Sony Updates AOSP Sources to Android 5.0.1

Just a few days ago, Sony did an utterly fantastic job by pushing out numerous device trees for … more

Stop Your Screen From Turning Off with KeepItOn

We all know the feeling of reading a news article orrather longdocument, when our screen … more

The XDA LG QPair Developer Challenge Voting Has Begun!

It seems like it was just yesterday that weannounced that we had paired up with LGto … more

Major Update for the Sony Smartwatch 2 Brings DND and More

With the wearables landscape now dominated by Android Wear and Pebble, its … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Eclipse DDMS keeps crashing ADB

OP PMTheQuick

26th April 2011, 07:18 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Hello

I'm trying to continue developing Android Apps for my new HTC Desire HD. But it doesn't work - I flashed capychimp's RCMixHD v5.9.7 (Android 2.3.3) on it - And ADB just doesn't work. I even tryed to replace under the device manager the phone driver. (Normally it is My HTC, now it is ADB Composite Interface) - But no success at all. I can call "adb devices" in a prompt, i can push & pull files, and i can shell into it without any problems. But when i'm starting Eclipse, this appears:

Code:
[2011-04-26 17:13:26 - DeviceMonitor]Adb connection Error:Eine vorhandene Verbindung wurde vom Remotehost geschlossen
[2011-04-26 17:13:27 - DeviceMonitor]Connection attempts: 1
[2011-04-26 17:13:29 - DeviceMonitor]Connection attempts: 2
[2011-04-26 17:13:31 - DeviceMonitor]Connection attempts: 3
[2011-04-26 17:13:33 - DeviceMonitor]Connection attempts: 4
[2011-04-26 17:13:35 - DeviceMonitor]Connection attempts: 5
[2011-04-26 17:13:37 - DeviceMonitor]Connection attempts: 6
[2011-04-26 17:13:39 - DeviceMonitor]Connection attempts: 7
[2011-04-26 17:13:41 - DeviceMonitor]Connection attempts: 8
[2011-04-26 17:13:43 - DeviceMonitor]Connection attempts: 9
[2011-04-26 17:13:45 - DeviceMonitor]Connection attempts: 10
[2011-04-26 17:13:47 - DeviceMonitor]Connection attempts: 11
[2011-04-26 17:13:53 - adb]
[2011-04-26 17:13:53 - adb]This application has requested the Runtime to terminate it in an unusual way.
[2011-04-26 17:13:53 - adb]Please contact the application's support team for more information.
[2011-04-26 17:13:56 - DeviceMonitor]Adb connection Error:Eine vorhandene Verbindung wurde vom Remotehost geschlossen
[2011-04-26 17:13:57 - DeviceMonitor]Connection attempts: 1
...
Little notice: "Eine vorhandene Verbindung wurde vom Remotehost geschlossen" means "An existing connection was forcibly closed by the remote host"

And so on. I tried reboots, i tried "adb kill-server", i tried to kill adb.exe - But nothing works. Now i searched around in this community and i found a few threads, one from LeeDroid. (Not my Kernel but still the same problem) He said, you should disable persistence in default.prop. But i've got almost no knowledge about these things. Can anybody help me here?

Greetings
PMTheQuick

Btw: Sorry for my not so good english
26th April 2011, 07:43 PM   |  #2  
Andy's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Flag UK
Thanks Meter: 5,375
 
4,150 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2008
Donate to Me
More
Hi,

To disable persistence in default.prop is quite simple.

Easiest method, using Root Explorer or similar root file manager open and edit default.prop in the root of your handset - /

This file should contain something similar to this.

Code:
#
# ADDITIONAL_DEFAULT_PROPERTIES
#
ro.secure=0
ro.allow.mock.locations=1
ro.debuggable=1
persist.service.adb.enable=1
Simply change the 1 to 0

Less easy method

Use adb to pull the file, modify on your computer and adb push the modified default.prop back.

Whichever method you choose, just reboot once your done.
Last edited by Andy; 26th April 2011 at 07:45 PM. Reason: Small mistake, root not /system/
The Following User Says Thank You to Andy For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th April 2011, 07:54 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Hi

Wow. It works now perfectly. That file wasn't even here, so i just created it and pushed it over ADB. And tada - Now eclipse works. capychimps's ROM should include this at default i think, or are there any disadvantages when you've enabled persistent ADB? And what does this option exactly?

Greetings
PMTheQuick

EDIT: Okay... It worked for about 5 minutes, now it doesn't work again... Any other ideas?
Last edited by PMTheQuick; 26th April 2011 at 08:00 PM.
26th April 2011, 08:04 PM   |  #4  
Andy's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Flag UK
Thanks Meter: 5,375
 
4,150 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2008
Donate to Me
More
To be honest, I'm not sure what persistent adb does. It's always been enabled on my handset and I've not noticed any adverse effects.

Glad you got it sorted.

EDIT: Try changing the setting from
Code:
persist.service.adb.enable=1
to
Code:
persist.service.adb.enable=0
26th April 2011, 08:09 PM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by andyharney

To be honest, I'm not sure what persistent adb does. It's always been enabled on my handset and I've not noticed any adverse effects.

Glad you got it sorted.

EDIT: Try changing the setting from

Code:
persist.service.adb.enable=1
to
Code:
persist.service.adb.enable=0

Tried also, but didn't work. Bad thing I tried to do it on my Mac right now, and there it works perfectly with Eclipse... Seems to be something with the Windows version of eclipse, its occuring since Gingerbread. With 2.2 it worked without any problems... Maybe someone other got some hint, how i can fix that. But thanks for your help!

Greetings
PMTheQuick
26th April 2011, 08:18 PM   |  #6  
Andy's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Flag UK
Thanks Meter: 5,375
 
4,150 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2008
Donate to Me
More
Is your Android SDK on your windows machine upto date?

EDIT: If you still can't get it working send a PM to jkoljo. He's a wizard and will most likely know the answer.
Last edited by Andy; 26th April 2011 at 08:21 PM.
26th April 2011, 08:22 PM   |  #7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by andyharney

Is your Android SDK on your windows machine upto date?

Yes. Newest ADT, newest Eclipse, newest SDK. Target 2.3.3, like on my mobile phone. How i said, i can do "adb devices", "adb shell", "adb push", "adb pull" in a command prompt. But when i start Eclipse, the Device view of Eclipse shows for 1 second my device. After that second, adb crashes. (Even no processs in taskmanager...) Then there are 11 unsuccessfull connection attempts, and after that ADB gets started again. Then i see my device for around 1 second. After...

Greetings
PMTheQuick
26th April 2011, 08:33 PM   |  #8  
Andy's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Flag UK
Thanks Meter: 5,375
 
4,150 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2008
Donate to Me
More
Are you able to run logcat via terminal emulator while opening Eclipse, maybe that will highlight the issue.

Run this from terminal emulator

Code:
su
logcat > /sdcard/logcat.txt
Once adb has crashed, stop the terminal and check your log.
26th April 2011, 08:59 PM   |  #9  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by andyharney

Are you able to run logcat via terminal emulator while opening Eclipse, maybe that will highlight the issue.

Run this from terminal emulator

Code:
su
logcat > /sdcard/logcat.txt
Once adb has crashed, stop the terminal and check your log.

Did it. Heres the logcat output: http://pastebin.com/ECJvHLDg ( Sorry it was too long that post )
I can't get any useful data out of that, but maybe someone else.

Greetings
PMTheQuick

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes