Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
View Poll Results: Would you like to have the option of a "Desktop UI" web browser?
Yes 311 97.19%
No 9 2.81%
Voters: 320. You may not vote on this poll

Post Reply

please delete

OP Lokifish Marz

17th April 2011, 11:39 AM   |  #1  
Lokifish Marz's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor / Recognized Developer
Flag Olympus Mons, Mars
Thanks Meter: 3,282
 
2,891 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Donate to Me
More
please delete
Last edited by Lokifish Marz; 7th August 2014 at 08:53 PM.
The Following 37 Users Say Thank You to Lokifish Marz For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th April 2011, 12:09 PM   |  #2  
Lokifish Marz's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor / Recognized Developer
Flag Olympus Mons, Mars
Thanks Meter: 3,282
 
2,891 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Donate to Me
More
I will be handling port requests through my website. If there is enough demand and the device can support it, I will work with developers to get this ported to your device. Start a thread in your respective device's forum to see if there is enough demand and refer them to this thread and the website for details.

To make things easier you device needs the following:
The ability to run a CyanogenMod 7 ROM
High resolution video out (HDMI preferred for ease of porting)
Last edited by Lokifish Marz; 22nd April 2011 at 06:28 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to Lokifish Marz For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th April 2011, 12:12 PM   |  #3  
33colburn's Avatar
Member
Flag Columbus, OH
Thanks Meter: 5
 
77 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
More
way cool.
I thought this would be possible when I bought my EVO. I can't wait to try this.

Thanks lokifish
The Following User Says Thank You to 33colburn For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th April 2011, 06:42 PM   |  #4  
Lokifish Marz's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor / Recognized Developer
Flag Olympus Mons, Mars
Thanks Meter: 3,282
 
2,891 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by 33colburn

I thought this would be possible when I bought my EVO. I can't wait to try this.

Thanks lokifish

I actually had something like about ten years ago. I used a Toshiba E740 and the A/V Dock to do it.
17th April 2011, 07:14 PM   |  #5  
Member
Flag Rocklin, CA
Thanks Meter: 4
 
31 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
how about a video in action so we can see what its like?
17th April 2011, 09:33 PM   |  #6  
ahavens17's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 59
 
133 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2006
Donate to Me
More
I've been wanting to try this forever. However I've upgraded to CM7 and they don't have the mouse pointer support, so I guess I'll have to wait to see if/when it's included. I want it, but not bad enough to downgrade to CM6. Back to rockin angry birds on the 50" Plasma. Although I'm using HDMwIn.
17th April 2011, 10:21 PM   |  #7  
Lokifish Marz's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor / Recognized Developer
Flag Olympus Mons, Mars
Thanks Meter: 3,282
 
2,891 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ahavens17

I've been wanting to try this forever. However I've upgraded to CM7 and they don't have the mouse pointer support, so I guess I'll have to wait to see if/when it's included. I want it, but not bad enough to downgrade to CM6. Back to rockin angry birds on the 50" Plasma. Although I'm using HDMwIn.

I was really happy when I saw mouse pointers in the commit for CM7 but it ended up getting rejected. The rumor was for cosmetic reasons which if true is pretty lame. I also have issue with the stability/bugs of CM7 too but that's a different matter.

The setup really doesn't depend on one app or the other for mirroring.
18th April 2011, 12:13 AM   |  #8  
DonSolo's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Warren,MI
Thanks Meter: 146
 
647 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
Wonder why this thread isn't on fire! This is groundbreaking! I'm about to switch romz just to test and see what u come up wit

Sent from the Hood in my Fallout Vault!
The Following User Says Thank You to DonSolo For This Useful Post: [ View ]
gqstatus0685
18th April 2011, 01:18 AM   |  #9  
Guest
Thanks Meter: 0
 
n/a posts
Subscribed and bumped to the top.

Sent from my PC36100 using XDA App
The Following User Says Thank You to For This Useful Post: [ View ]
18th April 2011, 04:00 AM   |  #10  
ahavens17's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 59
 
133 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2006
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lokifish Marz

I was really happy when I saw mouse pointers in the commit for CM7 but it ended up getting rejected. The rumor was for cosmetic reasons which if true is pretty lame. I also have issue with the stability/bugs of CM7 too but that's a different matter.

The setup really doesn't depend on one app or the other for mirroring.



Yea, I had i asked about it over on the CM7 Thread, and this was the conversation over there, and the response that I had gotten.So hopefully in CM7.1??

Quote:

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeitzen

Hello all,

First, let me say what an Awesome ROM CM is. I love it and I love CM7 even better.


I was hoping to request that the Mouse Pointer for BT HiD mice that was in CM6 could be brought into CM7?

I would make a huge impact on my use of the ROM and I am sure for others also.

HDMI mirroring and the cursor = perfection.

Quote:
Originally Posted by e-motion

Anyone know if that is even being worked on ? Now that we have HDMI, 4G, keyboard via BT, it is the last remaining piece of the puzzle to make the EVO a full-fledge laptop replacement when traveling...

I wanted to ask this question again, does anyone have any other information regarding the mouse pointer? I ask because this thread mentions the possibility of it being included in CM7 Final. I was able to get the HID support for the keyboard to work with Bluetooth just like on RC4, however still no mouse pointer that I'm able to locate.

Quote:

There are a few CM6 features that arenít part of CM7 yet, but they are in the queue for 7.1 already.

Quote:
Originally Posted by VaughnOnix

Source: http://www.cyanogenmod.com/blog/cyan...d-7-0-released

Edit: After reading over the submitted change from the before-mentioned thread, I can see why it was not included. The easiest-to-explain issue is the fact that the mouse pointer is static in size and color, regardless of theme or screen resolution.


Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes