Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,808,901 Members 51,717 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[ROM][4/15/2011][DEV] DZ/G2 Sensation Sense 3.0 Port *Not For General Use*

Tip us?
 
rmk40
Old
(Last edited by rmk40; 15th April 2011 at 06:43 PM.)
#1  
rmk40's Avatar
Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 4,591
Posts: 1,358
Join Date: Jun 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Default [ROM][4/15/2011][DEV] DZ/G2 Sensation Sense 3.0 Port *Not For General Use*

This is a port of the leaked ROM from the HTC Sensation (new Sense 3.0 device), for the G2/DZ. I have to emphasize, this ROM is far from usable and is largely intended for consumption by other developers. The reason is that the Sensation is a qHD device (960x540 resolution), where our G2/DZs are WVGA. All the alignment is off to the point where key UI elements are frequently off the screen.

Notes about the changes:

- Full wipe of data is REQUIRED prior installing the ROM.
- /system/app relocated to /data/system.app and symlinked back (to make it fit).
- Uses select libs/bins from the Gingerbread leak for G2/DZ (2.30.405.1)
- Kernel 2.6.35.10 from the Gingerbread leak for G2/DZ.
- Added my modded Superuser.
- Removed HTC's Lockscreen (you simply cannot unlock with it in place).

Again, substantial work will be required to make this usable. Please do not download it unless you intend to: a) just tinker with it for fun, b) to start working on adjusting the images and layout for our resolution.

Download Here
(MD5: 94f21ac4d4f90360c914559c18322748)
The Following 49 Users Say Thank You to rmk40 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
rmk40
Old
#2  
rmk40's Avatar
Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 4,591
Posts: 1,358
Join Date: Jun 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Reserved for future use.
The Following User Says Thank You to rmk40 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Cimer Old
#3  
Guest
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: n/a
Although this is highly unusable I love that you have ported it to the G2! Best of luck fixing issues!
The Following User Says Thank You to For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
82_Z28
Old
#4  
82_Z28's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 45
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Tempe

 
DONATE TO ME
this looks fun to play with **Clicks thanks button**
T-Mobile G2 / HTC Vision
Rom= Sensored Blizzard V1.0
Recovery= ClockworkMod 5.0.2.7
Kernel= 2.6.35.14-UNITY-V10-g6b8d035
Radio= 26.10.04.03_M
HBoot= Vision PVT ENG S-OFF - 0.84.2000
 
DroidHead
Old
#5  
DroidHead's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 291
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Tampa, Fl
They have it (alpha) on the Desire HD ... I posted the link in the Sensation Dev thread.

If that is WVGA, isn't there a way to pull their resolution and use it for the Vision?




 
rmk40
Old
#6  
rmk40's Avatar
Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 4,591
Posts: 1,358
Join Date: Jun 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by DroidHead View Post
They have it (alpha) on the Desire HD ... I posted the link in the Sensation Dev thread.

If that is WVGA, isn't there a way to pull their resolution and use it for the Vision?
They're in the same boat right now. If it gets fixed on any device, we can pull the changes over easily.
The Following User Says Thank You to rmk40 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Crey23
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 19
Posts: 406
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Ft. Lauderdale Florida
First off...Dude thanks for jumping on this so soon....I think the Sensation is the only thing in the market out or coming out, that would make me even consider dropping my G2. It seems like a sweet piece of hardware, and that Sense ROM looks awesome! (and I am not a big sense fan, yet!)

Quote:
Originally Posted by rmk40 View Post
This is a port of the leaked ROM from the HTC Sensation (new Sense 3.0 device), for the G2/DZ. I have to emphasize, this ROM is far from usable and is largely intended for consumption by other developers. The reason is that the Sensation is a qHD device (960x540 resolution), where our G2/DZs are WVGA....
Wold LCD Density have anything to do with this....LCD Density is akin to resolution on a reg monitor, so could you modify LCD to get more "surface area"?
AT&T Samsung Galaxy S3 US (i747) - Rooted & Stock

ASUS Transformer TF101 - ICS 4.0.3
__
Prev: BB8900 | BB8520 | BB9700 | BB8100 | htc G2 | Galaxy Note (AT&T) | Droid X
 
rmk40
Old
#8  
rmk40's Avatar
Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 4,591
Posts: 1,358
Join Date: Jun 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crey23 View Post
Wold LCD Density have anything to do with this....LCD Density is akin to resolution on a reg monitor, so could you modify LCD to get more "surface area"?
Unfortunately no, the density doesn't help at all. That's the first thing I tried after booting the ROM.
 
SmartBrother90
Old
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 193
Join Date: Nov 2008
can't wait to tinker with this, i wish i was a dev though =/..but ill gladly be a tester
 
DanWilson
Old
#10  
Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter 56
Posts: 1,313
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Glasgow

 
DONATE TO ME
Fudge the UI shimone, imma flash this muthabuzza right this fuzzin minute!!

After it downloads of course. =(

Sent from my HTC Desire Z using Tapatalk

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes