    Try going here: http://www.psychocats.net/ubuntu/flash. It should work. Hope it helps.:)