Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,736,888 Members 52,911 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Fix For Dinc BootLoop with no recovery from NVRam Update

Tip us?
 
dknlght
Old
(Last edited by dknlght; 29th February 2012 at 03:39 AM.) Reason: new link
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 28
Join Date: Sep 2007
Thumbs up Fix For Dinc BootLoop with no recovery from NVRam Update

I finally successfully recovered my BootLooped Incredible after i incorrectly updated the NV item of my phone. My situation was a little different than most bootloop error because no matter which stock rom or recovery image I flash nothing would stop it from rebooting because the NV items weren't overwritten during the flash. Then I came across a solution for the EVO by cutthroatamft on how he recovered his EVO from the same Mistake but unfortunately all his files were geared toward the EVO. After much searching I accidentally came across a single comment that posted a link for the ENG-HBOOT for the incredible. Now i manage to replace all the EVO specific files with the Dinc equivalent. Below is the link to the files and instructions compile by cutthroatamft but I updated it for the Dinc. Hopefully this helps someone else that has this problem. can't post a live link but I think you can figure it out

update:

Since megaupload is down and Had some people asking for a re-up here's a mediafire link to the file

http://www.mediafire.com/?cu7hu6pu75zvskh

Also as mentioned below by eljean this should work on the SLCD as well it's just your screen will be blank during the process. For those who has this Dinc I found that if the screen is blank wait a few minutes for it to fully boot then test to see if you can execute any ADB command. If you can the just type "adb reboot oem-78" this will reboot it and put it in fastboot mode which will allow you to execute the commands in the document.

update 2:
Nevermind what I said about the ADB... this worked for me on another phone but I realize you'll probably won't get to a point where you can execute the command because your phone in a loop LOL. So I guess getting to fastboot blind folded is your only option
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to dknlght For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
tdiman
Old
#2  
tdiman's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 39
Posts: 288
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Dedham, MA
Quote:
Originally Posted by dknlght View Post
I finally successfully recovered my BootLooped Incredible after i incorrectly updated the NV item of my phone. My situation was a little different than most bootloop error because no matter which stock rom or recovery image I flash nothing would stop it from rebooting because the NV items weren't overwritten during the flash. Then I came across a solution for the EVO by cutthroatamft on how he recovered his EVO from the same Mistake but unfortunately all his files were geared toward the EVO. After much searching I accidentally came across a single comment that posted a link for the ENG-HBOOT for the incredible. Now i manage to replace all the EVO specific files with the Dinc equivalent. Below is the link to the files and instructions compile by cutthroatamft but I updated it for the Dinc. Hopefully this helps someone else that has this problem. can't post a live link but I think you can figure it out

www megaupload . com /?d=RCZBCDDA
That's a great find and good little zip/guide to get it set up.

The engineering HBOOT can be quite useful for many things besides flashing/erasing certain partitions. The inc community just hasn't used it that much.

Moto X Custom ~*~ Verizon
 
doug piston
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 57
Posts: 255
Join Date: Mar 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by tdiman View Post
That's a great find and good little zip/guide to get it set up.

The engineering HBOOT can be quite useful for many things besides flashing/erasing certain partitions. The inc community just hasn't used it that much.
.77 Will not work on a Slcd Inc, if on Slcd we have no eng
 
mattjt21
Old
#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 19
Join Date: Sep 2009
HELP, I am having this problem with my incredible with an SLCD i put the .77 hboot on and then put the other zip in. I couldnt see the screen so i put it in fastboot by memory. I got remote failed errors the entire time.

Should I try putting the evo Hboot on this. I have no idea what else to do.
 
bradsinram
Old
#5  
bradsinram's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 43
Posts: 590
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: des moines ia
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattjt21 View Post
HELP, I am having this problem with my incredible with an SLCD i put the .77 hboot on and then put the other zip in. I couldnt see the screen so i put it in fastboot by memory. I got remote failed errors the entire time.

Should I try putting the evo Hboot on this. I have no idea what else to do.
DO NOT USE EVO HBOOT
I don't know how to help you but I'm almost 100 percent sure that will brick it

Sent from my DROIDX using XDA App

HTC rezound
HTC droid incredible
HTC droid incredible two
HTC vogue
Motorola droid x
Amazon kindle fire
 
SteveG12543
Old
#6  
SteveG12543's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 365
Posts: 2,105
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Dover, DE

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattjt21 View Post
HELP, I am having this problem with my incredible with an SLCD i put the .77 hboot on and then put the other zip in. I couldnt see the screen so i put it in fastboot by memory. I got remote failed errors the entire time.

Should I try putting the evo Hboot on this. I have no idea what else to do.
The guy above you kinda said .77 won't work with SLCD... I honestly don't know how to fix that, but do NOT flash an Evo HBOOT.

I don't wanna come back and see you saying you flashed it anyways lol.

Sent from my Droid Incredible running CM7.0.3.


 
eljean
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 96
Posts: 393
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Bronx
im sorry to revive an old thread but I cant seem to do this everytime I try to execute a command it responds with

FAILED (Remote: Not allowed)

any help?
 
masully1984
Old
#8  
Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter 22
Posts: 384
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Boot poop?

Sent from my Synergy Rom
 
eljean
Old
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 96
Posts: 393
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Bronx
Quote:
Originally Posted by masully1984 View Post
Boot poop?

Sent from my Synergy Rom
ummm what?
 
eljean
Old
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 96
Posts: 393
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Bronx
OMFG MAN I LOVE U SO MUCH !!! I FIXED IT !!

The error I was making is that the Hboot you provided is within a .zip file but I didnt know and then I saw. It turned the screen all black because I have a SLCD Incredible but then I just did everything basically blind folded. You just saved me $200 !!! I EFFIN LOVE U MAN, WHENEVER U COME TO NYC WE PARTYIN BRO !!!!

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes