Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,812,880 Members 50,624 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[MOD] US WIFI XOOM - Desktop UA String

Tip us?
 
insty
Old
#1  
insty's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 63
Posts: 155
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Melbourne
Default [MOD] US WIFI XOOM - Desktop UA String

Hi all,

After having the frustrations of having to go into about:debug to change the UA string to Desktop each time I've decided to patch up the US WIFI XOOM to make this a permanent change.

This is a CWM flashable package, I have also included the stock framework to revert back.

Thanks to sangreal06 (Original 3G release) and BWCorvus/Bigrushdog (WIP).
Attached Files
File Type: zip uastringpatch-uswifixoom.zip - [Click for QR Code] (2.72 MB, 2258 views)
File Type: zip framework-stock.zip - [Click for QR Code] (2.75 MB, 1004 views)
The Following 13 Users Say Thank You to insty For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
bigrushdog
Old
#2  
bigrushdog's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 6,078
Posts: 3,162
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Fontana, CA

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by insty View Post
Hi all,

After having the frustrations of having to go into about:debug to change the UA string to Desktop each time I've decided to patch up the US WIFI XOOM to make this a permanent change.

This is a CWM flashable package, I have also included the stock framework to revert back.

Thanks to sangreal06 (Original 3G release) and BWCorvus/Bigrushdog (WIP).
Wow that was fast! How'd you beat those bootloops?
 
crxtasi
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 25
Posts: 298
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: SoCal
just flashed it with CWM and worked as advertised but I was using BigDX Xoom Zoom Red Theme and for some reason the battery icon went back to the stock blue. Oh well as long as I don't have to type about:debug all time I can live with it Good job man thanks!

HTC Amaze(W)
<S-Off> <Football's Leaked T-Mo ICS> <4EXT Recovery>


myTouch 4g (W) semi retired
.: :: Zips Creamed Glacier :: :.


(retired)Nexus One/myTouch/ G1/ HTC Dash/ 2 MDAs/ ATT Tilt
 
LiL JRG
Old
#4  
LiL JRG's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 17
Posts: 126
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Sydney
Ohh nice! Can't wait to get home and test this out

Sent from my Desire HD using XDA Premium App
DEVICE: HTC Desire HD
ROM: Can't settle (I'm a flashaholic)
RADIO: 26.14.04.28_M

DEVICE: Motorola Xoom MZ604
ROM: Tiamat Xoom ROM 2.1 Hammerhead

 
qubz
Old
#5  
qubz's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 70
Posts: 581
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: A parallel dimension

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by insty View Post
Hi all,

After having the frustrations of having to go into about:debug to change the UA string to Desktop each time I've decided to patch up the US WIFI XOOM to make this a permanent change.

This is a CWM flashable package, I have also included the stock framework to revert back.

Thanks to sangreal06 (Original 3G release) and BWCorvus/Bigrushdog (WIP).

Hey there insty. I'm curious about what xoom system you are running. If you are running the US software, why didn't you change to the Canadian system that has Australian locale?
 
bwcorvus
Old
#6  
Retired Forum Moderator
Thanks Meter 352
Posts: 1,523
Join Date: Jun 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
I approve this tread

Sent from my Xoom
Done
 
DroidHam
Old
#7  
DroidHam's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 150
Posts: 2,190
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Akron, OH
Quote:
Originally Posted by crxtasi View Post
just flashed it with CWM and worked as advertised but I was using BigDX Xoom Zoom Red Theme and for some reason the battery icon went back to the stock blue. Oh well as long as I don't have to type about:debug all time I can live with it Good job man thanks!
there is a new theme pack uploaded that has this built in...
 
starcms
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 25
Posts: 143
Join Date: May 2010
OMG Finally! Thx much!!
 
dan.expo
Old
#9  
dan.expo's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 76
Join Date: Sep 2009
Any chance this would work on CAN WIFI XOOM? anyone test?
Dan eXpo
 
bwcorvus
Old
#10  
Retired Forum Moderator
Thanks Meter 352
Posts: 1,523
Join Date: Jun 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by dan.expo View Post
Any chance this would work on CAN WIFI XOOM? anyone test?
NO do not, it will FC you. It needs to be done to the can framework file.
Done

The Following User Says Thank You to bwcorvus For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes