Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[ROM][4/15/2011][DEV] DZ/G2 Sensation Sense 3.0 Port *Not For General Use*

OP rmk40

15th April 2011, 07:27 PM   |  #1  
rmk40's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 4,592
 
1,358 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Donate to Me
This is a port of the leaked ROM from the HTC Sensation (new Sense 3.0 device), for the G2/DZ. I have to emphasize, this ROM is far from usable and is largely intended for consumption by other developers. The reason is that the Sensation is a qHD device (960x540 resolution), where our G2/DZs are WVGA. All the alignment is off to the point where key UI elements are frequently off the screen.

Notes about the changes:

- Full wipe of data is REQUIRED prior installing the ROM.
- /system/app relocated to /data/system.app and symlinked back (to make it fit).
- Uses select libs/bins from the Gingerbread leak for G2/DZ (2.30.405.1)
- Kernel 2.6.35.10 from the Gingerbread leak for G2/DZ.
- Added my modded Superuser.
- Removed HTC's Lockscreen (you simply cannot unlock with it in place).

Again, substantial work will be required to make this usable. Please do not download it unless you intend to: a) just tinker with it for fun, b) to start working on adjusting the images and layout for our resolution.

Download Here
(MD5: 94f21ac4d4f90360c914559c18322748)
Last edited by rmk40; 15th April 2011 at 07:43 PM.
The Following 49 Users Say Thank You to rmk40 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th April 2011, 07:38 PM   |  #2  
rmk40's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 4,592
 
1,358 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Donate to Me
Reserved for future use.
The Following User Says Thank You to rmk40 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Cimer
15th April 2011, 07:46 PM   |  #3  
Guest
Thanks Meter: 0
 
n/a posts
Although this is highly unusable I love that you have ported it to the G2! Best of luck fixing issues!
The Following User Says Thank You to For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th April 2011, 08:03 PM   |  #4  
82_Z28's Avatar
Member
Flag Tempe
Thanks Meter: 9
 
45 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Donate to Me
More
this looks fun to play with **Clicks thanks button**
15th April 2011, 08:34 PM   |  #5  
DroidHead's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Tampa, Fl
Thanks Meter: 4
 
291 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2009
More
They have it (alpha) on the Desire HD ... I posted the link in the Sensation Dev thread.

If that is WVGA, isn't there a way to pull their resolution and use it for the Vision?
15th April 2011, 08:47 PM   |  #6  
rmk40's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 4,592
 
1,358 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by DroidHead

They have it (alpha) on the Desire HD ... I posted the link in the Sensation Dev thread.

If that is WVGA, isn't there a way to pull their resolution and use it for the Vision?

They're in the same boat right now. If it gets fixed on any device, we can pull the changes over easily.
The Following User Says Thank You to rmk40 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th April 2011, 08:59 PM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Flag Ft. Lauderdale Florida
Thanks Meter: 19
 
406 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
First off...Dude thanks for jumping on this so soon....I think the Sensation is the only thing in the market out or coming out, that would make me even consider dropping my G2. It seems like a sweet piece of hardware, and that Sense ROM looks awesome! (and I am not a big sense fan, yet!)

Quote:
Originally Posted by rmk40

This is a port of the leaked ROM from the HTC Sensation (new Sense 3.0 device), for the G2/DZ. I have to emphasize, this ROM is far from usable and is largely intended for consumption by other developers. The reason is that the Sensation is a qHD device (960x540 resolution), where our G2/DZs are WVGA....

Wold LCD Density have anything to do with this....LCD Density is akin to resolution on a reg monitor, so could you modify LCD to get more "surface area"?
15th April 2011, 09:05 PM   |  #8  
rmk40's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 4,592
 
1,358 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crey23

Wold LCD Density have anything to do with this....LCD Density is akin to resolution on a reg monitor, so could you modify LCD to get more "surface area"?

Unfortunately no, the density doesn't help at all. That's the first thing I tried after booting the ROM.
15th April 2011, 09:42 PM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
202 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
can't wait to tinker with this, i wish i was a dev though =/..but ill gladly be a tester
15th April 2011, 09:45 PM   |  #10  
Account currently disabled
Flag Glasgow
Thanks Meter: 56
 
1,313 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Donate to Me
More
Fudge the UI shimone, imma flash this muthabuzza right this fuzzin minute!!

After it downloads of course. =(

Sent from my HTC Desire Z using Tapatalk

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes