5,606,650 Members 36,927 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[ROM] B160 - New OC Kernel, Root, Wifi-tether

Tip us?
 
stockwell
Old
(Last edited by stockwell; 15th May 2011 at 09:15 AM.)
#1  
Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 597
Posts: 375
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Brisbane

 
DONATE TO ME
Default [ROM] B160 - New OC Kernel, Root, Wifi-tether

I take no responsibility for any harm that comes to your phone as a result of applying this mod.

Rom based on Official B160.

Features
  • Kernel from genolokar (available here), see note 1 below for overclocking info.
  • Rooted and latest SuperUser
  • Native froyo wifi tethering
  • WyContacts 1.2 and XDA Dialer 30.1 (turn to silence, blacklist, many other features)
  • CM 6.1 Email app and wallpapers
  • Launcher Pro 0.8.5
  • Some build.prop tweaks
  • Same enhancements that are claimed for B160 (better call quality, better wireless, better camera)
  • Installation will not format /data or remove apps from /cust. For some roms (unicom in particular) this will cause problems due to some incompatibilities, and will require a factory reset to function correctly.

BIG THANKS to genokolar for creating the new kernel

Requirements
  • Clockworkmod recovery (available here)
  • Should be compatible with all rom and cust versions, though as stated some will require a factory reset. Please post your findings.

DownloadsInstallation
  1. Copy update.zip to your sdcard
  2. Boot to clockworkmod recovery
  3. (Optional) Perform a full backup [see note 2]. After backing up reboot recovery (in the advanced menu)
  4. Apply update from sdcard
  5. After update is compete wipe dalvik cache (in the advanced menu)
  6. Reboot to system. First boot will be slow as it rebuilds the dalvik cache so be patient, successive boots will be back to normal.
  7. (Optional) If everything is fine delete the backup from step 3 and if you like do another backup

Notes
  1. By default the kernel is set to the default cpu governor and clock speed. If you would like to overclock I suggest using setcpu (available here)
  2. Be aware that after applying this you won't be able to restore the full backup unless you either revert to the original rom, or change the boot image. The purpose of the backup is instead to have a backup of /data just in case something goes wrong.
The Following 25 Users Say Thank You to stockwell For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
sanpsa
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 25
Posts: 193
Join Date: Oct 2010
Not good with CUSTC205D001 Finland Elisa, swype force closes constantly
 
stockwell
Old
#3  
Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 597
Posts: 375
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Brisbane

 
DONATE TO ME
That's a shame, can you try deleting libswypecore.so from /system/lib ?
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to stockwell For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Poulsen8r
Old
#4  
Poulsen8r's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 35
Posts: 144
Join Date: Mar 2011
Great rom. My phone has no problems with 1.5ghz :P launcher pro is an awesome inclusion I l love the sideways home screen.

Sent from my IDEOS X5 using XDA App
All glory to the Hypnodroid!
 
andreasha
Old
(Last edited by andreasha; 2nd May 2011 at 01:54 PM.)
#5  
andreasha's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 40
Posts: 542
Join Date: Apr 2011
When first boot takes over 30min what do you recommend?

EDIT: Power Cycle did the trick. I did a batterystats wipe and fixed permissons before first boot maybe thats why it hanged. I upgraded from general to stockwells 136 and then this.
 
rikobiff
Old
#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 15
Join Date: Mar 2011
Thanks for this great ROM!
The only thing I noticed is that the camera has bad colors. Can somone confirm?

Thanks!

Sent from my IDEOS X5 using Tapatalk
 
andreasha
Old
#7  
andreasha's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 40
Posts: 542
Join Date: Apr 2011
Colors are fine here

Sent from my u8800
 
rikobiff
Old
#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 15
Join Date: Mar 2011
Hmm, will try a new installation ....

Sent from my IDEOS X5 using Tapatalk
 
levibuko
Old
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 309
Join Date: Jul 2010
what when it reboots always?
 
iJebus
Old
(Last edited by iJebus; 3rd May 2011 at 01:58 AM.)
#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 21
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Perth
Market appears to be broken now.

Edit - Looks like it had more to do with my crappy internet situation at the time than anything else. Market is working.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes