5,596,066 Members 33,453 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

i dont believe g2x has 850mhz UMTS HSPA

Tip us?
 
clubtech
Old
#161  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 296
Posts: 1,671
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhonmont View Post
Wondering the same question, as this confirm it have the 1900 3g band, "anandtech.com/show/4144/lg-optimus-2x-nvidia-tegra-2-review-the-first-dual-core-smartphone/9"

So anyone can confirm that the International version LG P990 does really have the 1900 3g band? Had anyone just try using ATT or some other carrier with the 1900 3g band?

Thanks
I have the euro version and i can confirm it has 1900Mhz. I can get on at&t's 3G and 1900Mhz is written as supported on the retail box of the phone.
HARDWARE: AT&T 8285 > iPhone 3G > Toshiba TG01 > iPhone 3GS > HD2 > AT&T N1 > EVO 4G > Samsung Galaxy S > Samsung Galaxy Tab > Samsung Nexus S > Atrix 4G > Motorola Xoom > Thunderbolt > Galaxy S II > Galaxy Tab 10.1 > HTC Flyer > E4GT > Galaxy Note > Galaxy S 3 > Galaxy Note II > HTC One > Galaxy Note 8 > Galaxy S 4
 
seanthegeek
Old
#162  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 22
Join Date: Dec 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by clubtech View Post
I have the euro version and i can confirm it has 1900Mhz. I can get on at&t's 3G and 1900Mhz is written as supported on the retail box of the phone.

This makes me wonder if this this an (unintentional) software/baseband issue? This remands me a bit of what happened after the G2 was released: WiFi calling and tethering were missing, and were later added in a software update. Early adopters usually get burned with any new piece of tech, which is why I'm waiting this one out for now.
 
nomisunrider
Old
#163  
nomisunrider's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 34
Posts: 321
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Minnesota
Quote:
Originally Posted by 02busa View Post
I didn't pay full price.. I still have a tmobile acct.. saw that post earlier. Thanks though

Sent from my HTC Inspire running CM7 OC'd to 1.3Ghz..
How long have you had an account?

Here are the "ruled" for customers: http://support.t-mobile.com/doc/tm51885.xml
 
nomisunrider
Old
#164  
nomisunrider's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 34
Posts: 321
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Minnesota
LGs website finally has a product page:

http://www.lg.com/us/mobile-phones/a...phones-G2x.jsp

It lists:
850/900/1800/1900 MHz, 1700/2100 MHz (Quad-Band GSM/Dual-Band UMTS)
 
seanthegeek
Old
#165  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 22
Join Date: Dec 2009
comparing that to the euro version (http://www.lg.com/uk/mobile-phones/a...one-P990.jsp):

RF Band
850/900/1800/1900 – Edge 900/1700/2100 – HSPA 7.2/5.76
 
sabwafare2001
Old
#166  
sabwafare2001's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 18
Posts: 798
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: DALLAS

 
DONATE TO ME
Got a G2X yesterday and recieved an unlock code(from Unlockthatphone.com) for it early this morning. The phone is now unlocked, however it looks like ATT 3G in the Dallas, TX area is not working. It displays the 2G symbol at the top. I used the same APN settings as I did with my Desire Z A7275. Unless it is something I am missing, it looks like the T-mo version doesn't have 850 or 1900.
History 2012: Black Samsung Galaxy Note > White Galaxy Note > White HTC One X 32GB > White Galaxy S III
Laptop: Asus G73JH-A2,
Tablet: iPad 2 16GB Wifi


FEEDBACK:
eBay Feedback
Howard Forums Feedback: Howard Forums 1, Howard Forums 2, Howard Forums 3
Heatware Feedback
XDA Transactions:XDA iTrader, 1
The Following User Says Thank You to sabwafare2001 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
sabwafare2001
Old
#167  
sabwafare2001's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 18
Posts: 798
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: DALLAS

 
DONATE TO ME
I don't like how they put the frequencies. I believe it is miss leading for some. They don't use hyphens, semicolons correctly it seems. If you look on the box, you aren't able to tell if 850/1900 HSPA is supported.

RF Band
Edge - 850/900/1800/1900; HSPA 7.2/5.76 - 900/1700/2100

Quote:
Originally Posted by seanthegeek View Post
comparing that to the euro version (http://www.lg.com/uk/mobile-phones/a...one-P990.jsp):

RF Band
850/900/1800/1900 Edge 900/1700/2100 HSPA 7.2/5.76
History 2012: Black Samsung Galaxy Note > White Galaxy Note > White HTC One X 32GB > White Galaxy S III
Laptop: Asus G73JH-A2,
Tablet: iPad 2 16GB Wifi


FEEDBACK:
eBay Feedback
Howard Forums Feedback: Howard Forums 1, Howard Forums 2, Howard Forums 3
Heatware Feedback
XDA Transactions:XDA iTrader, 1
 
compuguy1088
Old
#168  
compuguy1088's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 56
Posts: 1,072
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: NoVA
Quote:
Originally Posted by sabwafare2001 View Post
Got a G2X yesterday and recieved an unlock code(from Unlockthatphone.com) for it early this morning. The phone is now unlocked, however it looks like ATT 3G in the Dallas, TX area is not working. It displays the 2G symbol at the top. I used the same APN settings as I did with my Desire Z A7275. Unless it is something I am missing, it looks like the T-mo version doesn't have 850 or 1900.
Thanks for posting this. T-mobile really needs to remove those bands on their home page....they are *really* misleading.
Current Devices: Nexus 4, Nexus 7, Samsung Galaxy S2
Past Devices: iPhone 2G 8GB, HTC Magic (Traded for G2), Samsung Vibrant, HTC G2
Heatware: http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=74678
 
compuguy1088
Old
(Last edited by compuguy1088; 21st April 2011 at 03:11 PM.)
#169  
compuguy1088's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 56
Posts: 1,072
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: NoVA
Based on this post, I am beginning to think that the phone *does not have* any at&t 3g bands:

Quote:
Originally Posted by sabwafare2001 View Post
Got a G2X yesterday and recieved an unlock code(from Unlockthatphone.com) for it early this morning. The phone is now unlocked, however it looks like ATT 3G in the Dallas, TX area is not working. It displays the 2G symbol at the top. I used the same APN settings as I did with my Desire Z A7275. Unless it is something I am missing, it looks like the T-mo version doesn't have 850 or 1900.
Current Devices: Nexus 4, Nexus 7, Samsung Galaxy S2
Past Devices: iPhone 2G 8GB, HTC Magic (Traded for G2), Samsung Vibrant, HTC G2
Heatware: http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=74678
 
sabwafare2001
Old
#170  
sabwafare2001's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 18
Posts: 798
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: DALLAS

 
DONATE TO ME
I bought it locally with the intention of using it with ATT to probably repace my HTC Inspire.
History 2012: Black Samsung Galaxy Note > White Galaxy Note > White HTC One X 32GB > White Galaxy S III
Laptop: Asus G73JH-A2,
Tablet: iPad 2 16GB Wifi


FEEDBACK:
eBay Feedback
Howard Forums Feedback: Howard Forums 1, Howard Forums 2, Howard Forums 3
Heatware Feedback
XDA Transactions:XDA iTrader, 1

The Following User Says Thank You to sabwafare2001 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes