Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,804,274 Members 39,032 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

G2x working on web2go or t-zones?

Tip us?
 
nexus14
Old
(Last edited by nexus14; 18th April 2011 at 10:04 PM.) Reason: info regarding imei
#1  
nexus14's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 16
Posts: 243
Join Date: May 2010
Default G2x working on web2go or t-zones?

G2x working on web2go or t-zones?

FYI, T-mobile has a list of all IMEI matched up to its respective device. It's up to T-mobile whether or not it's black-listed. That's why sometimes when calling CSR, they will be able to call you that you have an iPhone despite T-mobile not carrying the iPhone. You may argue, "nexus14, when I log into mytmobile.com, my phone shows up as a blank image! therefore, T-mobile must not know what phone I'm carrying."

Wrong. T-mobile knows -- it's either T-mobile doesn't have a stock image of your device or it hasn't been programed into their website yet. Regardless, there exist some sort of master IMEI list that links up to each respective device.
 
JHaste
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 32
Posts: 744
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Tempe Arizona!
Quote:
Originally Posted by nexus14 View Post
G2x working on web2go or t-zones?
I will let you know tomorrow

I am wondering if i will have to buy the phone outright to keep my tzones or if they will consider that a data plan and let me use my upgrade...
 
mesajoejoe
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 223
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by JHaste View Post
I will let you know tomorrow

I am wondering if i will have to buy the phone outright to keep my tzones or if they will consider that a data plan and let me use my upgrade...
My understanding is regardless of buying outright, they have the imei numbers in there database from these phones and would prompt you for an upgrade and wouldnt work. Isnt it the nexus phones that t-mobile doesnt get the imei numbers from?
Phone: GSM Nexus
ROM: CM9 kang
 
mingkee
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 253
Posts: 1,787
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Brooklyn, NY
I highly doubt it will work.
MyTouch 4 and OT don't work with my grandfathered web2go (got error page), so don't have high hope.
 
sosquidtaste
Old
(Last edited by sosquidtaste; 18th April 2011 at 06:48 PM.) Reason: Typooooo
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 118
Posts: 364
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Quote:
Originally Posted by mesajoejoe View Post
My understanding is regardless of buying outright, they have the imei numbers in there database from these phones and would prompt you for an upgrade and wouldnt work. Isnt it the nexus phones that t-mobile doesnt get the imei numbers from?
I believe it was only the Nexus One that didn't have its IMEI documented with T-Mobile. When I switched over to my Nexus S, I was no longer able to use my $10 data plan. It was a real kick in the crotch.

And that's the Nexus S, which wasn't even sold directly from T-Mo. I wouldn't get my hopes up about web2go on the G2X
 
mingkee
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 253
Posts: 1,787
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Quote:
Originally Posted by sosquidtaste View Post
I believe it was only the Nexus One that didn't have its IMEI documented with T-Mobile. When I switched over to my Nexus S, I was no longer able to use my $10 data plan. It was a real kick in the crotch.

And that's the Nexus S, which wasn't even sold directly from T-Mo. I wouldn't get my hopes up about web2go on the G2X
I can confirm that $10 web2go (not 200MB) works with nexus one but NOT NS (except you root it and move /efs folder to safe place).
As I have "4G web" tagged on my EM+ 3 in 1 plan, I am fine with it, but 3rd line (with web2go) will have problem.
 
SupremeC281
Old
#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 25
Join Date: Jun 2010
t-zones/web2go will not work on the g2x.

i heard in settings, there isnt an option to edit the apn in order for one to use t-zones/web2go.

so there will be a point in time where we will all have to cough up $30 data plan or whatever..
 
erikiksaz
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 96
Posts: 784
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Quote:
Originally Posted by SupremeC281 View Post
t-zones/web2go will not work on the g2x.

i heard in settings, there isnt an option to edit the apn in order for one to use t-zones/web2go.

so there will be a point in time where we will all have to cough up $30 data plan or whatever..
There is an option to add a new APN, you just can't modify the default epc.tmobile.com one.

Oddly enough my web2go (or whatever the $10 dollar plan is called) is working. I'm using the internet2.voicestream.com.

Hopefully it stays this way.
 
JHaste
Old
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 32
Posts: 744
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Tempe Arizona!
Quote:
Originally Posted by erikikaz View Post
There is an option to add a new APN, you just can't modify the default epc.tmobile.com one.

Oddly enough my web2go (or whatever the $10 dollar plan is called) is working. I'm using the internet2.voicestream.com.

Hopefully it stays this way.
No phone yet... but if web2go works then t-zones should work... they use the same apn's

and i am coming from a nexus one...
 
coldest~~~
Old
(Last edited by coldest~~~; 18th April 2011 at 09:13 PM.)
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 213
Join Date: Jan 2011
It might work for a short period like the NS did. But eventually, but will start blocking imei. If web2go works, this would be THE phone and the end of all the HD2er

Sent from HTC HD2 with Android

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Share Your Thoughts Anonymously with A Minimalist Social Network

Nowadays, almost everyone has a second life onthe Internet. Among the best … more

Enable Heads Up Notifications For The Sprint Galaxy S3

Heads up notifications, in case you didn’t already know, are an experimental … more

Android One Goes Live in India!

Android One is a Google initiative set to bring an AOSP-like experience tosome emergingmarkets like India, … more

XDA and LeaseWeb: Win Free Server Trial and Moto 360

As you might recall from a previousBehind the Scenesarticle we wrote, XDA’s … more