Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Thread Closed

[Apk] Killswitch - put you device to sleep by shutting the case

OP ftgg99

25th April 2011, 11:00 PM   |  #1  
OP Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter: 2,046
 
1010
7,047 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
Killswitch for tablets and phones


Fahrbot Mobile presents Killswitch, a utility made specifically for devices with cases.


What does Killswitch do?

The app uses a combination of sensors to control the sleep state and screen lock of any device.

At the moment, it uses the proximity sensor, light sensor and accelerometer.

Killswitch has the added advantage of removing your lockscreen via two different methods if you so wish. If you have a case, it really isnt necessary and can be annoying.


Why use Killswitch?

Killswitch will save you battery - putting your device to sleep is as intuitive as shutting your case or turning your phone face down.

And, of course, Killswitch will show all your ipad and iphone loving mates why android is just that much more awesome

After upgrading to a newer version, please go into the settings dialog and enable Killswitch again. This is not optimal, but it saves battery and cpu time by removing the necessity for a constantly running service!

In order to uninstall the app, untick "Admin privileges" in Killswitch or via the Accessibility page of your device's settings.


sleeplessninja video review:

Thanks bud.




Android Market link:
The Lite version is now also on the Android Market

https://market.android.com/details?i...killswitchlite


Last edited by ftgg99; 6th June 2011 at 02:42 PM.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to ftgg99 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th April 2011, 09:55 AM   |  #2  
OP Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter: 2,046
 
1010
7,047 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
Reserved for later.
26th April 2011, 03:16 PM   |  #3  
OP Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter: 2,046
 
1010
7,047 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
Do let me know what you think of the free version - does it work or not?
26th April 2011, 06:28 PM   |  #4  
rorycs's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 159
 
552 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Market link listed in OP is for premium version.

Sent from my SGH-T959 using XDA Premium App
27th April 2011, 12:30 AM   |  #5  
OP Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter: 2,046
 
1010
7,047 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
Strange... redone!
27th April 2011, 03:05 AM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 36
 
696 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2007
when you say "All this will use no more power than any Android device does on default settings, as all of the pertinent sensors are already on all the time." , I'm kinda skeptical.

My proximity sensor is not on all the time, it's only turned on during a call.
27th April 2011, 11:03 AM   |  #7  
OP Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter: 2,046
 
1010
7,047 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
You shouldnt be - just use spare parts or whatever and you will find that Killswitch has used almost zero resources.

I made this app for myself originally and i have it on 3 devices. None of them are having battery problems.
28th April 2011, 12:09 PM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 36
 
696 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by ftgg99

You shouldnt be - just use spare parts or whatever and you will find that Killswitch has used almost zero resources.

I made this app for myself originally and i have it on 3 devices. None of them are having battery problems.

don't get me wrong, i'm not saying that Killswitch uses a lot of battery, i'm just saying your statement "All this will use no more power than any Android device does on default settings, as all of the pertinent sensors are already on all the time." is not really true because I know that at least 1 sensor, which is the proximity sensor, is not on all the time, even on default settings.
28th April 2011, 07:00 PM   |  #9  
OP Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter: 2,046
 
1010
7,047 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
The proximity sensor uses almost no power. But youre right - ive removed the offending line!
3rd May 2011, 10:05 AM   |  #10  
bringonblink's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 201
 
1,359 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Nooby question here- Would this work with phones? I have a nexus s with a flip case, would be pretty cool

Thread Closed Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes