FORUMS

HTC Delivering Ads Straight to Sense Home

HTC’s 2015 has been a year marked by a desperate search for revenue.The HTC One M9 … more

Galaxy S6 & Edge get €100 Price Cut—New Models Incoming

Samsung has dropped the price of both the Galaxy S6 and S6 Edge by … more

How To Port Fully Featured Sony Xperia Z4 Camera

Xperia Z4’s hardware may not impress, but its software is definitely … more

Experimental TWRP Available For Moto G 2015

XDA Senior Member squid2 has posted experimental builds of TWRP for the Moto G … more

[Apk] Killswitch - put you device to sleep by shutting the case

7,047 posts
Thanks Meter: 2,050
 
By ftgg99, Account currently disabled on 25th April 2011, 10:00 PM
Thread Closed Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Killswitch for tablets and phones


Fahrbot Mobile presents Killswitch, a utility made specifically for devices with cases.


What does Killswitch do?

The app uses a combination of sensors to control the sleep state and screen lock of any device.

At the moment, it uses the proximity sensor, light sensor and accelerometer.

Killswitch has the added advantage of removing your lockscreen via two different methods if you so wish. If you have a case, it really isnt necessary and can be annoying.


Why use Killswitch?

Killswitch will save you battery - putting your device to sleep is as intuitive as shutting your case or turning your phone face down.

And, of course, Killswitch will show all your ipad and iphone loving mates why android is just that much more awesome

After upgrading to a newer version, please go into the settings dialog and enable Killswitch again. This is not optimal, but it saves battery and cpu time by removing the necessity for a constantly running service!

In order to uninstall the app, untick "Admin privileges" in Killswitch or via the Accessibility page of your device's settings.


sleeplessninja video review:

Thanks bud.




Android Market link:
The Lite version is now also on the Android Market

https://market.android.com/details?i...killswitchlite


Last edited by ftgg99; 6th June 2011 at 01:42 PM.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to ftgg99 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
26th April 2011, 08:55 AM |#2  
OP Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter: 2,050
 
1010
More
Reserved for later.
26th April 2011, 02:16 PM |#3  
OP Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter: 2,050
 
1010
More
Do let me know what you think of the free version - does it work or not?
26th April 2011, 05:28 PM |#4  
rorycs's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 159
 
More
Market link listed in OP is for premium version.

Sent from my SGH-T959 using XDA Premium App
26th April 2011, 11:30 PM |#5  
OP Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter: 2,050
 
1010
More
Strange... redone!
27th April 2011, 02:05 AM |#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 37
 
More
when you say "All this will use no more power than any Android device does on default settings, as all of the pertinent sensors are already on all the time." , I'm kinda skeptical.

My proximity sensor is not on all the time, it's only turned on during a call.
27th April 2011, 10:03 AM |#7  
OP Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter: 2,050
 
1010
More
You shouldnt be - just use spare parts or whatever and you will find that Killswitch has used almost zero resources.

I made this app for myself originally and i have it on 3 devices. None of them are having battery problems.
28th April 2011, 11:09 AM |#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 37
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ftgg99

You shouldnt be - just use spare parts or whatever and you will find that Killswitch has used almost zero resources.

I made this app for myself originally and i have it on 3 devices. None of them are having battery problems.

don't get me wrong, i'm not saying that Killswitch uses a lot of battery, i'm just saying your statement "All this will use no more power than any Android device does on default settings, as all of the pertinent sensors are already on all the time." is not really true because I know that at least 1 sensor, which is the proximity sensor, is not on all the time, even on default settings.
28th April 2011, 06:00 PM |#9  
OP Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter: 2,050
 
1010
More
The proximity sensor uses almost no power. But youre right - ive removed the offending line!
3rd May 2011, 09:05 AM |#10  
bringonblink's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 244
 
More
Nooby question here- Would this work with phones? I have a nexus s with a flip case, would be pretty cool
3rd May 2011, 09:37 AM |#11  
cooljais's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Delhi
Thanks Meter: 22
 
Donate to Me
More
Was looking for something like this for a long time. Does it also wake device when we take it out of case?

Read More
Thread Closed Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes