5,595,815 Members 36,424 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Temp root for apps required root access (for s-on IS)

Tip us?
 
jrywu
Old
(Last edited by jrywu; 17th April 2011 at 04:51 PM.) Reason: wrong spelling
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 6
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Taipei
Default Temp root for apps required root access (for s-on IS)

Psneuter exploit is working on IS, but because /system is locked on s-on phones, we can't copy su and superuser.apk into /system, apps required root access can't work.
The following procedure uses psenuter exploit to gain adb shell root, and then copy su (without privilege control ) and busybox into /sbin (which is on rootfs and in the global PATH list) to gain root access for apps.
The procedure:
1. Unzip the attached .zip into a directory (like c:\adb)
2. Open a command prompt and cd to the directory where you extracted the .zip (like cd \adb)
3. run pushroot.bat (simply type pushroot)
4. adb shell /data/local/tmp/getroot
5. adb shell
6. you are now in # prompt. Type /data/local/tmp/pushroot

You have to redo steps 4,5,6 once you reboot your phone.

The procedure will have all apps gaining root access.
!!USE ON YOUR OWN RISK!!

Known working programs: Root explorer, Titanium backup, gscript lite, trasproxy 2.04, ...
Some apps check existence of su in /system/xbin , and reject to proceed if the su binary is not exist (like transproxy 3.08). For this kind of apps, this procedure won't help.
The Following 11 Users Say Thank You to jrywu For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Hawkysoft
Old
#2  
Hawkysoft's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 162
Posts: 709
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Rotterdam

 
DONATE TO ME
Nice but old news mate...

Sent from my HTC Incredible S using XDA Premium App
Signature(string Device) {
...if(Device = ("HTC One M8") {
......if(Firmware = Stock) {
.........AndroidOS = 4.4.2;
.........Status = S-OFF+ROOT;
......}
...}
...if(Device = ("ASUS Transformer Prime") {
......AndroidOS = 4.0.4 AOKP;
......Status = BL-unlocked+ROOT;
...}
...return MySignature;
}

next_device() { return "unknown"; }
The Following User Says Thank You to Hawkysoft For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
alon
Old
#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Nov 2006
Good job...thanks
 
vido.ardes
Old
#4  
vido.ardes's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 1617
Posts: 1,641
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Kent, UK

 
DONATE TO ME
Thanks for writing this up, might quell the thirst for S-OFF a little longer
 
Hawkysoft
Old
#5  
Hawkysoft's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 162
Posts: 709
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Rotterdam

 
DONATE TO ME
/system/ is writeable btw, if you remount it, but after reboot everything u done will be changed to the way it were before.

so a temp root in xbin is possible also, only it will be gone afterwards (atleast i never tried this, but should work also...)
Signature(string Device) {
...if(Device = ("HTC One M8") {
......if(Firmware = Stock) {
.........AndroidOS = 4.4.2;
.........Status = S-OFF+ROOT;
......}
...}
...if(Device = ("ASUS Transformer Prime") {
......AndroidOS = 4.0.4 AOKP;
......Status = BL-unlocked+ROOT;
...}
...return MySignature;
}

next_device() { return "unknown"; }
 
jrywu
Old
(Last edited by jrywu; 18th April 2011 at 12:03 AM.)
#6  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 6
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Taipei
Yes. /system could be remount in rw with root. However, the files you wrote will be gone after you remount ro, and then you won't be able to copy the same filename into the same location again before next reboot ( I don't know why, actually!!). This is why I put su in sbin instead of /system/xbin.
 
bl4ckluna
Old
#7  
bl4ckluna's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 14
Posts: 71
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Beijing

 
DONATE TO ME
thanks to your files 非常感谢你的工作。
 
faf
Old
#8  
Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 49
Join Date: Jan 2005
Does anyone know whether steps 4, 5 and 6 can be run from the device itself?

Can I put these commands into some sort of script and run it everytime I need temp root or would I need to do this from a computer every time?
 
itandy
Old
#9  
itandy's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 941
Posts: 1,501
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Hong Kong
Quote:
Originally Posted by faf View Post
Does anyone know whether steps 4, 5 and 6 can be run from the device itself?

Can I put these commands into some sort of script and run it everytime I need temp root or would I need to do this from a computer every time?
I believe you can do it from a terminal emulator but haven't got the chance to try it myself though.

Sent from my HTC Incredible S using Tapatalk
My phone
Sony Xperia ZR | Rooted Stock ROM 4.3 | Stock kernel | Dual CWM/TWRP recovery | Samsung 32GB UHS-I

HTC Incredible S | Blackrose 2.02 HBOOT | 4EXT Touch | CM11 VivoKat | TESCO Kernel 3.0.101 | 3831.18.00.28 radio | SanDisk Ultra UHS-I 32GB

My work
Photo Grid/Frame Widget | Android Phone Vibrator - Xposed | Ringer & Notification Volume Unlink in ICS/JB - Xposed | Notification Direct Launcher - Xposed | Xperia Stamina LED - Xposed | Xperia/AOSP NavBar Buttons - Xposed
 
sky1212
Old
(Last edited by sky1212; 18th April 2011 at 02:22 PM.)
#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 12
Join Date: Apr 2006
pushroot error
c:/adb>adb shell ln /data/local/tem/busybox /data/local/tmp/cp
Link failed File exists
and
c:/adb>adb shell /data/local/tmp/getroot
mmap<> failed. operation not permitted
Why??THX....

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Google Glass XE16 Update Factory Image and Rooted Bootloader Now Available

You may recall that early yesterday, we talked about the XE16 … more

Add Swipe Utilities to Your App with SimpleFingerGestures Library

Gestures have become an increasingly important element in smartphone UI … more

Android App Review: Lock it Down with Lockdown Pro – XDA Developer TV

Our smartphones are our lives. They store our contacts, emails, … more