Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,812,209 Members 36,859 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

The button lights are OFF..?!?

Tip us?
 
sunnyhj
Old
(Last edited by sunnyhj; 20th April 2011 at 08:23 AM.)
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 123
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Chandigarh
Default The button lights are OFF..?!?

Hi everyone.

Today i installed an app called startup cleaner pro from android market...with this app u can choose which apps will be started up on android booting....so i selected a few and it stopped 22 other system + user apps from starting when i booted up my droid..the first thing i noticed is that the lights which are ALWAYS on in our touch buttons were OFF...and they remain off even when u touch them...but the buttons are WORKING properly...

Hope this helps
 
tzacapaca
Old
#2  
tzacapaca's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 370
Posts: 1,208
Join Date: Apr 2008
that's not something out of common...when i run android sometimes button lights stays always on,sometimes always off lol,so it's not software related,it's just wrong code which must be fixed
 
sunnyhj
Old
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 123
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Chandigarh
This had never happened with me...not once...but since i stopped some of the system services...button lights are always off..!!...and i have restarted my phone like 10-12 times...and lights have not started in droid everytime..
 
asorcinelli
Old
#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 18
Join Date: Aug 2008
Same behaviour here. Now the lights are always off.
Moreover, when I press the power button and the screen is black, the phone doesn't wait some seconds anymore and it turns on immediatly.
 
pietje63
Old
#5  
Member
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 71
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by asorcinelli View Post
Same behaviour here. Now the lights are always off.
Moreover, when I press the power button and the screen is black, the phone doesn't wait some seconds anymore and it turns on immediatly.
What you may want to consider (but what will be a time consuming job I guess) is to test which process/app does make the difference.
 
asorcinelli
Old
#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 18
Join Date: Aug 2008
I think that tzacapaca was right.
I'm trying to identify the service or services that force the lights on, but I can't because now I have always the lights on.
I have reboot multiple times, without any changes. It's strange because the first time that I have disable the startup services, I have reboot many times and all the times the lights are off.
 
tzacapaca
Old
#7  
tzacapaca's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 370
Posts: 1,208
Join Date: Apr 2008

guys think logical..it cannot be because of software or services..lights on/off are commanded by OS,in my opinion..
developers correct me if i'm wrong
 
pietje63
Old
#8  
Member
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 71
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by tzacapaca View Post
:
guys think logical..it cannot be because of software or services..lights on/off are commanded by OS,in my opinion..
developers correct me if i'm wrong
Software and services do give command to the OS. It may be that some of the services are giving commands to the OS (for example: turn on 3G) which are misunderstand by the OS (for example: turn off lights).
 
tzacapaca
Old
(Last edited by tzacapaca; 20th April 2011 at 09:31 PM.)
#9  
tzacapaca's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 370
Posts: 1,208
Join Date: Apr 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by pietje63 View Post
Software and services do give command to the OS. It may be that some of the services are giving commands to the OS (for example: turn on 3G) which are misunderstand by the OS (for example: turn off lights).
about software.. when you install naked android there is just astro and superuser and i dont think these programs will give commands to buttons to turn off the light
about services...they are part of OS..so OS and kernel is written using some codes..anyway i'm pretty sure this is kernel's fault which needs to be patched.
p.s. btw are u a developer?
p.s2. robin can tell us for sure,he is the one
 
pietje63
Old
#10  
Member
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 71
Join Date: Aug 2010
Nope, I'm not a developer, but I have some programming knowledge. That why I said 'it may be'.

And I agree, it will most likely be the kernel which is wrong here (that what I tried to say with 'which are misunderstand by the OS'). But if we find out which command is misunderstand by the kernel, we may find out where the error in the kernel is. Or not?

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Increase Your Multitasking Workflow with C-Floating Windows

Technology has put life on the fast track. Lazy, relaxed days have turned into … more

Compile Your Own Kernel From Source with Comprehensive Tutorial

One glance at any developer section of any device forum on XDA and youll find … more

WowWee Mip – Android Accessory Review – XDA Developer TV

The holidays will be here in no time, so why not start thinking about … more

Stream Your Media Files with the New Version of Droid Sync Manager

Android is a Linux-based operating system, but this fact doesn’t put … more