Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,730,714 Members 41,431 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[MOD] CM7 update Baseband RIL

Tip us?
 
robertosandros
Old
(Last edited by robertosandros; 5th May 2011 at 02:43 PM.) Reason: Paul released a patch exactly the same awhile ago, that works :P
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 50
Join Date: Aug 2009
Default [MOD] CM7 update Baseband RIL

It came to my attention from Tayutama in the CM7 nightlies thread that alot of people's problems with CM7 is issues with the new baseband we have all upgraded to. I went ahead and tested the newer basebands RIL with CM7 and voila! alot of bugs have been fixed and everything is running *MUCH* better now.

Edit:
Paul posted a patch for this awhile ago that I didn't realise, heres the link:
RIL Update

Hope it helps you, cause it surely helped me.

Credits to Paul for the patch.
The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to robertosandros For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
aMpeX
Old
#2  
aMpeX's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 202
Posts: 442
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Kaiserslautern

 
DONATE TO ME
could you elaborate on the specific bugs resolved by this?

Thank you.

aMpeX
Did my post help you? Please hit Thanks! Use the search function!
 
mintvilla
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 58
Posts: 395
Join Date: Jun 2010
does this change the baseband then? or does it just fix issues with baseband 405?
The Following User Says Thank You to mintvilla For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
der_bert
Old
#4  
Member
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 56
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Munich
Thanks a lot.

Will i have to run this fix everytime i upgrade to a new nightly (or stable)?
 
robertosandros
Old
#5  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 50
Join Date: Aug 2009
This does not change the baseband, what it does it update the RIL in CM7 to be more compatible with the 405 baseband.

Quote:
Thanks a lot.

Will i have to run this fix everytime i upgrade to a new nightly (or stable)?
Unfortunately, yes. Until cm_arcee decides to update his baseband and the reflect the source changes in CM7, we have to keep using this.

I can't determine how many bugs its solved since I only applied the fix an hour ago, but operation seems much smoother and not as many *hiccups*.
 
mintvilla
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 58
Posts: 395
Join Date: Jun 2010
i downloaded it, booted to recovery, tried flashing and am gettin installation aborted??
 
prad66
Old
#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 9
Join Date: Mar 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by mintvilla View Post
i downloaded it, booted to recovery, tried flashing and am gettin installation aborted??
I am also getting same error
 
gaeng4665
Old
#8  
gaeng4665's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 345
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Zurich

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by mintvilla View Post
i downloaded it, booted to recovery, tried flashing and am gettin installation aborted??
+1

Sent from my Optimus 2X using XDA App
 
svrroot
Old
#9  
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 47
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Vienna
Quote:
Originally Posted by mintvilla View Post
i downloaded it, booted to recovery, tried flashing and am gettin installation aborted??
same error here
 
aMpeX
Old
#10  
aMpeX's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 202
Posts: 442
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Kaiserslautern

 
DONATE TO ME
you can probably use this as well, it does essentially the same (flash the lge_ril.so matching the 0405 baseband)
Did my post help you? Please hit Thanks! Use the search function!

The Following User Says Thank You to aMpeX For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes