Backup+ Lets You Backup Your App Data on Android Lollipop

Even though Android 5.0 Lollipop hasn’t yet seen its official release, quite … more

TechTalk Compiles All the Android News You Need in One App

If you’re as obsessed with mobile devices as the vast majority of our forum … more

Android App Review: Google Inbox to Improve Your Life – XDA TV

Recently, Google+ exploded with the announcement of Google Inbox, as … more

Damp the LG G3 Thermal Throttling

As our mobile devices grow thinner and more powerfulwith each passing generation, it’s inevitable … more
Post Reply

How to root manually/without Windows

OP cyansmoker

8th May 2011, 11:51 PM   |  #1  
OP Recognized Developer
Flag Los Angeles
Thanks Meter: 617
 
494 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
Donate to Me
More
There is already an excellent write-up on how to use SuperOneClick to root your Optimus V.
Unfortunately, you may not have a Windows machine available to run the util, or your PC hates the LG drivers, or you may wish to control how you go about rooting your device.

Hence this short write-up which, obviously, relies on pieces I got from that other write-up.

I. Rooting your device

1. You still need ADB!
2. Download the LG Optimus V Tools package from http://nexus.zteo.com/projects/tools/
3. Unzip it
4. Command-line:
Code:
adb push psneuter /data/local/tmp/
adb push su /data/local/tmp/
adb shell
cd /data/local/tmp
chmod 777 psneuter
chmod 777 su
./psneuter
5. You should be kicked out of the shell
6. Command-line:
Code:
adb shell
mount -o remount,rw -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock5 /system
cat /data/local/tmp/su > /system/bin/su
mount -o remount,ro -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock5 /system
(Oh look you are root!)
That's it. You now have permanent root access.
After rebooting your phone, adb should be back to logging you in as a regular user but typing "su" will do the trick.

Note: I realize that the version of SuperUser.apk that comes with SuperOneClick might be re-usable here. I haven't had any success with it but you may.

II. Flashing a new ROM

1. After rooting your device, obviously...
2. Get an image for the ROM you wish to flash...
Currently, my favourite one is a fairly recent version of Zefie's CM7.
You can find it by googling "update-cm-7-04282011-NIGHTLY-thunderc-Xionia-signed.zip" -- I will refer to it, below, as <your_rom_zip_file>
3. Get a minimum Google Apps package for flashing as well.
Here, I would google "gapps-gb-20110325-signed.zip" -- I will refer to it, below, as <your_gapps_zip_file>
3. Command-line:
Code:
adb push flash_recovery /data/local/tmp/
adb push recovery.img /sdcard/
adb push Debug-FormatSYSTEM.zip /sdcard/
adb push <your_rom_zip_file> /sdcard/
adb push <your_gapps_zip_file> /sdcard/
adb shell
su
chmod 777 /data/local/tmp/flash_recovery
/data/local/tmp/flash_recovery /sdcard/recovery.img
reboot recovery
4. In recovery: Flash Debug-FormatSYSTEM.zip
5. In recovery: Wipe cache and dalvik-cache
6. In recovery: Flash <your_rom_zip_file> -- this will take a while
7. Do not reboot!
8. In recovery: Flash <your_gapps_zip_file>
9. Now, reboot.
10. Let your phone think about life for a few minutes
11. Select "Skip" when your phone asks you to create/enter your account info
12. Launch the market; now, enter your main account information
Last edited by cyansmoker; 8th May 2011 at 11:56 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to cyansmoker For This Useful Post: [ View ]
14th May 2011, 02:49 PM   |  #2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
27 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Hey first of all let me tell you that I appreciate this guide. Now my problem is that I am such a noob that I may be doing this wrong.I download the file to my optimus.Then in an explorer I extract it, correct? After that once I put in the first line of command on terminal emulator I get an error that says "adb: permission denied". Please help this guide is my last resort.Whatever I do I can not root through windows.It would be nice if you could explain in more detail every step. Thanks!
Last edited by SouthParkFan15; 14th May 2011 at 02:54 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to SouthParkFan15 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th May 2011, 05:54 AM   |  #3  
Junior Member
Flag fontana, ca
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
help
can u please add a little more detail thank u very much appreciated.
15th May 2011, 09:02 AM   |  #4  
OP Recognized Developer
Flag Los Angeles
Thanks Meter: 617
 
494 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
Donate to Me
More
SouthParkFan15:

adb is a tool that you run on your computer; it is available for Windows, Mac OS X and Linux. It is part of the Google SDK.

thizizjohnny:

Could you give me a little more detail regarding what detail you are interested in?
15th May 2011, 10:33 PM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Flag fontana, ca
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
How do I unzip?.. is extract the same thing? I'm running Linux mint 10. How do I get adb? Excuse my noobness.

Sent from my VM670 using XDA App
15th May 2011, 10:38 PM   |  #6  
Junior Member
Flag fontana, ca
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
Oh and one last thing.. does this work on android version 2.2.1?

Sent from my VM670 using XDA App
16th May 2011, 12:36 AM   |  #7  
OP Recognized Developer
Flag Los Angeles
Thanks Meter: 617
 
494 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
Donate to Me
More
Yes this works with 2.2.1.

On Linux Mint, you can use the package manager or the unzip command in a terminal window.

apk:
Download the SDK at http://developer.android.com/sdk/index.html
Install it, then run "android" and select "Install platform tools"
16th May 2011, 11:39 PM   |  #8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
27 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
I finally got adb on my system, but when I type in "adb devices" nothing comes up and when I do any command that involves the phone i get "error:device not found".Yes I have usb debugging on and yes I have all the right drivers installed and yes I have tried rebooting a million times, and no my computer has never recognized my phone the way it should.Let me also point out that though pdanet or droid explorer they can't find my device. Help please I'm desperate!
18th May 2011, 08:40 AM   |  #9  
OP Recognized Developer
Flag Los Angeles
Thanks Meter: 617
 
494 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
Donate to Me
More
Oh, my. Sorry to read that.

Problem is, in 2.2.x, the exploits that give you root access rely on ADB itself so you couldn't be more out of luck.

On second thought...this may seem a bit weird but there may be a way. I have to think about it. It would involve using a file manager that agrees to "see" /data/local/tmp, running psneuter from there and keeping our fingers crossed. I'll keep you updated.
18th May 2011, 12:05 PM   |  #10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
27 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Alright thanks cyansmoke! Keep me informed.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Optimus V Android Development by ThreadRank