Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,739,262 Members 50,015 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

HOW TO: Temp Root for DInc2

Tip us?
 
LowFire82
Old
(Last edited by LowFire82; 5th June 2011 at 06:55 PM.)
#1  
LowFire82's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 20
Posts: 122
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Fort Myers
Cool HOW TO: Temp Root for DInc2

This is for n00bs like myself that had to search around before getting into this and doing it correctly. A lot was copied from the Inc S thread, but felt the instructions were needed here so no need for searching there and crowding their forum with our questions: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1039015

Psneuter exploit is working on DInc2, but because /system is locked on s-on phones, we can't copy su and superuser.apk into /system, apps required root access can't work.

The following procedure uses psenuter exploit to gain adb shell root, and then copy su (without privilege control ) and busybox into /sbin (which is on rootfs and in the global PATH list) to gain root access for apps.


The procedure:
1. Install the HTC Sync software or PDANet software to install drivers for your phone to Windows
2. Ensure that the device is in USB Debug mode, go to Settings > Applications > Development and "tick" USB debugging and plug in your phone to your PC
3. Unzip the attached .zip into a directory (like c:\adb)
4. Open a command prompt by going to start > run and running CMD, and cd to the directory where you extracted the .zip (like cd \adb)
5. Type "adb devices" > enter, and ensure that your device has been detected
6. Run the "pushroot.bat" file
7. Type "adb shell /data/local/tmp/getroot" > enter
8. Type "adb shell" > enter
9. You are now in # prompt. Type "/data/local/tmp/pushroot"

After the last step, a new # line appears. That's it! You're temporarily rooted

You have to redo steps 7, 8, 9 once you reboot your phone.

The procedure will have all apps gaining root access.
!!USE ON YOUR OWN RISK!!

Known working programs: Root explorer, Titanium backup, gscript lite, trasproxy 2.04, ...
Some apps check existence of su in /system/xbin , and reject to proceed if the su binary is not exist (like transproxy 3.08). For this kind of apps, this procedure won't help.

I run Bloat Freezer to rid the VZW apps
Attached Files
File Type: zip DInc2Temproot.zip - [Click for QR Code] (1.18 MB, 1356 views)
The Following 10 Users Say Thank You to LowFire82 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
ACD168
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 135
Posts: 1,530
Join Date: Aug 2010
u can actually use the exact same process as the incS
 
LowFire82
Old
#3  
LowFire82's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 20
Posts: 122
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Fort Myers
I said that and linked to the Inc S thread for doing it

I just added in some steps for the issues I ran into, since it was my first time trying to do something like this and so others have a step by step to follow

And also so we have have something for this forum...thanks though
 
WorldOfJohnboy
Old
#4  
WorldOfJohnboy's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 47
Posts: 442
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Syracuse

 
DONATE TO ME
OK, question... if I do a temp root on the DInc2, then restore my wife's Titanium Backup to the new phone, can I also perminantly get rid of the VZW Bloatware, then reboot without Temp Rooting from that point on? (I know I will lose full Backups as well as SetCPU, etc. but will the Bloatware removal cause issues?)
 
LowFire82
Old
#5  
LowFire82's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 20
Posts: 122
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Fort Myers
I use Bloat Freeze and the VZW crap never comes back after a reboot when I have the "Alternate Freeze method" checked in the preferences, which is the Titanium Backup method
 
Pulvermacher
Old
#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: May 2011
Maybe I am doing something wrong. I get to step #9 with
$ /data/local/tmp/pushroot and get
mount: operation not permitted
and a few more permission denied lines.
??? thanks in advance
 
LowFire82
Old
#7  
LowFire82's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 20
Posts: 122
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Fort Myers
Looks like the getroot did not work/run right, when you do step 8, the shell should start with the '#', not the '$'
 
xgunther
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 86
Posts: 249
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Can somebody help me...after the last step, nothing happens. It just starts a new # line.

Posted from my Droid Incredible 2
Alex Gunther
Don't thank me; thank my meter!
Droid Incredible 2 & Samsung Fascinate
 
xgunther
Old
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 86
Posts: 249
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Disregard. I got it. How can I effectively get rid of the bloatware? I moved a lot of it from system/app to my sdcard, but when I rebooted and lost root, it all reappeared.

Posted from my Droid Incredible 2
Alex Gunther
Don't thank me; thank my meter!
Droid Incredible 2 & Samsung Fascinate
 
efaden
Old
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 194
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by xgunther View Post
Disregard. I got it. How can I effectively get rid of the bloatware? I moved a lot of it from system/app to my sdcard, but when I rebooted and lost root, it all reappeared.

Posted from my Droid Incredible 2
Use Titanium to freeze it. Don't delete it. Freezing works, but if you delete it it will just come back.

Sent from my ADR6350 using XDA App

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes