5,606,297 Members 32,014 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[TIPS] Improve Screen Sensitivity Of Your WinMo (.cab) UPDATE 25/4/11

Tip us?
 
olyloh6696
Old
(Last edited by olyloh6696; 25th April 2011 at 03:08 PM.)
#1  
olyloh6696's Avatar
Recognized Contributor - OP
Thanks Meter 1544
Posts: 7,562
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Southport
Exclamation [TIPS] Improve Screen Sensitivity Of Your WinMo (.cab) UPDATE 25/4/11

Hi,

I have found tips over the forums on how to improve the screen sensitivity of your WinMo resistive touchscreen

1) When calibrating your screen, tap the cursor hairs as accurately and as lightly as possible. I use a toothpick for this, it has a fine tip. You will notice immediately how much more responsive your screen is!

2) Another method I found was:

a) Install Attached .cab / Reg Tweak
b) Soft Reset
c) Be Amazed at your Screen Sensitivity!

This is a little .cab file / reg tweak created by kevinpwhite (all credits to him)

EDIT: Many people in the thread have said that it has calibrated their screen wrong and they can't navigate it (cab/reg) This has resulted in a hard reset to get the touchscreen back(due to different touchscreen resolutions etc) I will investigate more into this and create a new version, if possible. Please use it at your own risk, and be sure to create a backup of your device.

Quote:
Originally by Reix2x
Quote:
Hi, dudes, my HTC WIZARD gets "untouchable" after this installation, but i found the way to solve it! =D

1- Download: CeRegEdit (u can found it on Google, with this u can explore your mobile reg trough your PC)
2- Open it (with your cell phone connected in ActiveSync)
3- Go to Tools, and select "Unlock registry" (your registry will be "Editable")
4- Navigate to:[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\HARDWARE\DEVICEMAP\TOUCH] and change this values to your defaults:
"CalibrationData" and "MaxCalError" (you have to found the values for your phone, here in XDA i foud the values for my phone)
5- Softreset

I hope to help someone, and i hope than no one had to make an horrible hardreset
This was created specifically for the TG01, but i think that the WinMo stored values are the same across all devices. It simply changes a reg key to increase the screen pressure to the max.

Please give me feedback if it works for you!

Please hit the THANKS BUTTON if you like this!
Attached Files
File Type: zip Screen_Cal.zip - [Click for QR Code] (385 Bytes, 766 views)
File Type: cab ScreenCal.cab - [Click for QR Code] (339 Bytes, 1547 views)
Google Nexus 4 Stock Jelly Bean 4.3
Ployer Momo20 Quad Stock Jelly Bean 4.2.2
HTC Desire S Andromadus Jelly Bean 4.2.2

If This Post Has Helped, Press
Thanks!
The Following 19 Users Say Thank You to olyloh6696 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
insomnia+
Old
#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: Mar 2011
well, this just ****ed over my omnia, and i can't access it from my computer as i dont have a connect cable. any tips on how to bring it back to normal without hard reset?
 
olyloh6696
Old
#3  
olyloh6696's Avatar
Recognized Contributor - OP
Thanks Meter 1544
Posts: 7,562
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Southport
Quote:
Originally Posted by insomnia+ View Post
well, this just ****ed over my omnia, and i can't access it from my computer as i dont have a connect cable. any tips on how to bring it back to normal without hard reset?
please read the xda rules... no bad language.

This cannot possibly cause ANY damage. i have tested it on various winmo devices (touch hd etc) if so, explain?

Also describe your problem better. how is that gooing to help me, by just saying it ________ my Omnia!
Google Nexus 4 Stock Jelly Bean 4.3
Ployer Momo20 Quad Stock Jelly Bean 4.2.2
HTC Desire S Andromadus Jelly Bean 4.2.2

If This Post Has Helped, Press
Thanks!
 
olyloh6696
Old
#4  
olyloh6696's Avatar
Recognized Contributor - OP
Thanks Meter 1544
Posts: 7,562
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Southport
Quote:
Originally Posted by olyloh6696 View Post
please read the xda rules... no bad language.

This cannot possibly cause ANY damage. i have tested it on various winmo devices (touch hd etc) if so, explain?

Also describe your problem better. how is that gooing to help me, by just saying it ________ my Omnia!
any feedback from anybody? Quite a few downloads butno response to whether it actually works!
Google Nexus 4 Stock Jelly Bean 4.3
Ployer Momo20 Quad Stock Jelly Bean 4.2.2
HTC Desire S Andromadus Jelly Bean 4.2.2

If This Post Has Helped, Press
Thanks!
 
reykaivory
Old
#5  
reykaivory's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 1
Join Date: Dec 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by olyloh6696 View Post
any feedback from anybody? Quite a few downloads butno response to whether it actually works!
i've tested in my O2 LIFE WM6, at the first time i got trouble, i couldnt tap my screen well. when i tapped all screen, it connected to bottom right screen.
i used my navigation button to reach the SETTING-SYSTEM-SCREEN-ALIGN SCREEN.
the align screen works. then i used a srynge to calibrate it (dont try this at home), the final result is........
WORKS GREAT LIKE A CHARM!!
my screen becomes more sensitive! I dont need my stylus anymore, with resco keybord typing is so much fun.
THANK YOU..
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to reykaivory For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
olyloh6696
Old
#6  
olyloh6696's Avatar
Recognized Contributor - OP
Thanks Meter 1544
Posts: 7,562
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Southport
Quote:
Originally Posted by reykaivory View Post
i've tested in my O2 LIFE WM6, at the first time i got trouble, i couldnt tap my screen well. when i tapped all screen, it connected to bottom right screen.
i used my navigation button to reach the SETTING-SYSTEM-SCREEN-ALIGN SCREEN.
the align screen works. then i used a srynge to calibrate it (dont try this at home), the final result is........
WORKS GREAT LIKE A CHARM!!
my screen becomes more sensitive! I dont need my stylus anymore, with resco keybord typing is so much fun.
THANK YOU..
Glad it works mate!
Google Nexus 4 Stock Jelly Bean 4.3
Ployer Momo20 Quad Stock Jelly Bean 4.2.2
HTC Desire S Andromadus Jelly Bean 4.2.2

If This Post Has Helped, Press
Thanks!
 
babak_1274
Old
#7  
babak_1274's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 119
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Tehran
I cannot get what is the deal?
 
olyloh6696
Old
#8  
olyloh6696's Avatar
Recognized Contributor - OP
Thanks Meter 1544
Posts: 7,562
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Southport
Quote:
Originally Posted by babak_1274 View Post
I cannot get what is the deal?
this sets your screen sensitivity to the maximum allowed pressure point. So your resisitive touch screen will require a light touch to register changes.

This is what loads of people complain about? Poor screen sensitivity? So try this out!!
Google Nexus 4 Stock Jelly Bean 4.3
Ployer Momo20 Quad Stock Jelly Bean 4.2.2
HTC Desire S Andromadus Jelly Bean 4.2.2

If This Post Has Helped, Press
Thanks!
 
Daved+
Old
#9  
Daved+'s Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 20
Posts: 379
Join Date: May 2008
I didn't feel any difference in my Rhodium...
Say thanks by clicking on the Thanks button!

Samsung T-Mobile Note III x 2, Samsung Galaxy Gear, B&N Nook HD+, Samsung S4, LG Optimus G Pro, LG Optimus G, Samsung I9000B, HTC Rhodium, HTC Touch, HTC Raphael, HTC Mogul, HTC Apache, Pantech Hero, Samsung Drift, Samsung Heat, Curitel TX-55C, Moto V3i, Moto V3, Moto V3620, Moto Lite II, etc, etc
 
olyloh6696
Old
#10  
olyloh6696's Avatar
Recognized Contributor - OP
Thanks Meter 1544
Posts: 7,562
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Southport
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daved+ View Post
I didn't feel any difference in my Rhodium...
which method did you use?
Google Nexus 4 Stock Jelly Bean 4.3
Ployer Momo20 Quad Stock Jelly Bean 4.2.2
HTC Desire S Andromadus Jelly Bean 4.2.2

If This Post Has Helped, Press
Thanks!

Tags
galaxy, htc, screen, tg01, toshiba
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes