FORUMS

XDA Picks: Best Apps of the Week (July 25 – Aug 1)

Apps are at the front and center of any smartphone experience, and with over a … more

Voices Of XDA: Orbiting The Earth With Android

Editor’s note: This week’s feature has been written by forum … more

CloudPlayer: DIY HiFi Music Streaming Solution

In our Helpful Guide to Music Streaming Services, we mentioned several different services … more

Optimize Battery Life with This Useful App

Battery life is an important aspect of your smartphone, especially if you use it for more … more

HOW TO: Temp Root for DInc2

122 posts
Thanks Meter: 20
 
By LowFire82, Senior Member on 7th May 2011, 10:14 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
This is for n00bs like myself that had to search around before getting into this and doing it correctly. A lot was copied from the Inc S thread, but felt the instructions were needed here so no need for searching there and crowding their forum with our questions: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1039015

Psneuter exploit is working on DInc2, but because /system is locked on s-on phones, we can't copy su and superuser.apk into /system, apps required root access can't work.

The following procedure uses psenuter exploit to gain adb shell root, and then copy su (without privilege control ) and busybox into /sbin (which is on rootfs and in the global PATH list) to gain root access for apps.


The procedure:
1. Install the HTC Sync software or PDANet software to install drivers for your phone to Windows
2. Ensure that the device is in USB Debug mode, go to Settings > Applications > Development and "tick" USB debugging and plug in your phone to your PC
3. Unzip the attached .zip into a directory (like c:\adb)
4. Open a command prompt by going to start > run and running CMD, and cd to the directory where you extracted the .zip (like cd \adb)
5. Type "adb devices" > enter, and ensure that your device has been detected
6. Run the "pushroot.bat" file
7. Type "adb shell /data/local/tmp/getroot" > enter
8. Type "adb shell" > enter
9. You are now in # prompt. Type "/data/local/tmp/pushroot"

After the last step, a new # line appears. That's it! You're temporarily rooted

You have to redo steps 7, 8, 9 once you reboot your phone.

The procedure will have all apps gaining root access.
!!USE ON YOUR OWN RISK!!

Known working programs: Root explorer, Titanium backup, gscript lite, trasproxy 2.04, ...
Some apps check existence of su in /system/xbin , and reject to proceed if the su binary is not exist (like transproxy 3.08). For this kind of apps, this procedure won't help.

I run Bloat Freezer to rid the VZW apps
Attached Files
File Type: zip DInc2Temproot.zip - [Click for QR Code] (1.18 MB, 1378 views)
Last edited by LowFire82; 5th June 2011 at 06:55 PM.
The Following 10 Users Say Thank You to LowFire82 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
8th May 2011, 02:45 PM |#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 135
 
More
u can actually use the exact same process as the incS
8th May 2011, 05:19 PM |#3  
LowFire82's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Fort Myers
Thanks Meter: 20
 
More
I said that and linked to the Inc S thread for doing it

I just added in some steps for the issues I ran into, since it was my first time trying to do something like this and so others have a step by step to follow

And also so we have have something for this forum...thanks though
11th May 2011, 06:10 PM |#4  
WorldOfJohnboy's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Syracuse
Thanks Meter: 173
 
Donate to Me
More
OK, question... if I do a temp root on the DInc2, then restore my wife's Titanium Backup to the new phone, can I also perminantly get rid of the VZW Bloatware, then reboot without Temp Rooting from that point on? (I know I will lose full Backups as well as SetCPU, etc. but will the Bloatware removal cause issues?)
11th May 2011, 08:25 PM |#5  
LowFire82's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Fort Myers
Thanks Meter: 20
 
More
I use Bloat Freeze and the VZW crap never comes back after a reboot when I have the "Alternate Freeze method" checked in the preferences, which is the Titanium Backup method
11th May 2011, 08:45 PM |#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Maybe I am doing something wrong. I get to step #9 with
$ /data/local/tmp/pushroot and get
mount: operation not permitted
and a few more permission denied lines.
??? thanks in advance
11th May 2011, 08:59 PM |#7  
LowFire82's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Fort Myers
Thanks Meter: 20
 
More
Looks like the getroot did not work/run right, when you do step 8, the shell should start with the '#', not the '$'
12th May 2011, 03:21 AM |#8  
Senior Member
Flag Los Angeles, CA
Thanks Meter: 86
 
More
Can somebody help me...after the last step, nothing happens. It just starts a new # line.

Posted from my Droid Incredible 2
12th May 2011, 04:23 AM |#9  
Senior Member
Flag Los Angeles, CA
Thanks Meter: 86
 
More
Disregard. I got it. How can I effectively get rid of the bloatware? I moved a lot of it from system/app to my sdcard, but when I rebooted and lost root, it all reappeared.

Posted from my Droid Incredible 2
12th May 2011, 12:08 PM |#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by xgunther

Disregard. I got it. How can I effectively get rid of the bloatware? I moved a lot of it from system/app to my sdcard, but when I rebooted and lost root, it all reappeared.

Posted from my Droid Incredible 2

Use Titanium to freeze it. Don't delete it. Freezing works, but if you delete it it will just come back.

Sent from my ADR6350 using XDA App
14th May 2011, 08:47 PM |#11  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
More
I have done all the steps correctly up until step 5, well the problem is after typing in adb service, i get an extensively long list of different commands, and then the next step is to type in pushroot.bat, and when i do, heres what i get in return

* daemon not running. starting it now on port 5037 *
* daemon started successfully *
error: dervice not found

C:\adb>

I dont know the problem...i do have Ongoing HTC Charge. USB Debugging connected. And PdaNet Connect (USB)

What could be the problem?

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes