Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,784,161 Members 41,908 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Eclipse DDMS keeps crashing ADB

Tip us?
 
PMTheQuick
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 12
Join Date: Jul 2010
Question Eclipse DDMS keeps crashing ADB

Hello

I'm trying to continue developing Android Apps for my new HTC Desire HD. But it doesn't work - I flashed capychimp's RCMixHD v5.9.7 (Android 2.3.3) on it - And ADB just doesn't work. I even tryed to replace under the device manager the phone driver. (Normally it is My HTC, now it is ADB Composite Interface) - But no success at all. I can call "adb devices" in a prompt, i can push & pull files, and i can shell into it without any problems. But when i'm starting Eclipse, this appears:

Code:
[2011-04-26 17:13:26 - DeviceMonitor]Adb connection Error:Eine vorhandene Verbindung wurde vom Remotehost geschlossen
[2011-04-26 17:13:27 - DeviceMonitor]Connection attempts: 1
[2011-04-26 17:13:29 - DeviceMonitor]Connection attempts: 2
[2011-04-26 17:13:31 - DeviceMonitor]Connection attempts: 3
[2011-04-26 17:13:33 - DeviceMonitor]Connection attempts: 4
[2011-04-26 17:13:35 - DeviceMonitor]Connection attempts: 5
[2011-04-26 17:13:37 - DeviceMonitor]Connection attempts: 6
[2011-04-26 17:13:39 - DeviceMonitor]Connection attempts: 7
[2011-04-26 17:13:41 - DeviceMonitor]Connection attempts: 8
[2011-04-26 17:13:43 - DeviceMonitor]Connection attempts: 9
[2011-04-26 17:13:45 - DeviceMonitor]Connection attempts: 10
[2011-04-26 17:13:47 - DeviceMonitor]Connection attempts: 11
[2011-04-26 17:13:53 - adb]
[2011-04-26 17:13:53 - adb]This application has requested the Runtime to terminate it in an unusual way.
[2011-04-26 17:13:53 - adb]Please contact the application's support team for more information.
[2011-04-26 17:13:56 - DeviceMonitor]Adb connection Error:Eine vorhandene Verbindung wurde vom Remotehost geschlossen
[2011-04-26 17:13:57 - DeviceMonitor]Connection attempts: 1
...
Little notice: "Eine vorhandene Verbindung wurde vom Remotehost geschlossen" means "An existing connection was forcibly closed by the remote host"

And so on. I tried reboots, i tried "adb kill-server", i tried to kill adb.exe - But nothing works. Now i searched around in this community and i found a few threads, one from LeeDroid. (Not my Kernel but still the same problem) He said, you should disable persistence in default.prop. But i've got almost no knowledge about these things. Can anybody help me here?

Greetings
PMTheQuick

Btw: Sorry for my not so good english
 
Andy
Old
(Last edited by Andy; 26th April 2011 at 06:45 PM.) Reason: Small mistake, root not /system/
#2  
Andy's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Thanks Meter 5,295
Posts: 4,104
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: UK

 
DONATE TO ME
Hi,

To disable persistence in default.prop is quite simple.

Easiest method, using Root Explorer or similar root file manager open and edit default.prop in the root of your handset - /

This file should contain something similar to this.

Code:
#
# ADDITIONAL_DEFAULT_PROPERTIES
#
ro.secure=0
ro.allow.mock.locations=1
ro.debuggable=1
persist.service.adb.enable=1
Simply change the 1 to 0

Less easy method

Use adb to pull the file, modify on your computer and adb push the modified default.prop back.

Whichever method you choose, just reboot once your done.
-
"Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the the universe." - Albert Einstein
"Tech support PMs will be ignored" - Andy
The Following User Says Thank You to Andy For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
PMTheQuick
Old
(Last edited by PMTheQuick; 26th April 2011 at 07:00 PM.)
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 12
Join Date: Jul 2010
Hi

Wow. It works now perfectly. That file wasn't even here, so i just created it and pushed it over ADB. And tada - Now eclipse works. capychimps's ROM should include this at default i think, or are there any disadvantages when you've enabled persistent ADB? And what does this option exactly?

Greetings
PMTheQuick

EDIT: Okay... It worked for about 5 minutes, now it doesn't work again... Any other ideas?
 
Andy
Old
#4  
Andy's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Thanks Meter 5,295
Posts: 4,104
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: UK

 
DONATE TO ME
To be honest, I'm not sure what persistent adb does. It's always been enabled on my handset and I've not noticed any adverse effects.

Glad you got it sorted.

EDIT: Try changing the setting from
Code:
persist.service.adb.enable=1
to
Code:
persist.service.adb.enable=0
-
"Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the the universe." - Albert Einstein
"Tech support PMs will be ignored" - Andy
 
PMTheQuick
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 12
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by andyharney View Post
To be honest, I'm not sure what persistent adb does. It's always been enabled on my handset and I've not noticed any adverse effects.

Glad you got it sorted.

EDIT: Try changing the setting from
Code:
persist.service.adb.enable=1
to
Code:
persist.service.adb.enable=0
Tried also, but didn't work. Bad thing I tried to do it on my Mac right now, and there it works perfectly with Eclipse... Seems to be something with the Windows version of eclipse, its occuring since Gingerbread. With 2.2 it worked without any problems... Maybe someone other got some hint, how i can fix that. But thanks for your help!

Greetings
PMTheQuick
 
Andy
Old
(Last edited by Andy; 26th April 2011 at 07:21 PM.)
#6  
Andy's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Thanks Meter 5,295
Posts: 4,104
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: UK

 
DONATE TO ME
Is your Android SDK on your windows machine upto date?

EDIT: If you still can't get it working send a PM to jkoljo. He's a wizard and will most likely know the answer.
-
"Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the the universe." - Albert Einstein
"Tech support PMs will be ignored" - Andy
 
PMTheQuick
Old
#7  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 12
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by andyharney View Post
Is your Android SDK on your windows machine upto date?
Yes. Newest ADT, newest Eclipse, newest SDK. Target 2.3.3, like on my mobile phone. How i said, i can do "adb devices", "adb shell", "adb push", "adb pull" in a command prompt. But when i start Eclipse, the Device view of Eclipse shows for 1 second my device. After that second, adb crashes. (Even no processs in taskmanager...) Then there are 11 unsuccessfull connection attempts, and after that ADB gets started again. Then i see my device for around 1 second. After...

Greetings
PMTheQuick
 
Andy
Old
#8  
Andy's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Thanks Meter 5,295
Posts: 4,104
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: UK

 
DONATE TO ME
Are you able to run logcat via terminal emulator while opening Eclipse, maybe that will highlight the issue.

Run this from terminal emulator

Code:
su
logcat > /sdcard/logcat.txt
Once adb has crashed, stop the terminal and check your log.
-
"Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the the universe." - Albert Einstein
"Tech support PMs will be ignored" - Andy
 
PMTheQuick
Old
#9  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 12
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by andyharney View Post
Are you able to run logcat via terminal emulator while opening Eclipse, maybe that will highlight the issue.

Run this from terminal emulator

Code:
su
logcat > /sdcard/logcat.txt
Once adb has crashed, stop the terminal and check your log.
Did it. Heres the logcat output: http://pastebin.com/ECJvHLDg ( Sorry it was too long that post )
I can't get any useful data out of that, but maybe someone else.

Greetings
PMTheQuick

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Prevent Apps from Locking Screen Orientation with HaveOwnOrientation

Most applications on Android play nicely with both landscape and … more

Create Your Own Launcher with HTMLauncher

There are hundreds of launcher replacement applications available for Android. Most of them are … more

First ROMs Appear for the Nvidia Shield Tablet

TheNvidia Shield Tablethas only been available for a little over a month. In that short time, … more

How to Root the LG G Watch – XDA Developer TV

In this episode, XDA Developer TV Producer RootJunky Tom shows you how to root and unlock … more