Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
View Poll Results: Has this made your keyboard more responsive?
Yes 112 88.19%
No 15 11.81%
Voters: 127. You may not vote on this poll

Post Reply

[Tweak] Impaled Keyboard Patch Fix | Flashable Reboot-Proof Fix and Speed Demon Mode!

OP theimpaler747

7th April 2011, 04:51 AM   |  #1  
theimpaler747's Avatar
OP Retired Forum Moderator / Retired Recognized Developer
Flag The Ninth Circle of Dante's Inferno
Thanks Meter: 2,677
 
21,289 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
Donate to Me
More
This is now included in SFR and Anova's Rom!

Even though most customs roms now have the wonderful keyboard patch posted by mkasick here, I've found that almost all of them still drop keys. But, with some experimenting, I believe I've found the perfect value to set the key timer at

If you want to make these settings stick at boot, flash my handy dandy zip attached to this post. Credit to the method goes to user_none. If you flash and still get occational dropped keys, it's because you're a typing beast. Flashing the speed demon version should fix it 100% for you

If you want to do it manually, or try it out first, use the command below:
  • Download terminal emulator from the market
  • Open it up
  • Code:
    su
    echo 5 > /sys/devices/platform/s3c-keypad/timer_delay
  • Should be good! Marvel in the ability to type as fast and accurately as you'd like on the Epic's keyboard

If this Impaled tip has helped you, toss me a thanks

Need a how-to? Big thanks to qbking77 for this video guide!

Attached Files
File Type: zip ImpaledKeyboardTweak.zip - [Click for QR Code] (156.8 KB, 1509 views)
File Type: zip ImpaledKeyboardTweakSpeedDemonEdition.zip - [Click for QR Code] (156.8 KB, 2806 views)
Last edited by theimpaler747; 27th May 2011 at 05:55 AM.
The Following 101 Users Say Thank You to theimpaler747 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
7th April 2011, 04:53 AM   |  #2  
qbking77's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Elgin, IL
Thanks Meter: 5,185
 
2,697 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by theimpaler747

Even though most customs roms now have the wonderful keyboard patch posted by mkasick, I've found that almost all of them still drop keys. But, with some experimenting, I believe I've found the perfect value to set the key timer at

  • Download terminal emulator from the market
  • Open it up
  • Code:
    su
    echo 5 > /sys/devices/platform/s3c-keypad/timer_delay
  • Should be good! Marvel in the ability to type as fast and accurately as you'd like on the Epic's keyboard

If this Impaled tip has helped you, help me get to 1,000 thanks

OMGOMGOMG I'm frantically installing terminal emulator to try this! THANK YOU!
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to qbking77 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
7th April 2011, 04:55 AM   |  #3  
theimpaler747's Avatar
OP Retired Forum Moderator / Retired Recognized Developer
Flag The Ninth Circle of Dante's Inferno
Thanks Meter: 2,677
 
21,289 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by qbking77

OMGOMGOMG I'm frantically installing terminal emulator to try this! THANK YOU!

Not a problem, let me know how it goes! And if it works, don't forget to utilize that button
The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to theimpaler747 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
7th April 2011, 04:57 AM   |  #4  
snowmanwithahat's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Michigan
Thanks Meter: 36
 
549 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
It should be stated, (last time I read this thread it wasn't) that this does require a rooted rom.

It's implied and obvious, yes, but someone is bound to ask.
7th April 2011, 04:58 AM   |  #5  
063_XOBX's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag ლ(ಠ益ಠლ)
Thanks Meter: 1,751
 
7,444 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
I see a definite improvement, the only issue now seems to be getting used to using a hard keyboard again before I can really assess any change.
7th April 2011, 04:59 AM   |  #6  
qbking77's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Elgin, IL
Thanks Meter: 5,185
 
2,697 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by theimpaler747

Not a problem, let me know how it goes! And if it works, don't forget to utilize that button

I tried to hit it, I used my 5 thanks for the day.... Came back to this thread, forgot I used them and tried it again haha... don't worry, I'll be back tomorrow to fight my thanks button nemesis
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to qbking77 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
7th April 2011, 04:59 AM   |  #7  
theimpaler747's Avatar
OP Retired Forum Moderator / Retired Recognized Developer
Flag The Ninth Circle of Dante's Inferno
Thanks Meter: 2,677
 
21,289 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by snowmanwithahat

It should be stated, (last time I read this thread it wasn't) that this does require a rooted rom.

It's implied and obvious, yes, but someone is bound to ask.

Yes, and I do say it requires a compatible kernel

Quote:
Originally Posted by 063_XOBX

I see a definite improvement, the only issue now seems to be getting used to using a hard keyboard again before I can really assess any change.

Lol, true true, at least it's actually an option now
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to theimpaler747 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
7th April 2011, 04:59 AM   |  #8  
theimpaler747's Avatar
OP Retired Forum Moderator / Retired Recognized Developer
Flag The Ninth Circle of Dante's Inferno
Thanks Meter: 2,677
 
21,289 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by qbking77

I tried to hit it, I used my 5 thanks for the day.... Came back to this thread, forgot I used them and tried it again haha... don't worry, I'll be back tomorrow to fight my thanks button nemesis

Lol, no worries, and for that, I thank you
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to theimpaler747 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
7th April 2011, 05:01 AM   |  #9  
snowmanwithahat's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Michigan
Thanks Meter: 36
 
549 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
Quote:

cannot create /sys/devices/platforms3c-keypad/timer_delay: directory nonexistent

Still on EB13. Is this directory supposed to exist?

I haven't applied and keypad fixes yet.
7th April 2011, 05:02 AM   |  #10  
theimpaler747's Avatar
OP Retired Forum Moderator / Retired Recognized Developer
Flag The Ninth Circle of Dante's Inferno
Thanks Meter: 2,677
 
21,289 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by snowmanwithahat

Still on EB13. Is this directory supposed to exist?

I haven't applied and keypad fixes yet.

If you don't have a compatible kernel with the tweak, then no this will not work, as I explain in the OP. Most new kernels however, are compatible

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to theimpaler747 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
epic, epic 4g, epic keyboard, froyo, impaled, impaled fix, impaled tweak, keyboard, keyboard fix, keyboard tweak, theimpaler, theimpaler747
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes