Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,737,266 Members 40,298 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Activate Droid Pro Internationally?

Tip us?
 
jamilm9
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 17
Posts: 24
Join Date: May 2009
Question [Q] Activate Droid Pro Internationally?

I live in Canada and I want to buy a Droid Pro. Is there currently a way to buy a *UNLOCKED* *UNACTIVATED* Droid Pro (off eBay) and activate it outside of the US?
Thank You
 
rafeee2
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 130
Join Date: Oct 2007
Google this:

how to bypass android activation screen on Motorola Droid
 
jamilm9
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 17
Posts: 24
Join Date: May 2009
I have seen the posts about being able to touch the corners of the screen but that doesn't seem to promising and I would need that conformed before being able to buy it. Also if I were to travel to the US would it automatically start using verizon? Thank You
 
rafeee2
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 130
Join Date: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by jamilm9 View Post
I have seen the posts about being able to touch the corners of the screen but that doesn't seem to promising and I would need that conformed before being able to buy it. Also if I were to travel to the US would it automatically start using verizon? Thank You
Well honestly I can't confirm any of that Because I got my Pro off eBay, pre-activated and ready to go. I unlocked in Kuwait on a Kuwaiti SIM card using the code provided by the seller.

Ehem.. I think I just answered your question Just make sure that the seller already activated the phone
 
jamilm9
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 17
Posts: 24
Join Date: May 2009
For a phone to be pre activated does it have to be used or is there another way for the seller to activate it? Thank You.
 
bsweetness
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 139
Posts: 650
Join Date: Mar 2009
Look through this thread:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=866922

A lot of people have had problems with unlocking the SIM card unless it was activated by Verizon first in the U.S. Your best bet will probably be to get one that has already been activated and unlocked. After that's been done, you should be able to bypass the activation screen following a factory reset and use whatever SIM card you want. It won't start roaming on Verizon if you have a foreign SIM card in there. Actually, it won't roam in the States at all on GSM, regardless of whether you have a foreign SIM or not. The U.S. GSM bands are locked out and can't be used.
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...