Lollipop for OnePlus One Enters Testing Stage

Cyanogen just announced on their twitter that their CyanogenMod Lollipop build for the OnePlus … more

Xiaomi Business Model Unlike Usually Conceived

This article explains how Xiaomi sells phones not just to be a mobile OEM, but also to seed … more

Note 4 Launcher Theme Collection

If you like the features and integration of the TouchWiz Launcher on your Note 4, FrenchFamousTeam put … more

Verizon Allows Customers to Opt Out of Supercookies

Following the controversy that Verizon’s zombie “supercookies” … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Use R button to take photos?

OP blickmanic

3rd May 2011, 11:42 PM   |  #1  
blickmanic's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 24
 
274 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Donate to Me
More
hey guys, i was REALLY surprised when i found out it doesnt take photos via the R button, its is in the PERFECT place, in portrait fair enough (you might accidentally hit it with your palm), but in landscape, its a must have!!

does anyone know how to re-map the software button to a hardware button?

ps: LOVING the phone
3rd May 2011, 11:53 PM   |  #2  
Member
Flag Huddersfield UK
Thanks Meter: 14
 
98 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2009
More
That would be very nice indeed.
Could even use the l trigger for the focus reset or some other thing like the flash

Sent from my R800i using XDA App
3rd May 2011, 11:58 PM   |  #3  
blickmanic's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 24
 
274 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Donate to Me
More
we could use it for pre-focus, at the moment if you hold in the capture button it resets the focus :]
4th May 2011, 03:37 PM   |  #4  
Junior Member
Flag Planet Earth
Thanks Meter: 6
 
29 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
use X to take photos. not what you wanted but it works
4th May 2011, 10:34 PM   |  #5  
blickmanic's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 24
 
274 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Donate to Me
More
we could still use l/r for zoom in/out?
5th May 2011, 01:21 PM   |  #6  
b4d5h0t's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 26
 
162 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Totally agree with RB for taking photos, someone must beable to work abit of magic and create a keymapping app... id love to use LB as a back button when surfing too. when your holding the phone in your palm LB is in a nice place to be a back button.
6th May 2011, 09:43 AM   |  #7  
thatsupnow's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Vernon
Thanks Meter: 389
 
1,813 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
the R button works for taking pictures when your in the service menu punch this into dialpad *#*#7378423#*#* if it works in there there must be some kind of way to do it
6th May 2011, 05:18 PM   |  #8  
Aightu's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Tilburg
Thanks Meter: 1
 
176 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by thatsupnow

the R button works for taking pictures when your in the service menu punch this into dialpad *#*#7378423#*#* if it works in there there must be some kind of way to do it

Does this work?
6th May 2011, 10:50 PM   |  #9  
thatsupnow's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Vernon
Thanks Meter: 389
 
1,813 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aightu

Does this work?


ya man try it out it wont mess anything up on the phone or anything its just a test is all, and i say it again if the "R" button works for taking pics in there there MUST be some way to map that key to the camera(maybe with an unlocked bootloader in the not so distant future)
6th May 2011, 11:52 PM   |  #10  
blickmanic's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 24
 
274 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Donate to Me
More
i can confirm this works, i would love to have this on my play

infact, im gonna try and get a camera app from the market and try and make it as native as possible, ill post you guys with updates.

(market apps allow you to re-map buttons)

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes