ToqAN Fixes Android 5.0 Notification Bug on Qualcomm Toq

The Qualcomm Toq is probably one of the lesser known smartwatches on the market … more

How to Root and Unlock the Google Nexus 6 on a Mac – XDA TV

In the past, XDA Developer TV Producer droidmodd3rx has shown you how to … more

Set Up Your MediaTek Device with Comprehensive Beginner’s Guide

As can be seen with the use of MediaTek chips in Android One devices … more

Sony Updates AOSP Sources to Android 5.0.1

Just a few days ago, Sony did an utterly fantastic job by pushing out numerous device trees for … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Phone won't turn on unless plugged in

OP iamnotafanofgravel

21st November 2011, 10:47 PM   |  #11  
xwhofarted's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 44
 
209 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Some times the USB port gets gunk in it, try taking a piece of paper fold it a few times make sure the width is like half the size of the usb micro jack and slide it in to the usb port. fold it so it is snug but not tight move back and forth, do both top and bottom of the port but be careful on the thin side. basically your cleaning the contacts to remove and film.

Good Luck

If that still doesn't do the job chances are it's a hardware issue.
17th January 2012, 05:03 AM   |  #12  
Junior Member
Flag Austin
Thanks Meter: 2
 
25 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by iamnotafanofgravel

I forgot about this thread. My problem is when the phone is turned off, it will not turn on unless its plugged in. you push the power button and you see a picture of an empty battery. You plug it in and wait for the battery to turn green, and the phone will fire right up. Tried a new battery, and nothing. I am going to call vzw and see what they say.

This is a very accurate description of the issue. I too am having the problem however it is on AT&T captivate. In my case, it only occurs when I am using a MIUI ROM. I have flashed multiple ROMS, both prior to and after discovering the problem and only have this issue when using MIUI ROM (Which is awesome in every other way). Two other things I would note. I have purchased another battery and it behaves identically, and MIUI drains batteries like a mother. Even swapping out a completely charged battery does not resolve the issue. Maybe someone brighter can explain how the phone "reads" the battery charge level while off.
17th January 2012, 05:07 AM   |  #13  
drumtrucker's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag trucking USA (except CA)
Thanks Meter: 21
 
152 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
does anyone have this problem with 'stock' phone?
27th January 2012, 12:28 AM   |  #14  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
I'm having the exact same issue with my Continuum. Thought maybe the USB port had issues, but it charges a battery just fine. It just won't acknowledge it's charged and turn on unless it's connected to a power source. Without a cable plugged in it just shows the big empty battery icon with a non-moving progress wheel on top of it for 3-4 seconds then screen goes black. With a cable plugged in it displays that, then changes to show the true charge of the battery at which time I can start up the phone. I restored my phone to factory defaults earlier today, but this problem persists.

Has anybody found any solution to this?
28th January 2012, 12:51 PM   |  #15  
neh4pres's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 467
 
2,140 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by drumtrucker

does anyone have this problem with 'stock' phone?

My friends did this last year. It was a hardware issue afaik

Sent from my SCH-I500 using xda premium
28th March 2012, 11:57 PM   |  #16  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
23 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
I have the same issue with my Samsung Epic. Anyone find a fix?
30th March 2012, 04:06 PM   |  #17  
Jaxidian's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Indianapolis
Thanks Meter: 221
 
719 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
I also have this problem. I have discovered, however, that while I must plug the phone into a USB cable, that USB cable need not be plugged into a power source or anything at all. I can reliably (100% of the time) power up with a USB cable just laying in my drawer. I can also reliably (100% of the time) not power up without plugging into a USB cable.

In other news, I have also discovered that certain low-level actions tends to screw up lots of things. I can Odin just fine. I can flash ROMs, kernels, etc. just fine. However, I cannot restore a nandroid. Whenever I restore a nandroid, as best as I can tell, my partitioning gets all jacked up. When this happens, I can't do anything but boot into recovery (although once this happens, I can no longer flash ROMs) or Odin. Doing a full Odin flash restores functionality (in the sense that we all see where we need a USB cable to boot up), though. So ultimately, I think these phones have defective memory and that's what is ultimately causing this.

I bought this phone a couple days ago for $100 so I'm not out much (and can probably get most of that back even acknowledging the issues). Sure would have been nice for that person to have told me there were these issues. But oh well. C'est la vie!

---------- Post added at 10:06 AM ---------- Previous post was at 10:03 AM ----------

BTW, curious, what radio are you all using? I have only used EH03. I haven't yet tried EC09...

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes