LG to Release Octa-Core “Nuclun” SoC in the LG G3 Screen

LG is set to follow the likes of Samsung and other manufacture its own … more

Lockdown Pro 2 Brings Material Design and Media Support

Back in March of this year, we took a look at a rather innovated security application … more

Mural Watchface Brings 500px to Android Wear

On a traditional watch, you can’t really do too much to change its appearance once … more

Android 5.0 Favorite Features, Release November 3rd? – XDA TV

Google Confirms Android 5.0 Lollipop for November 3rd! That and much more … more
Post Reply

How to flash boot animation?

OP xxMAGICxx

18th April 2011, 03:13 AM   |  #1  
xxMAGICxx's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 30
 
281 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
How do I flash my bootanimation.zip file through terminal emulator?

The Following User Says Thank You to xxMAGICxx For This Useful Post: [ View ]
18th April 2011, 03:18 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 145
 
1,176 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
Just use root explorer or any other file manager with root rights and copy it. No need to flash.

Sent from my HTC Glacier using XDA App
18th April 2011, 03:32 AM   |  #3  
xxMAGICxx's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 30
 
281 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
What of I want to revert? How would I do that through terminal emulator?

18th April 2011, 03:54 AM   |  #4  
darinmc's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oakland Park, FL
Thanks Meter: 62
 
445 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
what rom are you using? Depending on the ROM, you navigate to where it is with a file explorer, rename the stock to whatever, copy the animation .zip that you want to the same folder (renaming it what the stock was, exactly) and you're done.
18th April 2011, 03:55 AM   |  #5  
xxMAGICxx's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 30
 
281 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Royal Ginger 1.5
So I download the stock boot animation and put the files into the bootanimation.zip file I already have?

18th April 2011, 08:24 AM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Silicon Valley
Thanks Meter: 43
 
368 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
I'm assuming you've downloaded a zip file from somewhere. Do not unzip it, just rename it to "bootanimation.zip" and place it in the directory that holds the original bootanimation.zip file. You can always make a backup of the original first.

This may depend on the rom, but usually you can put your new bootanimation.zip file in the /data/local/ directory, and the phone will use that without you having to disturb the original.
18th April 2011, 12:59 PM   |  #7  
Nicgraner's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Dripping Springs
Thanks Meter: 191
 
1,134 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdkoren


This may depend on the rom, but usually you can put your new bootanimation.zip file in the /data/local/ directory, and the phone will use that without you having to disturb the original.

It belongs in System/media, you must delete the original though or you wont get an animation

Sent from my HTC Glaciee using XDA Premium App
30th September 2011, 12:17 AM   |  #8  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
53 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nicgraner

It belongs in System/media, you must delete the original though or you wont get an animation

Sent from my HTC Glaciee using XDA Premium App


I'm trying to change my boot animation also. I changed the zipped file to bootanimation.zip. How do I access System/media ? When I mount, it just opens the sd drive on my computer.
30th September 2011, 12:44 AM   |  #9  
coupetastic-droid's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag cali
Thanks Meter: 326
 
2,101 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by xazilizax

I'm trying to change my boot animation also. I changed the zipped file to bootanimation.zip. How do I access System/media ? When I mount, it just opens the sd drive on my computer.

You need to be rooted and you need to do it with your device with some kind of file manager like root explorer.

Sent from my HTC Glacier using xda premium
30th September 2011, 01:37 AM   |  #10  
keji13's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag new york
Thanks Meter: 17
 
235 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Once ur rooted u could just go into recovery and install the zip manually that's usually how I do it or download the bootloader changer app either requires root

Sent from my HTC Glacier using XDA Premium App

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes