5,595,760 Members 38,863 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Android on Zune HD?

Tip us?
 
ghost55
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 44
Join Date: Sep 2010
Default Android on Zune HD?

Is there any way someone could put android on the Zune HD? The Zune HD uses the Nvidia Tegra apx 2600 platform, which Nvidia has shown running android, and the existence of the openzdk has allowed people to execute native code on the device. the idea of being able to run android or some form of linux on my beloved zune hd is just awesome.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to ghost55 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
ghost55
Old
#2  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 44
Join Date: Sep 2010
so this is not worth the effort, I take it? oh well.
 
DemiNutive
Old
#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 15
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Southbridge, Ma
Default Android on Zune HD!?!?!?!

I love my Zune HD as well but not so much my HD7. I do believe that with the OpenZDK it MIGHT be possible but the only hope I seen was somebody on another forum site devote to Zune be able to access Windows CE 6.5 that runs under the Zune software on the device.
 
ghost55
Old
#4  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 44
Join Date: Sep 2010
I have been thinking, and if I can convince Nvidia to give the the compiler for the Tegra APX 2600, I could compile a simple Maemo 5.1 build (lighter resource footprint then android), and load it on to my zune by connecting the zune to a linux machine so I can access its file system as if it was a flash drive.
 
TheForgotten
Old
#5  
TheForgotten's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 113
Join Date: May 2010
I would also like to see this work, I have a hd, I would love to see some devs jump on this. ANYONE please
 
ghost55
Old
#6  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 44
Join Date: Sep 2010
its been a week, and I do not think Nvidia is going to give me the compiler
anyone else have an idea of how this could work?
 
TheForgotten
Old
#7  
TheForgotten's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 113
Join Date: May 2010
First we have to get past the bootloader on the zune.
 
I Am Marino
Old
#8  
I Am Marino's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 580
Posts: 4,070
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Winston-Salem, NC

 
DONATE TO ME
The Zune screen is pretty small to try and run Android IMO.
I mean I'm sure it may be done but it would seem like not a very enjoyable experience.
-iPhone 5S-
ROM-
Kernel-


Android 5.0 LSD, it's so good, it's like you're on a trip.
Make it happen Google.

Follow Me
http://twitter.com/DearDanno
 
Aneelll
Old
#9  
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 39
Join Date: Feb 2011
Thumbs up Bump..

Love the idea... wonder if the idea catches any one's eye.. *sigh*..

*Heights of expectation*..

If an android itself gets put on this as an APP and then if we click it, takes us to a more android looking screen that can atleast run angrybirds for the kicks.. .
 
TheForgotten
Old
#10  
TheForgotten's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 113
Join Date: May 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by I Am Marino View Post
The Zune screen is pretty small to try and run Android IMO.
I mean I'm sure it may be done but it would seem like not a very enjoyable experience.
Its not that small and its been done on smaller crappier screens. Thats not an issue

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Google Glass XE16 Update Factory Image and Rooted Bootloader Now Available

You may recall that early yesterday, we talked about the XE16 … more

Add Swipe Utilities to Your App with SimpleFingerGestures Library

Gestures have become an increasingly important element in smartphone UI … more

Android App Review: Lock it Down with Lockdown Pro – XDA Developer TV

Our smartphones are our lives. They store our contacts, emails, … more