Android Lollipop Lands for the Sony Xperia Z Ultra

The undisputed king of the beasts–at least in Sony’s current stable,is the … more

Android 5.0 Lollipop in 3D–EVO 3D, That Is!

It is that time of the year once again. Flowers bloom (or snow falls, depending on which … more

Gaming Console with Lollipop? Ouya Gets an Android TV Port

Android is a very flexible platform, and it can be used on a large variety of … more

Android App Review: Manage Your Connections Automagically – XDA TV

Material Design is all the buzz in the Android world right now. … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Stuck at the Fastboot protocol support

OP rafyperez

15th April 2011, 03:20 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
I trying to unlock my XOOM WIFI from COSTCO, when I ran the command

adb reboot bootloader

The XOOM reboots show the message STARTING FaSTboot protocol support and stuck in there, I have to VOL UP & Power to reset it.

What I am doing wrong.?

I do not want to do the ONE CLICK to avoid wiping the machine completely.

Do I need to wipe it the first time?
15th April 2011, 07:04 AM   |  #2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
you need to have fastboot in your machine, then you can run:

fastboot oem unlock

it will ask you to use volume up/down keys to confirm "twice" the terms of service and will unlock it for you.
please not that unlocking it will void your warranty right away, so unless you are a developer or have a very good reason to do so, I would not recommend it.
15th April 2011, 10:28 PM   |  #3  
stbbrat's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
94 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
You are doing it right.

adb reboot bootloader

is supposed to bring you to "Starting Fastboot protoco"l screen. Just continue and enter the commands as the instructions entail. If this is the first time you are rooting the device though you will end up wiping everything fyi.
Last edited by stbbrat; 15th April 2011 at 10:34 PM.
15th April 2011, 10:45 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Flag NJ
Thanks Meter: 22
 
197 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2008
Donate to Me
More
ubuntu and fastboot....waiting for device
I am running Ubuntu 10.10. When I do adb reboot bootloader....when I run any fastboot command it says <Waiting for Device>…do I need to install USB drivers and how would I do that on Ubuntu.

Any help would be greatly appreciated...
15th April 2011, 11:13 PM   |  #5  
stbbrat's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
94 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
Type in adb devices.
Does it list your device there?
Most likely it's a driver issue when it says "waiting for device."

I know nothing about ubuntu though so i wont be any help getting those drivers installed.
16th April 2011, 02:24 AM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Flag NJ
Thanks Meter: 22
 
197 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2008
Donate to Me
More
Yes it does before I get into the bootloader. After I get into the bootloader I get nothing.

Sent from my PC36100 using XDA Premium App
17th April 2011, 03:27 PM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
adb not reconized
Hello First thank you soo much for this wonderful information.
Sorry in advance if i am just not smart enough to follow your wonderful directions on how to overclock but when i put in adb my Command prompt says it is unreconizable and will not get past that. it is rooted i did that the other day thx
17th April 2011, 07:19 PM   |  #8  
Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
78 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmchristian

Hello First thank you soo much for this wonderful information.
Sorry in advance if i am just not smart enough to follow your wonderful directions on how to overclock but when i put in adb my Command prompt says it is unreconizable and will not get past that. it is rooted i did that the other day thx

Make sure you are running the commands from the directory on your computer that the adb file is in. For example, make sure you do a CD "\Program Files\Android\android-sdk\tools" if that is where adb and all the necessary files are.
22nd April 2011, 07:22 AM   |  #9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
thx for reply
Thought I did ill try again this weekend to over clock my xoom never was good at dos.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
fastboot, xoom wifi
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes