FORUMS

CloudPlayer: DIY HiFi Music Streaming Solution

In our Helpful Guide to Music Streaming Services, we mentioned several different services … more

Optimize Battery Life with This Useful App

Battery life is an important aspect of your smartphone, especially if you use it for more … more

The OnePlus 2 & The Year of Smartphone Compromises

We are very close to entering the last third of 2015, and we have now seen many of … more

OnePlus 2 Teardown, Major Android Vulnerability – XDA TV

The OnePlus 2 has been officially released. That and much more news is … more

ADW Launcher EX now available on Xoom

125 posts
Thanks Meter: 21
 
By dch921, Senior Member on 9th May 2011, 01:34 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
19th May 2011, 07:33 AM |#31  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
I have Launcher Switcher installed. When I open it up, it says I have no default launcher and I'm not sure how to make stock launcher my default? Thanks for helping me out.
 
 
19th May 2011, 08:51 AM |#32  
shmigao's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Shanghai
Thanks Meter: 82
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by forlorn110

I have Launcher Switcher installed. When I open it up, it says I have no default launcher and I'm not sure how to make stock launcher my default? Thanks for helping me out.

yep, sorry, i just noticed that too... i thought it was working, but when i hit home button, i went back to ADW ex, although i wanted back to default home

so, no perfect solution for 2 home apps right now...
19th May 2011, 01:16 PM |#33  
ritalin's Avatar
Senior Member
Tampa
Thanks Meter: 90
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by shmigao

yep, sorry, i just noticed that too... i thought it was working, but when i hit home button, i went back to ADW ex, although i wanted back to default home

so, no perfect solution for 2 home apps right now...

Ok so here is the best method for dual or more home desktops.

Lets say you want the normal 3.1 launcher as your default desktop. Go ahead and set it as default. Now you will need Launcher Pro to accomplish this, so go ahead and side load it.
Now long press your desktop and then choose more.
Under more choose Activities.
Under activities choose ADW Launcher EX, then choose org.adwfreak.launcher.Launcher

This will create a shortcut that is a direct link to the launcher itself on your desktop. I know your thinking, why no just use a regular shortcut to ADW? Well the answer is that this method has no stutter at all.

You can accomplish the same thing in ADW if you prefer that as your default by choosing custom shortcut, and then activities.
6th June 2011, 05:57 PM |#34  
kev0153's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Appleton
Thanks Meter: 86
 
More
So I modified the logos in the upper left hand corner to transparent versions. Looks much better. I was going to post the apk but since this is a paid app I won't. I do have the logos if anybody wants to replace them.

6th June 2011, 08:04 PM |#35  
Member
Flag Philadelphia
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
That looks great. Can you give a quick write up of how to do it?
6th June 2011, 09:44 PM |#36  
kev0153's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Appleton
Thanks Meter: 86
 
More
In a nutshell. Find the apk on your xoom in data/apps and get it onto your computer with whatever method you like. You can use adb pull or I just uploaded it to my dropbox account using root explorer.

I used apk manager to unpack the file. Replace the two icons in drawable hdpi and drawable mdpi (probably only need hdpi but I did both) with the attached icons. Rename to ic_launcher_home.png before moving. I zipped up the file and resigned using apk manager and sideload to the xoom using dropbox. Uninstall the current ADW and reinstall the new package.

In hindsight I probably could have just opened the apk in winrar and just replaced the icons but I went the apk manager route.
Attached Images
  
7th June 2011, 11:50 AM |#37  
Member
Flag Philadelphia
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kev0153

In a nutshell. Find the apk on your xoom in data/apps and get it onto your computer with whatever method you like. You can use adb pull or I just uploaded it to my dropbox account using root explorer.

I used apk manager to unpack the file. Replace the two icons in drawable hdpi and drawable mdpi (probably only need hdpi but I did both) with the attached icons. Rename to ic_launcher_home.png before moving. I zipped up the file and resigned using apk manager and sideload to the xoom using dropbox. Uninstall the current ADW and reinstall the new package.

In hindsight I probably could have just opened the apk in winrar and just replaced the icons but I went the apk manager route.

Thanks. I'm going to try it this morning.

Sent from my Xoom that Tiamat made good...
7th June 2011, 04:02 PM |#38  
kev0153's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Appleton
Thanks Meter: 86
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Botero

Thanks. I'm going to try it this morning.

Sent from my Xoom that Tiamat made good...

I just saw that my attached transparent images are a little hard to see.

Here are dropbox links

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/6542496/ic_l..._home_hdpi.png

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/6542496/ic_l..._home_mdpi.png
7th June 2011, 05:04 PM |#39  
Member
Richmond
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kev0153

In a nutshell. Find the apk on your xoom in data/apps and get it onto your computer with whatever method you like. You can use adb pull or I just uploaded it to my dropbox account using root explorer.

I used apk manager to unpack the file. Replace the two icons in drawable hdpi and drawable mdpi (probably only need hdpi but I did both) with the attached icons. Rename to ic_launcher_home.png before moving. I zipped up the file and resigned using apk manager and sideload to the xoom using dropbox. Uninstall the current ADW and reinstall the new package.

In hindsight I probably could have just opened the apk in winrar and just replaced the icons but I went the apk manager route.

Thank-you very much. Just as a fyi you can do this same process on your xoom using NinjaMorph pro. It cost a couple of bucks to get the app but it makes it easier by eliminating the need to transfer to a computer.
9th June 2011, 01:41 PM |#40  
Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
This maybe a tad off topic but.... I have this issue with ADW EX where when I have the stock Email, Gmail or Calendar widgets it will switch to whichever home screen the widget is on when I rotate. Has anyone else had this happen.

Searching doesnt yield very many results and no resolution. Just curious and this is an ADW thread so I thought, why not ask.
24th June 2011, 06:01 AM |#41  
Senior Member
Flag Northern Minnesota, U.S.A.
Thanks Meter: 10
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by forlorn110

I have Launcher Switcher installed. When I open it up, it says I have no default launcher and I'm not sure how to make stock launcher my default? Thanks for helping me out.

An extra button push, but you can clear the default on ADW. Then whenever you hit home you get an option to switch between the stock launcher and ADW. Not ideal, but it works. I'm using it now as I'm comparing launchers and switching back and forth a lot.

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes