FORUMS

Analysis & Opinion

Top Forum Discussions

Root for Verizon's "Incredible 2"(not the IS)?

1,580 posts
Thanks Meter: 195
 
By voxigenboy, Senior Member on 3rd May 2011, 02:43 AM
Thread Closed Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
I know there's a lot of discussion on this topic about the Incredible S but was wondering on the status of root for the Incredible 2(US-Verizon)?
 
 
3rd May 2011, 02:52 AM |#2  
nimdae's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Texas
Thanks Meter: 76
 
More
It's my understanding these devices are pretty much the same, with minor changes to the software (ie: branding and bundling). As far as I've seen, my I2 has many of the same characteristics and behaviors (in terms of shell access, temp root, etc) as the IS as far as what I've seen in this forum (I need to dig around more, though). I suspect whatever exploit happens to work on the IS will work on the I2.

Of course, I could be very wrong.
Last edited by nimdae; 3rd May 2011 at 02:55 AM.
3rd May 2011, 03:11 AM |#3  
beatlesfan01's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
More
I've been under the same impression. When inc s gets root, so will we.

Sent from Incredible 2 and XDA Premium
3rd May 2011, 03:29 AM |#4  
Senior Member
Flag Chester
Thanks Meter: 30
 
More
DINC 2
I cant wait. I want CM7GB like I had n my Eris.
3rd May 2011, 03:35 AM |#5  
beatlesfan01's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
More
I'm liking sense 2.1. We were all trying to get it to work well on the inc 1 with varying levels of success. I'd like to be able to use titanium to restore over 100 apps and also like to get rid of this stupid amount of verizon bloat. Have you guys ever seen so much bloat!? I thought the inc 1 was bad...

Sent from Incredible 2 and XDA Premium
3rd May 2011, 03:42 AM |#6  
nimdae's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Texas
Thanks Meter: 76
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kerfex

I cant wait. I want CM7GB like I had n my Eris.

I came from an Eris as well. Was running CM7 on it, and I miss it dearly. Tried switching my I2 to LauncherPro so I could at least have the familiar environment (I have a registration code I paid for because I like it) and when I rebooted to clear running apps and be on just LP, apps started not working right (many would FC on start). Switched back to Sense and rebooted and all was working again. This annoys me greatly.
3rd May 2011, 04:22 AM |#7  
SoCalSpecialist's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag San Diego
Thanks Meter: 532
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nimdae

I came from an Eris as well. Was running CM7 on it, and I miss it dearly. Tried switching my I2 to LauncherPro so I could at least have the familiar environment (I have a registration code I paid for because I like it) and when I rebooted to clear running apps and be on just LP, apps started not working right (many would FC on start). Switched back to Sense and rebooted and all was working again. This annoys me greatly.

u sure u got the right version of LPP installed?

i switched out my sense to LPP ( i too have a registration code ) and all was working just fine for me

did u try to swap out ur LPP?
3rd May 2011, 06:23 AM |#8  
Senior Member
Flag Tampa, FL
Thanks Meter: 28
 
More
It's not looking too good for us, TeamAndIRC's JCASE spent about 20-30 minutes with my DInc2 and he tweeted his conclusion - "Yes incredible2 is as screwed as incredibleS, possibly worse. Psneuter works, gingerbread didn't (probably can with some work)"

he is out of town atm, gonna try again once he gets back, i really really really want 2.3.4/gtalk on our ffc
3rd May 2011, 06:49 AM |#9  
nimdae's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Texas
Thanks Meter: 76
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by SoCalSpecialist

u sure u got the right version of LPP installed?

i switched out my sense to LPP ( i too have a registration code ) and all was working just fine for me

did u try to swap out ur LPP?

I got it straight from the Android market. If I run it after letting Sense start, everything works fine. However, if I don't let Sense start, or start manually, things just break. More than likely there's some service not starting that is launched by Sense that is required for certain things to work properly that ties into the framework. This is the kind of behavior that prompted Google to stop source code early access for partners (they should not be modifying the framework). My goal is to reduce resource usage, not add another layer of resource usage due to a personal preference.

Really, I just want to return to CM. Wasn't perfect on the Eris, but allowed me to do whatever I wanted.
3rd May 2011, 12:12 PM |#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by voiceofid

It's not looking too good for us, TeamAndIRC's JCASE spent about 20-30 minutes with my DInc2 and he tweeted his conclusion - "Yes incredible2 is as screwed as incredibleS, possibly worse. Psneuter works, gingerbread didn't (probably can with some work)"

he is out of town atm, gonna try again once he gets back, i really really really want 2.3.4/gtalk on our ffc

Sigh.... Hoepfully they can figure out something.
3rd May 2011, 02:46 PM |#11  
Member
Flag Raleigh, NC
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
sort of, of this topic, why is there no DINC2 forum on xda, how's it supposed to build up support when there's noplace for that to happen?

Read More
Thread Closed Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes