Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,741,924 Members 45,127 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[MOD] Enable HUSPA on ATT

Tip us?
 
dew.man
Old
(Last edited by dew.man; 28th April 2011 at 01:57 PM.) Reason: screen shots added
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 101
Posts: 472
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: White Lake
Default [MOD] Enable HUSPA on ATT

UPDATE:
Most users that have flashed this radio are reporting increased download speeds as well as HUSPA upload speeds and better latency/ping times. HOWEVER, several users have reported an increase in the amount of heat dissipated which, combined with run-away apps that are constantly churning data, could cause your phone to get hot.

There have been a lot of questions about inconsistent speed tests. I've even seen some posts claim that they're download speed has gone down. Please use some common sense here and understand that there are many factors that come in to play including SpeedTest, local towers, network congestion, etc.

Also, please be advised that you must use RSD Lite under Windows to flash this radio.

ORIGINAL POST:
All credit goes to NFHimself from whom I got the idea and who helped me work through the kinks.

Attached is a zip file containing 2 separate sbf files. You will want the SBF for the 1.87 baseband radio which is the same one that shipped with the Telstra 1.4.2 update. It should not require a reset as it's the radio only, and I have successfully flashed it to my ATT phone using RSD Lite giving me upload speeds slightly higher than my dl speeds (currently showing just under 2Mb).

I am also providing a radio only sdf of the stock ATT radio that recently shipped so that you can go back if need be.

Keep in mind that while it did work for me, this has not been thoroughly tested and I will not be responsible if decide to use this and you brick your phone.

Enjoy!

http://www.megaupload.com/?d=V0LDOGFJ
MD5 6AF7EF81324F3C117996607C138A49AB
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1303906428614.jpg
Views:	4211
Size:	31.4 KB
ID:	579626   Click image for larger version

Name:	1303906522866.jpg
Views:	4687
Size:	33.8 KB
ID:	579627  
The Following 43 Users Say Thank You to dew.man For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
songoghon
Old
#2  
songoghon's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 25
Join Date: Aug 2009
downloading, trying it now.
The Following User Says Thank You to songoghon For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
ronj1986
Old
#3  
ronj1986's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 116
Posts: 1,090
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Queens, NY

 
DONATE TO ME
I'm downloading now, wish me luck!!!!
 
madquack
Old
#4  
madquack's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 420
Posts: 687
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Jacksonville, FL
If this works, I will have my gf blow you. Hahahah.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to madquack For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
k2bikerider
Old
#5  
Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 82
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Roswell, GA
This would be the day I'm at the office and can't download the file ;( will try when I get home Thanks in advance!
Nokia Lumia 920
Motorola Atrix HD(wife's phone)
Motorola Atrix 4G(retired)
Samsung Captivate Froyo Rooted- Wife's phone(retired)
IPphone 3G 8GB (DEAD)
Cingular 8525(HTC Hermes)(DEAD)
 
xyrovice
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 53
Posts: 359
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Manhattan
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdubyah View Post
If this works, I will have my gf blow you. Hahahah.
I've been trying to imagine how that conversation would go for the past 15 minutes.

On topic:
This is awesome. Definitely gonna give it a go. Thanks for the hard work.
If you don't have a dropbox, I'd love 250mb.
(Thanks to all who've already used my referral!)
 
DarkRyoushii
Old
#7  
DarkRyoushii's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 105
Posts: 639
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Melbourne

 
DONATE TO ME
will we be able to get updates with this radio installed? or will we be required to flash the ATT radio before hand.
HTC One M8 | Google Nexus 5 16GB | Google Nexus 7 16GB
Google Nexus 4 16GB [Sold] | Samsung Galaxy S III 16GB [Sold] | Google Nexus 7 16GB [Sold] | Samsung Galaxy Nexus 16GB [Sold] | Samsung Galaxy S II 16GB [Sold]

If you don't have a Dropbox, take this 2.5GB of cloud storage - completely free!
Got a dropbox? How about join the dollar shave club delivered straight to your door each month for $1!

Thanks to all who've already used my referrals! Really appreciate it!
 
songoghon
Old
(Last edited by songoghon; 27th April 2011 at 01:52 PM.) Reason: awesome
#8  
songoghon's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 25
Join Date: Aug 2009
OMG!!! YOU ARE A FRIGGIN BOSS.

fyi: was on 1.5.7 with greyblur 2.1

upload speeds reaching 1.7-2.8 mb!!!!!!!!!!!



BTW: after 10 speedtest tests ive been average 700-900 kb. i live in the phoenix area.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	49159599.png
Views:	2211
Size:	22.3 KB
ID:	579648  
 
jkrohn
Old
#9  
Member
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 65
Join Date: May 2010
Start greyed out on RSD for anyone else?

RSD Lite v5.0 here.
 
eval-
Old
#10  
Retired Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 331
Posts: 227
Join Date: Sep 2008
With sbf_flash

=== att_radio_1_8_7.sbf ===
Index[2]: Unexpected chip 13
00: RDL03 0x00000000-0x002FFFFF 53DA AP
01: RDL01 0x00800000-0x008407FF 3A93 BP
Data[2]: Checksum error (Expected 0x46b4, Got 0x89ae)
02: CG05 0x00000000-0x013AD0FF 46B4 AP

!! failed

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes