Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[HOWTO] Change the HTC BootSplash

OP blackburn29

15th April 2011, 08:47 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 42
 
33 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2009
Donate to Me
More
I know this has been posted before, but I figured I'd make my own version and share it with the community.


2 Images that I made, feel free to use, but please give credit when needed!



Requirements: Fastboot/ADB, Root, S-OFF ENG, NBIMG HERE, Photo Editing Software(I use photoshop)



First open up your photo software and create a new image that is 480x800.



Edit the photo to your liking and save as splash1.bmp
[File Format: Windows - 24bit]



Now that your image has been created, extract NBIMG to a new folder on your desktop and move the splash1.bmp that you just created into the folder.



Open up a CMD prompt window by Shift+Right Clicking in blank space inside the folder, then click Open Command Prompt Here.





Type in this command:

Code:
nbimg -F splash1.bmp -w 480 -h 800

Inside of the folder, it should have created a file called "splash1.bmp.nb", rename this to "splash1.img"


YOU HAVE SUCCESSFULLY CREATED YOUR SPLASH SCREEN! TIME TO FLASH IT!



Okay, so now plug your phone into your PC and enable Debugging. (If you do not know how to do this, I do not recommend going any further..)

Open CMD Prompt once again and type:

Code:
adb reboot bootloader


Once your phone reboots, it should be at the Bootloader screen with Fastboot enabled.



Copy your splash1.img into your AndroidSDK folder



Type in this command into CMD Prompt:

Code:
fastboot flash splash1 splash1.img
You should get a few messages that Pop-Up saying "OKAY"


Now type in CMD:

Code:
fastboot reboot
Enjoy your new SplashScreen
I have attached 2 Splash's that I made!

TODO: Add the rest of the pictures.
15th April 2011, 05:01 PM   |  #2  
Recognized Contributor
Flag Brighton IL
Thanks Meter: 551
 
1,667 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
This fails for me:

sending 'splash1' (750 KB)... OKAY
writing 'splash1'... FAILED (remote: not allowed)

I'm rooted and bootloader shows S-OFF
15th April 2011, 05:05 PM   |  #3  
mudknot2005's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Corsicana, Tx
Thanks Meter: 263
 
1,279 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gene Poole

This fails for me:

sending 'splash1' (750 KB)... OKAY
writing 'splash1'... FAILED (remote: not allowed)

I'm rooted and bootloader shows S-OFF

Does your boot loader say eng s-off...

also this should probably be in themes and apps, as it is not a rom.

Good work though.
15th April 2011, 05:18 PM   |  #4  
Recognized Contributor
Flag Brighton IL
Thanks Meter: 551
 
1,667 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mudknot2005

Does your boot loader say eng s-off...

also this should probably be in themes and apps, as it is not a rom.

Good work though.

No. Just S-Off. Does this require the engineering H-BOOT? I skipped that step in the rooting process (said it was optional).

Edit: I see that it mentions ENG S-OFF specifically in the post.
15th April 2011, 06:02 PM   |  #5  
mudknot2005's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Corsicana, Tx
Thanks Meter: 263
 
1,279 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Please refer to my new post in the Themes and Apps section.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes