Post Reply

T-mobile G2X does support AT&T bands

OP flak0

24th April 2011, 05:53 AM   |  #11  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 25
 
319 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by flak0

Ill keep this short. There has been a lot of talk lately about tmo lying about the AT&T bands however I am here to prove that our phones are setup and enabled for AT&T . The option to enable is hidden. See below for proof.



Sent from my LG-P999 using XDA App

Off topic, but how are you getting Linpack 49Mflops on the G2x ? I'm getting around 35 each time I run it.
24th April 2011, 06:02 AM   |  #12  
Senior Member
Flag Florida
Thanks Meter: 94
 
628 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
Donate to Me
More
the software displays the base bands but the radio does not receive the frequencies.


End of line.


My T-Mobile Nexus displayed that info so did my G2 and Vibrant 4G but the Frequencies are different and the radio will not get them.
24th April 2011, 08:42 AM   |  #13  
Senior Member
Flag Vancouver
Thanks Meter: 481
 
3,122 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by death1246

the software displays the base bands but the radio does not receive the frequencies.


End of line.


My T-Mobile Nexus displayed that info so did my G2 and Vibrant 4G but the Frequencies are different and the radio will not get them.

+1

My LG Optimus One from Telus has an identical band selection menu which includes bands that the phone does not support. The screenshot proves nothing. Could a moderator just close this thread before anyone else gets their hopes up?
24th April 2011, 08:49 AM   |  #14  
flak0's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Pembroke Pines , FL
Thanks Meter: 491
 
1,492 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmstlist

+1

My LG Optimus One from Telus has an identical band selection menu which includes bands that the phone does not support. The screenshot proves nothing. Could a moderator just close this thread before anyone else gets their hopes up?

Question does it have anything to do with correct apn settings?

Sent from my LG-P999 using XDA App
24th April 2011, 09:49 AM   |  #15  
Senior Member
Flag Florida
Thanks Meter: 94
 
628 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by flak0

Question does it have anything to do with correct apn settings?

Sent from my LG-P999 using XDA App



No.

Its just the menu that I'd there.

If the hardware doesn't support it it won't work.

You don't play golf with a hokey stick even though it looks like you can.
24th April 2011, 10:31 AM   |  #16  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 17
 
259 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
More
i find it amazing that none of the major sites have talked about this despite heavily promoting about its quad 4g-ness in many reviews. It is very irrresponsible.
24th April 2011, 10:42 AM   |  #17  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
835 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
More
Looking through the LG-P999 (optimus 2x/ g2x) service manual, which you can find it yourself on the interwebz:

Page 7:

Supporting Standard

Supporting Standard WCDMA(FDD1,4)/EGSM/GSM850/DCS1800/PCS1900
with seamless handover
Phase 2+(include AMR)
SIM Toolkit : Class 1, 2, 3, C-E
Frequency Range WCDMA(FDD1) TX : 1920 1980 MHz
WCDMA(FDD1) RX : 2110 2170 MHz
WCDMA(FDD4) TX : 1710 1755 MHz
WCDMA(FDD4) RX : 2110 2155 MHz
EGSM TX: 880 915 MHz
EGSM RX: 925 960 MHz
GSM850 TX: 824 849 MHz
GSM850 RX: 869 894 MHz
DCS1800 TX : 1710 1785 MHz
DCS1800 RX : 1805 1880 MHz
PCS1900 TX: 1850 1910 MHz
PCS1900 RX: 1930 1990 MHz


On Page 21:

"The LG-P999 supports UMTS-2100, UMTS-1700, GSM-850, GSM-900, DCS-1800, and PCS-1900 based GSM/GPRS/EDGE/UMTS."

on Page 23:

GSM mode

"The GSM-850/GSM-1800, receiver inputs of PMB5703 are connected directly to the transceiver front-end Module. The GSM-900/GSM-1900 receiver inputs are using the Rx path with WCDMA1900 and WCDMA900 bands. The GSM-850, GSM-900, GSM-1800, and GSM-1900 receiver inputs use differential configurations to improve common-mode rejection and second-order non-linearity performance."



Now the thread can be closed.
Last edited by andonnguyen; 24th April 2011 at 10:47 AM.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes