Welcome to the New XDA-Developers Portal!

You may recall that a few weeks ago, we opened up the XDA-2015 forum themesto intrepid users … more

An Android Enthusiast’s Apple iPhone 6 Challenge

The media has gone batty again over Apple “revolutionizing” smartphones. … more

Sony to Extend its AOSP Program to Other Devices

Sony will be offering its users the possibility to use AOSP ROMs as an alternative to the … more

Project Ara: Modified Android L and Hot Swapping

Project Ara is a very exciting topic–both for hardware and software enthusiasts. The … more
Post Reply

[Q] Activate Droid Pro Internationally?

24th April 2011, 11:00 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 17
 
24 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2009
I live in Canada and I want to buy a Droid Pro. Is there currently a way to buy a *UNLOCKED* *UNACTIVATED* Droid Pro (off eBay) and activate it outside of the US?
Thank You
25th April 2011, 08:24 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
130 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
Google this:

how to bypass android activation screen on Motorola Droid
25th April 2011, 08:41 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 17
 
24 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2009
I have seen the posts about being able to touch the corners of the screen but that doesn't seem to promising and I would need that conformed before being able to buy it. Also if I were to travel to the US would it automatically start using verizon? Thank You
27th April 2011, 08:33 AM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
130 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by jamilm9

I have seen the posts about being able to touch the corners of the screen but that doesn't seem to promising and I would need that conformed before being able to buy it. Also if I were to travel to the US would it automatically start using verizon? Thank You

Well honestly I can't confirm any of that Because I got my Pro off eBay, pre-activated and ready to go. I unlocked in Kuwait on a Kuwaiti SIM card using the code provided by the seller.

Ehem.. I think I just answered your question Just make sure that the seller already activated the phone
27th April 2011, 09:30 PM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 17
 
24 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2009
For a phone to be pre activated does it have to be used or is there another way for the seller to activate it? Thank You.
4th May 2011, 01:01 AM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 150
 
682 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2009
More
Look through this thread:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=866922

A lot of people have had problems with unlocking the SIM card unless it was activated by Verizon first in the U.S. Your best bet will probably be to get one that has already been activated and unlocked. After that's been done, you should be able to bypass the activation screen following a factory reset and use whatever SIM card you want. It won't start roaming on Verizon if you have a foreign SIM card in there. Actually, it won't roam in the States at all on GSM, regardless of whether you have a foreign SIM or not. The U.S. GSM bands are locked out and can't be used.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes