Android 5.0 Lollipop in 3D–EVO 3D, That Is!

It is that time of the year once again. Flowers bloom (or snow falls, depending on which … more

Gaming Console with Lollipop? Ouya Gets an Android TV Port

Android is a very flexible platform, and it can be used on a large variety of … more

Android App Review: Manage Your Connections Automagically – XDA TV

Material Design is all the buzz in the Android world right now. … more

Official TWRP Recovery Lands on Micromax Canvas Magnus

With the recent release of Android One, Micromax and MediaTek released fully buildable … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Transformer vs Xoom RAM

OP danny6514

25th April 2011, 09:12 PM   |  #1  
danny6514's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Waterloo
Thanks Meter: 47
 
291 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
More
I was looking through the specifications of the transformer and realized it had DDR2 memory instead of DDR3. Since the Xoom has a DDR3 memory, I'm just wondering if there really is a difference in terms of performance and stability. Thanks!

Update - Sorry I messed up. The Xoom actually has DDR2 but clocked at a slower speed.
Last edited by danny6514; 26th April 2011 at 06:07 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to danny6514 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
25th April 2011, 09:15 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 359
 
1,251 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
The transformer actually scores higher in memory benchmarks so I don't know about the accuracy of the DDR3 claim.
The Following User Says Thank You to seshmaru For This Useful Post: [ View ]
25th April 2011, 09:18 PM   |  #3  
danny6514's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Waterloo
Thanks Meter: 47
 
291 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by seshmaru

The transformer actually scores higher in memory benchmarks so I don't know about the accuracy of the DDR3 claim.

Okay I think you are right. God knows what website I read that said the Xoom had DDR3 memory. I just checked more and figured it's probably DDR2. Sorry for the confusion
25th April 2011, 10:42 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 419
 
2,354 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2008
Here's a comparison (and I've seen other similar ones) showing them both having DDR2 RAM and, interestingly, the TF with a 667MHz system bus compared to the Xoom with a 600MHz system bus. That could help explain why the TF shows faster benchmarks pretty much across the board.

http://mypcgadget.com/wp-content/upl...omparison2.png
25th April 2011, 11:06 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Flag Costa Mesa, CA
Thanks Meter: 157
 
1,916 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
More
According to Nvidia Tegra 2 only supports ddr2.

Sent from my PC36100 using Tapatalk
26th April 2011, 12:04 AM   |  #6  
Badwolve1's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator
Inside the XDA Server, I'm an AI
Thanks Meter: 72
 
877 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
Donate to Me
More
Yeah, i heard that the Tegra Chipset that Xformer and xoom is based on only takes ddr2
26th April 2011, 12:20 AM   |  #7  
L0$t$0ul's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
48 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Is the weight right on that comparison? They say 2.2 pounds. I thought it was lighter than the zoom.

Quote:
Originally Posted by wynand32

Here's a comparison (and I've seen other similar ones) showing them both having DDR2 RAM and, interestingly, the TF with a 667MHz system bus compared to the Xoom with a 600MHz system bus. That could help explain why the TF shows faster benchmarks pretty much across the board.

http://mypcgadget.com/wp-content/upl...omparison2.png

26th April 2011, 12:39 AM   |  #8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
2.2 lbs includes the Keyboard Dock....
The Following User Says Thank You to ds2dale For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th April 2011, 02:03 AM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Flag Costa Mesa, CA
Thanks Meter: 157
 
1,916 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Badwolve1

Yeah, i heard that the Tegra Chipset that Xformer and xoom is based on only takes ddr2

I was on my phone when I posted my last comment so I couldn't copy the link easily.

Here it is http://www.nvidia.com/object/tegra-2.html

Memory
Frequency DDR2-667 (Tegra 250)
LPDDR2-600 (Tegra 230 and Tegra 250)
Memory Size Up to 1GB
26th April 2011, 07:08 AM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 419
 
2,354 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by donatom3

I was on my phone when I posted my last comment so I couldn't copy the link easily.

Here it is http://www.nvidia.com/object/tegra-2.html

Memory
Frequency DDR2-667 (Tegra 250)
LPDDR2-600 (Tegra 230 and Tegra 250)
Memory Size Up to 1GB

Aha, so, that explains the discrepancy in performance between the Asus and the Xoom. It could also help explain why the Xoom seems to get better battery life than the Asus. Fascinating.

In this case, I'll take a faster system with somewhat less battery life, since the keyboard dock more than makes up for the difference.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes