Post Reply

[GUIDE][REF]Enable 850 Mhz band with any modem version for I9000M

OP sp991

19th April 2011, 06:58 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Flag Montréal
Thanks Meter: 4
 
122 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
Donate to Me
More
Ok guys I don't want to take credit for any of this, the credits for this discovery goes to a captivate user in USA named shoman94. Here's his post.

I'm just reporting it here so a lot of canadian galaxy s users (I9000m) will save some search. The method to enable this frequencies is pretty simple but you need to have the recovery 2e version not the 3e that comes on UGJL2 firmware version from Bell. So if you still on stock firmware and want to play arround with modem version to see if you can find a better HSPA+ connection or a better GPS, I recommend you flash the last Speedmod Kernel via odin so you have clockworkmod recovery and the ability to apply update trought zip file not signed.

The method goes like this and it is good for I9000M / I9000T. (Might not work for I9000B as there is a tv tuner antenna so the modem firmware must be different and will not work for I9000 due to hardware limitation)
  1. You need to have a modem that comes with 850 mhz enable (UGJL2, TLJL3, UGJK3, UGJK4, UGKC1). So if it's not your case just flash one of these modem first.
  2. Put your phone on 850 mhz only mode. To do this just dial *#2263# in samsung dialer to enter the band selection utility. Enter menu [2] WCDMA Band en press on [5] WCDMA 850 (FDD V) and it should tell you W850 Only.
  3. (Optional) You can dial *#0011# in samsung dialer to verify that you phone is realy using 850 band.
  4. Reboot in recovery and update your modem with BVJJPD or BVJJPG version and reboot into android
  5. (Optional) You can dial *#0011# in samsung dialer to verify that you phone is realy using 850 band.
  6. Reboot into recovery and update your modem with the version of you choice (XXJVK or ZSJPG or XXJQ1 or BUJS1 or XXJVE etc) and reboot phone to android
  7. Repeat step 2 and 3 and you should have network connection on 850 only. If it's not the case then you miss something and need to start again from step 1
  8. If everything is good dial *#2263# again to reanable all the other fequencies so your phone can chose the strongest one depending on where you are. To do so select line [1] AUTOMATIC and it should said Select GSM & WCDMA All Bands. Then touch you optical menu button and hit back. Select Line [4] COMBI BANDS and click on the only one without asterisk ([8] WCDMA 850 (FDD V)).
  9. Enjoy any modem version with 850 Mhz enable

Here a link to download the modem needed in step 1 and 4. There is also this site wich is good to find any of the i9000 modem version. Ironically they put UGJL2 modem under captivate folder even if it's use for I9000m.

Mod : It would be nice to have it pinned or at least added to the list of How to's and Guide.
Last edited by sp991; 21st April 2011 at 07:04 PM. Reason: Added link source for modem files
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to sp991 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
19th April 2011, 07:06 PM   |  #2  
Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 7
 
72 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
Will this also work on JVK/B? Are there any special procedures necessary for Gingerbread?
19th April 2011, 07:25 PM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Flag Montréal
Thanks Meter: 4
 
122 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Freija

Will this also work on JVK/B? Are there any special procedures necessary for Gingerbread?

Could not say as I haven't tried GB yet. But If you can install zip from sdcard in recovery I think it will work. This would need confirmation from other user but I'm currently using JVK modem with JS8 (2.2.1) so the other way arround should work too but I can't confirm. Make a complete backup with clockworkmod (data + system) so if it doesn't work you could just restore the system partition and everything will be fine.
19th April 2011, 07:48 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
103 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
could you attach the necessary modem files to your first post? or maybe a link to them

will help make it stickyable!
19th April 2011, 08:19 PM   |  #5  
OP Senior Member
Flag Montréal
Thanks Meter: 4
 
122 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by redzone321

could you attach the necessary modem files to your first post? or maybe a link to them

will help make it stickyable!

Done, I've added the links to find all the zip file needed to change modem trought recovery zip flashing.
19th April 2011, 08:35 PM   |  #6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
22 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
will this work on i9000GT ?
19th April 2011, 08:49 PM   |  #7  
Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 7
 
72 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sp991

Could not say as I haven't tried GB yet. But If you can install zip from sdcard in recovery I think it will work. This would need confirmation from other user but I'm currently using JVK modem with JS8 (2.2.1) so the other way arround should work too but I can't confirm. Make a complete backup with clockworkmod (data + system) so if it doesn't work you could just restore the system partition and everything will be fine.

In theory your process should work. However, I may be doing something wrong, but the gingerbread boot loader does not allow older-CWM flashing of the modem files I have found. If there is a kernel that allows flashing of older CWM files, or if I can find the .bin files of the BVJJPD or BVJJPG so that I can flash them with Odin, it should most likely work.

At this time though, I can tell you that flashing a Froyo modem such as UGJK4 on JVK/B Gingerbread works. This is the configuration I'm running right now, and my 850 MHz band seems fully operational.
19th April 2011, 11:55 PM   |  #8  
Member
Nome, AK
Thanks Meter: 3
 
32 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
pardon the noob question but I'm on a local carrier (GCI in Alaska) and my phone doesn't get 3G when I travel to areas where it exists (I'm rural). I think they want to charge for adding 3G, even though it exists only when traveling.

I found a reference how to enable it:
androidforums.com/samsung-galaxy-s/258859-how-enable-850mhz-3g-network-frequency-your-samsung-i9000-galaxy-s.html

but I get an error saying the selection doesn't exist when trying to choose that 850mhz.
My carrier says it isn't enabled on SIM card. Am I S.O.L.? They have a Blackberry Plan for $30/month that says includes 3G, they have a $30 Android Smartphone plan that doesn't mention it either way, and then their basic $15 data plan I think doesn't mention it except they have a 3G option for $5 extra. Otherwise I only get Edge.

I've rooted the phone to install a couple things but haven't yet flashed any new firmware - it is buggy as heck (crashes a lot) so I'm reading the forums here - it is on baseband version XXJP2, thinking I may have to try something. Saw this thread and wondered if it would be of use to me.

thanks for patience, JD
20th April 2011, 07:17 AM   |  #9  
OP Senior Member
Flag Montréal
Thanks Meter: 4
 
122 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shedox-d

will this work on i9000GT ?

Never heard of this model #. GT-I9000 is the international version and it will work on it if you are refering to this version.

Quote:
Originally Posted by hunky-d

pardon the noob question but I'm on a local carrier (GCI in Alaska) and my phone doesn't get 3G when I travel to areas where it exists (I'm rural). I think they want to charge for adding 3G, even though it exists only when traveling.

I found a reference how to enable it:
androidforums.com/samsung-galaxy-s/258859-how-enable-850mhz-3g-network-frequency-your-samsung-i9000-galaxy-s.html

but I get an error saying the selection doesn't exist when trying to choose that 850mhz.
My carrier says it isn't enabled on SIM card. Am I S.O.L.? They have a Blackberry Plan for $30/month that says includes 3G, they have a $30 Android Smartphone plan that doesn't mention it either way, and then their basic $15 data plan I think doesn't mention it except they have a 3G option for $5 extra. Otherwise I only get Edge.

I've rooted the phone to install a couple things but haven't yet flashed any new firmware - it is buggy as heck (crashes a lot) so I'm reading the forums here - it is on baseband version XXJP2, thinking I may have to try something. Saw this thread and wondered if it would be of use to me.

thanks for patience, JD


First you need to have a modem version that supports 850 Mhz to be able to enable it (i.e. UGJL2, TLJL3, UGJK3, UGJK4, UGKC1). Once you have one of these modem you might have to add the 850 band in combi bands screen before you can actually select "only 850" in WCDMA screen. If you have JP2 modem you will be able to enable 850 only mode but you won't get any reception.
Last edited by sp991; 20th April 2011 at 07:19 AM.
20th April 2011, 07:28 AM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 135
 
724 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
I wish someone could figure out what this procedure actually does, there must be some specific difference (in settings files?) after the phone has gone through this procedure. That difference could potentially then be applied directly.

I have a slight interest in trying the newer modems but can't be bothered to jump through this many hoops.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes