FORUMS

HTC Delivering Ads Straight to Sense Home

HTC’s 2015 has been a year marked by a desperate search for revenue.The HTC One M9 … more

Galaxy S6 & Edge get €100 Price Cut—New Models Incoming

Samsung has dropped the price of both the Galaxy S6 and S6 Edge by … more

How To Port Fully Featured Sony Xperia Z4 Camera

Xperia Z4’s hardware may not impress, but its software is definitely … more

Experimental TWRP Available For Moto G 2015

XDA Senior Member squid2 has posted experimental builds of TWRP for the Moto G … more

[ROM][4/15/2011][DEV] DZ/G2 Sensation Sense 3.0 Port *Not For General Use*

1,358 posts
Thanks Meter: 4,593
 
By rmk40, Retired Recognized Developer on 15th April 2011, 06:27 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
This is a port of the leaked ROM from the HTC Sensation (new Sense 3.0 device), for the G2/DZ. I have to emphasize, this ROM is far from usable and is largely intended for consumption by other developers. The reason is that the Sensation is a qHD device (960x540 resolution), where our G2/DZs are WVGA. All the alignment is off to the point where key UI elements are frequently off the screen.

Notes about the changes:

- Full wipe of data is REQUIRED prior installing the ROM.
- /system/app relocated to /data/system.app and symlinked back (to make it fit).
- Uses select libs/bins from the Gingerbread leak for G2/DZ (2.30.405.1)
- Kernel 2.6.35.10 from the Gingerbread leak for G2/DZ.
- Added my modded Superuser.
- Removed HTC's Lockscreen (you simply cannot unlock with it in place).

Again, substantial work will be required to make this usable. Please do not download it unless you intend to: a) just tinker with it for fun, b) to start working on adjusting the images and layout for our resolution.

Download Here
(MD5: 94f21ac4d4f90360c914559c18322748)
Last edited by rmk40; 15th April 2011 at 06:43 PM.
The Following 49 Users Say Thank You to rmk40 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
15th April 2011, 06:38 PM |#2  
rmk40's Avatar
OP Retired Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 4,593
 
Donate to Me
More
Reserved for future use.
The Following User Says Thank You to rmk40 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Cimer
15th April 2011, 06:46 PM |#3  
Guest
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Although this is highly unusable I love that you have ported it to the G2! Best of luck fixing issues!
The Following User Says Thank You to For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th April 2011, 07:03 PM |#4  
82_Z28's Avatar
Member
Flag Tempe
Thanks Meter: 9
 
Donate to Me
More
this looks fun to play with **Clicks thanks button**
15th April 2011, 07:34 PM |#5  
DroidHead's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Tampa, Fl
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
They have it (alpha) on the Desire HD ... I posted the link in the Sensation Dev thread.

If that is WVGA, isn't there a way to pull their resolution and use it for the Vision?
15th April 2011, 07:47 PM |#6  
rmk40's Avatar
OP Retired Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 4,593
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by DroidHead

They have it (alpha) on the Desire HD ... I posted the link in the Sensation Dev thread.

If that is WVGA, isn't there a way to pull their resolution and use it for the Vision?

They're in the same boat right now. If it gets fixed on any device, we can pull the changes over easily.
The Following User Says Thank You to rmk40 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th April 2011, 07:59 PM |#7  
Senior Member
Flag Ft. Lauderdale Florida
Thanks Meter: 19
 
More
First off...Dude thanks for jumping on this so soon....I think the Sensation is the only thing in the market out or coming out, that would make me even consider dropping my G2. It seems like a sweet piece of hardware, and that Sense ROM looks awesome! (and I am not a big sense fan, yet!)

Quote:
Originally Posted by rmk40

This is a port of the leaked ROM from the HTC Sensation (new Sense 3.0 device), for the G2/DZ. I have to emphasize, this ROM is far from usable and is largely intended for consumption by other developers. The reason is that the Sensation is a qHD device (960x540 resolution), where our G2/DZs are WVGA....

Wold LCD Density have anything to do with this....LCD Density is akin to resolution on a reg monitor, so could you modify LCD to get more "surface area"?
15th April 2011, 08:05 PM |#8  
rmk40's Avatar
OP Retired Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 4,593
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crey23

Wold LCD Density have anything to do with this....LCD Density is akin to resolution on a reg monitor, so could you modify LCD to get more "surface area"?

Unfortunately no, the density doesn't help at all. That's the first thing I tried after booting the ROM.
15th April 2011, 08:42 PM |#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 20
 
More
can't wait to tinker with this, i wish i was a dev though =/..but ill gladly be a tester
15th April 2011, 08:45 PM |#10  
Account currently disabled
Flag Glasgow
Thanks Meter: 56
 
Donate to Me
More
Fudge the UI shimone, imma flash this muthabuzza right this fuzzin minute!!

After it downloads of course. =(

Sent from my HTC Desire Z using Tapatalk
15th April 2011, 08:50 PM |#11  
enserio's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag California
Thanks Meter: 22
 
More
We got some of the best and highly dedicated devs in this here G2 forum. This dude rmk is all over any sense ruu that's leaked. Awesome job, all I could do is hit thanks and rate 5 star.

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes